Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 32GB Memory Kit Review

Jump To:

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 Memory Overclocking:

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 Memory

No memory review would be complete without overclocking, so we had to see what the Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB 2400MHz DDR4 memory kit could pull off.  We started off by using memory dividers to overclock and was able to get up to 2666MHz with CL16 timings with no voltage increase. We tried 2800MHz and the 3000MHz dividers, but the platform failed to post with both of those options. We then looked at overclocking with the baseclock (BCLK) and was able to get up to 2750MHz with 1.35V with relative ease.

crucial-oc-cl12

We went back to the 2666MHz DDR4 memory divider and tried to tighten the timings. We were impressed that we were able to tighten the timings from 16-16-16-39 2T all the way down to 12-12-12-30 1T with 1.35V! This is the first kit that we’ve gotten stable at 2666Mhz with 12-12-12 timings and we were extremely happy to get the timings this tight.  We tried to get CL11 timings of 11-12-12, but our Intel X99 platform wasn’t having it and we couldn’t even get to the post screen on the ASUS X99 Deluxe motherboard. Here is a sneak peak at some performance numbers of the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 memory kit running 2666MHz with CL12 timings.

2666-oc

Running 2666MHz with CL12 timings is a great overclock as there are no 32GB DDR4 2666MHz memory kits with CL12, CL13 or CL14 timings that you can go out and purchase today!

Print
Jump To:
  • TrollHunters

    AIDA64 Cache&Memory Benchmark!

    ns(Higher = Better) ??

    SHOULDN`T IT BE

    ns(LOWER = Better)?

  • shadowhedgehogz

    How long did you test this ram for? I’ve seen a couple of reviews state 12-12-12-30-1t but it’s no good, HCI memtest found an error after running for quite a few hours. 13-13-13-30-1t successful so far after 12 hours, not completely sure yet.

    I don’t think you guys tested this ram properly.

    • sapo

      i have same kit running 12-12-12-30 1t @2700 at 1.35v , never blue screen yet

  • Gunder

    Dummies question: I have this RAM and a Asus X99-A motherboard, how to I overclock the RAM as described here? I do not find where to change the RAM timings in BIOS. Thanks in advance!

  • Wow that ant cool, why wouldn’t they not program an XMP #2 profile, seriously though someone looking at the spec would just get thrown off, if they were looking for such a feature that should exist.

    Still would purchase Patriot memory over any Corsair product followed by Crucial Micron. Nice review but wish you had AID64 thrown in there.

    PhoneyVirus
    https://twitter.com/PhoneyVirus
    https://phoneyvirus.wordpress.com/

    • Nathan Kirsch

      We do have AIDA64 results in the review.

    • max

      depends on rum maybe but all have problems with set XMP 3000+ on x99;
      (msi x99a sli plus and mem 2xf4-3000c14d-32gtz); xmp set bclk 125 and it’s evil of stability not sure why no good bios to prevent it; maybe will appear in future maybe not;

      be careful with xmp and bclk changes on x99;

      was able to get on my mobo with 100 bclk 3200 (was avialable in bios to set manual 2666 or 3200) with timings 14-14-14-34

      later will check with HCI memtest but before will find best combination of freq and lower timings with aida; then HCI memtest, it look like best mem test and cpu full load (if run few instans correctly) and perfect system real stress test 🙂