EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SC w/ ACX

When it comes to video card buzz we have been hearing lots of praise about the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX cooling video card. This factory overclocked card is available for $259.93 shipped and is said to deliver performance numbers close NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 came out in March 2012 and initially cost $499, so to get close to that performance level is impressive at half the price. What makes this card really exciting is that if you want to overclock it even farther, it should be able to easily beat a GeForce GTX 680 video card! 

evga-gtx760sc-angle

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked is not your average NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 video card.  It features higher clock speeds and a greatly improved cooling solution. Not bad, considering it retails for only $10 more than the base model! EVGA recently released a new GPU cooler called Active Cooling Extreme or ACX for short. This dual-fan cooler performs great from our past experience with it on the EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked, so we have high hopes for this smaller version.

  EVGA GTX 660 Ti FTW EVGA GTX 760 EVGA GTX 760 SC
Model Numbers 02G-P4-3665-KR 02G-P4-2763-KR 02G-P4-2765-KR
Stream Processors 1344 1152 1152
Texture Units 112 96 96
ROPs 24 32 32
Core Clock 915MHz 980MHz 1072MHz
Boost Clock 980MHz 1033MHz 1137MHz
Memory Clock 6008MMHz GDDR5 6008MHz GDDR5 6008MHz GDDR5
Memory Bus Width 192-bit 256-bit 256-bit
Memory Bandwidth 144.2 GB/s 192.26 GB/s 192.26 GB/s
VRAM 2GB 2GB 2GB
Texture Filtering Rate
102.5 GT/s 94.1 GT/s 102.9 GT/s
TDP 150W 170W 170W
GPU GK104 GK104-225 GK104-225
Transistor Count 3.54B 3.54B 3.54B
Manufacturing Process TSMC 28nm TSMC 28nm TSMC 28nm
Current Suggested Price
$243.28 Shipped $249.99 Shipped $259.93 Shipped

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked edition comes set to 1072 MHz on the 1152 CUDA cores (Reference is 980MHz) with a Boost clock of 1137 MHz (Reference is 1033MHz). EVGA left the GDDR5 memory clock speeds alone, so it runs at 1502MHz or 6008MHz effective. With these higher core clock speeds the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC is now faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti based on the reference design as the texture filtering rate is now 102.9 GT/s. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 as you can see in the table above.

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 w/ ACX Cooling Key Features:

geforce-gtx760-front

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling that we'll be looking at today is sold under part number 02G-P4-2765-KR. Since this is a -KR model it means that it comes backed by a 3-year warranty.

EVGA Warranty Length By Suffixes:

The card looks great with a triple black color scheme, so you have a black PCB, fan shroud and fans. The aluminum heatsink and silver accents on the fan shroud give the card just enough color to pop.

evga-gtx760sc-back

EVGA wen't with a fully custom Printed Circuit Board (PCB) and is NOT using the NVIDIA reference design. The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SC measures 9.5-inches in length or right around 241mm.

hynix-gddr5-gtx760

EVGA is using SK hynix GDDR5 IC's that are marked H5GQ2H24AFR-R0C. According to the SK hynix website these specific IC's are rated to run at 6.0Gbps (0.3ns) at 1.5V. These are the same exact memory chips that we saw on the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 reference card, so no big shocker here.

evga-gtx760sc-power

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SC has both 8-pin and 6-pin PCIe power connectors that are needed to supply enough power to the 170W TDP card. There are also a pair of SLI connectors for NVIDIA SLI support.

evga-760-acx-cooling

The new ACX cooler from EVGA is said to redefine traditional enthusiast coolers. This cooler has a 40% increase in heatsink volume and is more efficient at dissipating heat, allowing for 15% lower GPU temperatures versus the stock cooler.

acx_vs_sleeve_550

It also uses dual ball bearings versus the sleeve bearings that most competitors use. Sleeve bearings are often found on cheaper low quality fans. Ball Bearings fans add a bit to the overall build cost, but have a 4X longer lifespan, and are more efficient, using less voltage to spin the fan.

evga-760-acx-cooling2

The ACX cooler on this card features three u-shaped 8mm copper heatpipes that feature a natural copper finish. They are fairly hidden, but you can make them out when looking at the bottom of the card.

evga-gtx760sc-dvi

Display outputs include two dual-link DVIs, one HDMI and one DisplayPort 1.2 connector. This video card easily supports 4K resolution monitors and supports up to four monitors concurrently. This is great for those wanting to run NVIDIA Surround or NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround technology. Notice that the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SC also features a high-flow exhaust bracket for better airflow and reduced noise.

