Intel Core i7-8700K and Core i5-8400 Processor Review – Coffee Lake

Jump To:

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1703 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on nine different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel Z370, Intel X99, Intel X299, AMD AM3+, AMD AM4, AMD X399) in this article, so we’ll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings.

Intel X299 Platform:

The Intel X299 platform that we used for testing consisted of the ASUS X299 Deluxe motherboard. The Corsair Vengeance 32GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H115iwater cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSD.

Intel Z370 Platform:

The Intel Z370 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7 motherboard with UEFI F4a that came out on 09/22/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Samsung 850 EVO SSD.

Intel Z270 Platform:

The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.

Intel LGA1151 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Core i7-7700K

Motherboard

Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here

Memory

16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K70 RGB Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Monitor

ASUS VE278Q 27″ Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here

Intel Z97 Platform:

The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings.

Intel Z77 Platform:

The Intel Z77 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Intel X99 Platform:

The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings.

AMD AM3+  Platform:

The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Laptops: 

Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms.

Let’s take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Print
Jump To:

  • Jake40563

    I really hope that reviews are unbiased, however I noticed that power consumption of 8700k in overclocked mode was completely ignored or I may say omitted, why????

  • goldstone77

    It takes ~1 hour for liquid in a 240mm liquid cooler to absorb heat and become saturated. How does 5 min. AIDA64 show real world temperatures that the average user would find if he would run blender or handbrake for 1+ hours? How do you factor in the all core turbo boost of 4.7GHz and 145W into this equation for helping people come up with a proper cooling solution? 95W TDP hahaha

    • Nathan Kirsch

      So, the liquid in the cooler warms up a bit more than this. It’s not worth the time doing it when there are thousands of case and cooler options out there. We test on an open test bench anyway, so all of our temperature results are going to be different than most of what the readers will see at home. We quickly look at temps and move on. This is a CPU review and not a CPU cooler review!

      • goldstone77

        I agree that a CPU review should be about the CPU. But the cooling solutions and motherboard settings involved do change the results of tests, and I believe this should be noted in the review for clarity and transparency. So, in respect to your viewers do you feel it important to convey to them that your tests will vary from real world situations that the average user would encounter at home? As a viewer I would like to see statements like this incorporated in future reviews. Also, I wouldn’t mind seeing some real world scenarios with testing in a case with typical fans and using an air cooler with the processors TDP rating, and with the full array of motherboard settings. Just my 2 cents.

  • goldstone77

    Why did you disable turbo boost for your temp test, and enable it for your performance tests? You do realize that you are getting an all core turbo or 4.7GHz consuming 145W, and saying that the 8700K falls in line with your expectations of a 95W TDP. Gamers Nexus “Multi-core “enhancement” options are either enabled, disabled, or “auto” in motherboard BIOS, where “auto” has somewhat nebulous behavior, depending on board maker. Enabling multi-core enhancement means that the CPU ignores the Intel spec, instead locking all-core Turbo to the single-core Turbo speeds, which means a few things: (1) Higher voltage is now necessary, and therefore higher power draw and heat; (2) instability can be introduced to the system, as we observed in Blender on the ASUS Maximus X Hero with multi-core enhancement on the 8700K; (3) performance is bolstered in-step with higher all-core Turbo.”

    • Nathan Kirsch

      Testing was done on the Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 motherboard and we left multi-core enhancement to the default setting of ‘auto’ and that is off. This is not a CPU feature and is an overclocking feature done by the board makers. We did try multi-core enhancement with the 8400 on the Gaming 7 and found that it flat out didn’t work. Gigabyte Taiwan confirmed this and is fixing it for the next UEFI release. Since multi-core enhancement is not an Intel feature and varies between board manufactures the decision was made not to cover it. Multi-core enhancement in our opinion should be put in motherboard reviews when dealing with overclocking.

      • goldstone77

        Thanks for sharing that information. Jayz2cents ended up making another review after finding out his motherboard has “Multi-core enhancements” enable on the auto setting. And was told by the manufacturer it was turned off on auto setting. He confirmed to them it was in fact turn “on”. They said they will be putting out a bios change to disable it on auto.

  • IntelAMDNvidia
  • Dorian Kunch

    Really want to thank you Nate for including the old i7-2700 in the review. I have been holding out for that magical 2x the speed thing to manifest, probably there are others too. And it’s all gotta work; games and video processing.

  • Six_Tymes

    waiting for an 8350K