Let's move along and take a look at the retail box and jump into performance testing.

Retail Box and Bundle

evga-gtx760-sc-box

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling video card comes in a fairly plain Jane retail box. 

gamebundle_550

Inside the retail box you'll discover the Quick Installation Guide, Driver DVD, EVGA Gaming Poster, EVGA Case Badge, EVGA stickers and a note about PCIE 3.0 compatibility.

evga-780-bundle2


You also get several adapters that might make life a bit easier for some.  Included are a DVI-to-VGA video adapter and a dual-6-pin to single 8-pin adapters and a dual 4-pin Molex to 6-pin Power Adapter. There should be a reason that you can't get this card running out of the box as long as you have a power supply that can handle it. 

EVGA recommends a 500W or greater power supply with at least a 30 Amp rating on the +12V rail for proper operation of the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked with ACX cooling graphics card.

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running.

Video Cards & Drivers used for testing:

Intel X79/LGA2011 Platform

test-system

Test System Settings

The Intel X79 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard with BIOS 0305 that came out on 12/25/2012. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1866MHz quad channel memory kit was set to 1866MHz with 1.5v and 9-10-9-27 1T memory timings. The OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD was run with firmware version 2.25.

The Intel X79 Test Platform

 

Component

 

Brand/Model

 

Live Pricing

 

Processor

 

Intel Core i7-3960X

 

Motherboard

ASUS P9X79 Deluxe

 

Memory

16GB Corsair 1866MHz

 

Video Card

 

Various

 

Solid-State Drive

 

OCZ Vertex 3 240GB

 

Cooling

 

Intel RTS2011LC

 

Power Supply

Corsair AX1200

 

Operating System

 

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SuperClocked with ACX Cooling GPU-Z Information:

 

760sc-gpuz

evga-idle-temp

Battlefield 3

Battlefield 3 Screenshot

Battlefield 3 (BF3) is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE and published by Electronic Arts. The game was released in North America on October 25, 2011 and in Europe on October 28, 2011. It does not support versions of Windows prior to Windows Vista as the game only supports DirectX 10 and 11. It is a direct sequel to 2005's Battlefield 2, and the eleventh installment in the Battlefield franchise. The game sold 5 million copies in its first week of release and the PC download is exclusive to EA's Origin platform, through which PC users also authenticate when connecting to the game.

Battlefield 3 Screenshot

Battlefield 3 debuts the new Frostbite 2 engine. This updated Frostbite engine can realistically portray the destruction of buildings and scenery to a greater extent than previous versions. Unlike previous iterations, the new version can also support dense urban areas. Battlefield 3 uses a new type of character animation technology called ANT. ANT technology is used in EA Sports games, such as FIFA, but for Battlefield 3 is adapted to create a more realistic soldier, with the ability to transition into cover and turn the head before the body.

bf3
 

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked video card was found to be 3% faster than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB reference card at 1920x1080 in Battlefield 3.  It was about 10% slower than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680, which isn't anything to shrug off as the MSRP of the card is roughly half!

Bioshock Infinite

BioShock Infinite is a first-person shooter video game developed by Irrational Games, and published by 2K Games. BioShock Infinite is the third installment in the BioShock series, and though it is not part of the storyline of previous BioShock games, it does feature similar gameplay concepts and themes. BioShock Infinite uses a Modified Unreal Engine 3 game engine and was released worldwide on March 26, 2013.

Bioshock Infinite

We tested BioShock Infinite with the Ultra game settings.

bioshock

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling was 2-3 FPS faster at 2560x1600 and 5760x1080 than the GeForce GTX 760 reference card.

Far Cry 3

Farcry3 Game Screenshot

Far Cry 3 is an open world first-person shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft for Microsoft Windows, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. It is the sequel to 2008's Far Cry 2. The game was released on December 4th, 2012 for North America. Far Cry 3 is set on a tropical island found somewhere at the intersection of the Indian and Pacific Oceans.[11] After a vacation goes awry, player character Jason Brody has to save his kidnapped friends and escape from the islands and their unhinged inhabitants.

FarCry 3 Quality Settings

FarCry 3 Video Quality

Far Cry 3 uses the Dunia Engine 2 game engine with Havok physics. The graphics are excellent and the game really pushes the limits of what one can expect from mainstream graphics cards. We set game title to 8x MSAA Anti-Aliasing and ultra quality settings. 

farcry3

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked with ACX Cooling was tested with NVIDIA GeForce 320.49 drivers and the MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB Gaming OC and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 were tested with GeForce 320.39 drivers. As you can see it looks like in the newer GeForce 320.49 drivers that performance in Far Cry 3 took a slight hit as the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 took a slight performance hit.  

Hitman: Absolution

Hitman: Absolution is an action-adventure stealth DirecX 11 video game developed by IO Interactive and published by Square Enix. It is the fifth entry in the Hitman game series, and runs on IO Interactive's proprietary Glacier 2 game engine. This game title uses the Glacier 2 game engine and was released on November 20th, 2012.

hitmanabsolution_550.

We benchmarked Hitman: Absolution with Ultra Settings.

 hitman

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling was on par with the other GeForce GTX 760 cards in Hitman: Absolution.  These game settings easily fill up the 2GB frame buffer at 5760x1080 and 2560x1600.

Metro Last Light

Metro: Last Light is a first-person shooter video game developed by Ukrainian studio 4A Games and published by Deep Silver. The game is set in a post-apocalyptic world and features action-oriented gameplay with a combination of survival horror elements. It uses the 4A Game engine and was released in May 2013.

Metro: Last Light

Metro Last Light was benchmarked with Ultra settings

metro

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling was 2-5FPS slower than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 reference card, so we again see about a 10% performance difference between the two cards.

Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider

On March 5th, 2013 Square Enix released Tomb Raider, billed as a reboot of the franchise. In Tomb Raider, the player is confronted with a much younger Lara Croft who is shipwrecked and finds herself stranded on a mysterious island rife with danger, both natural and human. In contrast to the earlier games Croft is portrayed as vulnerable, acting out of necessity, desperation and sheer survival rather than for a greater cause or personal gain.

Tomb Raider Settings

The game has been built on Crystal Dynamics's game engine called the "Crystal Engine" and the graphics look fantastic. AMD and Crystal Dyanmic's worked on a new technology called TressFX Hair, which AMD describes as “the world’s first in-game implementation of a real-time, per-strand hair physics system” for this game title. We set the image quality to ultimate for benchmarking, but we disabled TressFX Hair under the advanced tab to be fair to NVIDIA graphics cards that don't support the feature.

tombraider

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling was performing right with the AMD Radeon HD 7950 in the new Tomb Raider at all three resolutions that we benchmarked the card at.

3DMark 2013

3Dmark Fire Strike Benchmark Results - For high performance gaming PCs

Use Fire Strike to test the performance of dedicated gaming PCs, or use the Fire Strike Extreme preset for high-end systems with multiple GPUs. Fire Strike uses a multi-threaded DirectX 11 engine to test DirectX 11 hardware.

3DMark Fire Strike

 

Fire Strike Benchmark Results:

firestrike

 

Benchmark Results: 3DMark Fire Strike benchmark has the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling scoring 5844. This makes it 5.2% faster than the reference NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 card.

Fire Strike Extreme:

firestrike-extreme

Benchmark Results: 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme benchmark found the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling scoring 2888. This makes it 5.6% faster than the reference NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 card.

Catzilla

Catzilla is a relatively new benchmark that is made the Polish demoscene group Plasticis. something we are using for that reasonis being produced in collaboration with Polish post production company, Plastige. Plastige is the company that worked on Witcher 2 Enhanced Edition and some of the developers there were behind the PlayStation Network game Datura. The benchmark uses a parallel graphics engine that takes advantage of multi-core CPUs. This isn't a benchmark being made in some kids basement and it doesn't appear to be bought off by any companies yet, so it should be a good benchmark to use.

catzilla-benchmark

While this benchmark is in beta phases, we still have found that Catzilla is a good cross-API benchmark. You also can't go wrong with a benchmark that has a giant animated cat nuke cities with its laser eyes as you do. You can watch a video of the benchmark in action below.

We purchased Catzilla Advanced and ran the full Catzilla benchmark at 2560x1440.  This 1440p benchmark is designed for high-end computers, which is perfect as that is where these video cards are going to end up!

catzilla

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling scored 4864 points in the 1440P benchmark, which is just 9.8% slower than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 and 3.8% faster than the reference NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 card.

Temperature & Noise Testing

Temperature & Noise Testing

Temperatures are important to enthusiasts and gamers, so we took a bit of time and did some temperature testing on the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 video card.

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked w/ ACX Idle Temperature:

 evga-idle-temp

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX cooling video card had an idle temperature of 25.0C in a room that was 22.0C (72F). Keep in mind that the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 uses the NVIDIA GK104 "Kepler" GPU that has over 3.547 billion transistors!

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked w/ ACX Gaming Temperature:

game-load

When playing Far Cry 3 and Battlefield 3 for about 30 minutes each, we hit 67C and did not get any hotter than this.  The EVGA ACX cooler does an impressive job keeping the GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked card running cool. Notice the fan speed went from 1230RPM at idle to 1740RPM when gaming. You really can't hear the card with it in your system at idle, but when you start gaming you can hear the fan a bit. Notice that the GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked card is hitting 1202 MHz on the core clock when gaming thanks to NVIDIA GPU Boost 2.0 and these nice low GPU temperatures!

temp-testing

This low idle temperature makes the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling one of the coolest running video cards that we have looked at recently.

Power Consumption

evga-gtx760sc-power

For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran three games at 1920x1080 and averaged the peak results seen on the power meter.

power-consumption

Power Consumption Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SC w/ ACX Cooling used just a tad more power at idle and load compared to the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB reference card. This was expected as it comes overclocked from the factory and has an additional fan and all that. During gaming sessions we averaged a peak Wattage of 345 Watts, which is well below the 550W PSU that is recommended for this card.

EVGA GTX 760 SC w/ AXC Cooling Overclocking

We installed the EVGA Precision X 4.2.0 software utility to see how the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling video card could be overclocked!

evga-precision

EVGA Precision X v4.2.0 includes a few new features that are new to some of the high-end NVIDIA graphics cards. Not only can you adjust the power target, GPU and Memory clock offsets within a certain range, but you can now also adjust the temperature and power targets.  By default the power and temp targets are linked together, but you can unlink them and adjust them independently.

760sc-gpuz

In case you forgot, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 reference card has a base clock of 980MHz, a boost clock of 1072MHz and the memory runs at 6008MHz.  The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling card comes already overclocked to 1072MHz core and 1137MHz boost, but the memory is left at 6008MHz. This card should have some room left to overclock as EVGA, so let's take a look and see if we can tap into that extra overclocking headroom to get a free performance gain. 

evga-precision-oc

To see how much higher we could get we increased the power target to 115% and the temperature target to 94C. This is the highest possible setting for each. We then slowly increased the GPU clock offset and memory clock offset to see how far we could go before the card would become unstable.  We ended up with a GPU clock offset to +130MHz and the mem clock offset to +775MHz before we started to get encounter issues like artifacts and tearing in games.

max-oc

We found this overclock to be rock solid and we saw the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC was hitting 1320MHz thanks to boost on the core and 1890MHz memory (7560MHz effective). This is a very solid overclock and we were very happy with the performance gains it gave us.

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB at 980MHz core and 6008MHz memory:

 

3dmark-stock

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked at 1072MHz core and 6008MHz memory:

3dmark-sc

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked at 1202MHz core and 7560MHz memory:

3dmark-oc

 

In 3DMark Fire Strike the base EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB video card with the reference clock speeds scores 5530. The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked costs $10 more and boosts performance by ~6% as the overall score jumps up to 5849. By overclocking the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling video card as far as we could we were able to get an overall score of 6613, which is a ~20% performance gain from the base model and 13% from the stock Superclocked card!

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 scores ~6500 points in 3DMark Fire Strike, so we have taken a $259 graphics card and overclocked it to the performance level of the previous generations $499 video card! These are huge performance increases and it goes to show that overclocking is worth it!

oc-temp

One of the downsides of overclocking is that it uses more power and things tend to get hotter and run louder. We did all of our overclocking on auto and found that the temperature during gaming sessions went from 67C to 69C.

oc-power

When it comes to power use we took a look at the peak power in 3DMark Fire Strike Game Test 1 (GT1) and found that it jumped up ~30 Watts on average when we looked at three runs on each setting. This is a ~9% jump in power consumption, which isn't bad, but something to keep in mind when overclocking. 

Overclocked Benchmarks

Bioshock Infinite:

bioshock-oc

Benchmark Results: When overclocked the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked with ACX Cooling was able to perform just a tad faster than the GeForce GTX 680 at both 2560x1600 and 1920x1080! 

Hitman Absolution:

hitman-oc

Benchmark Results: In Hitman Absolution the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX turned into a monster when overclocked and was able to perform better than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 and the AMD Radeon HD 7950 video cards. It was on par with the some of the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 video cards!

Tomb Raider:

tr-oc

Benchmark Results: In Tomb Raider the manually overclocked EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX cooling was faster than the AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB video card across the board, but was basically in a dead heat with the GeForce GTX 680. 

No two NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 video cards will overclock exactly the same, but this should give you an idea what you might be able to hit on yours!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

780-760

This is the second EVGA video card that we have tested with Active Cooling Xtreme technology and it certainly did not disappoint.  The first card we looked at was the EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked w/ ACX and it was an amazing card, but at $659.99 it is not that affordable.  The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX Cooling that we looked at today has all the good looks and some very solid performance numbers for a lucrative price tag of $259.93 shipped

When it comes to performance the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX proved to be one heck of a contender! If you game on a single monitor, this card should have plenty of power and be able to run all the game titles with the image quality settings you want. At 1920x1080 this card performed excellent and was nearly equal to the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680. Seeing a ~$250 card running with a card that used to be $500 when it first came out is impressive.

Overclocking of the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB video card showed that with a little time and effort, you can make this card faster than a GeForce GTX 680 in most all game titles. We were able to overclock the GPU by 130MHz and the memory by 775MHz, which is insane considering this card was already factory overclocked. When NVIDIA GPU boost kicked in with out overclocked settings we had the 1152 CUDA cores ripping through frames at 1320MHz with the 2GB of GDDR5 memory running at 7560MHz. This is the best overclock that we have ever done on a GeForce GTX 760 and keep in mind the reference card comes clocked at 980MHz core (1033MHz boost) and 6008MHz memory. Obviously, we had no complaints when it came to performance or overclocking.

 

evga-gtx760sc-angle

When it comes to visual appearance the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked also gets a big thumbs up. The triple black color scheme and ACX cooler give it a fairly aggressive look that is not too bold or overpowering. The EVGA ACX GPU cooler has just three copper heatpipes and that concerned us at first as the EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked w/ ACX cooling had five. After running this card we discovered that it idled at 25C and never hit 70C even with our extreme overclock. With temperatures like that you don't need to worry about GPU temperatures and even when overclocking we left the fans on auto!

The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX runs $259.93 shipped and is backed by a 3-year warranty. We have to say that it is worth every penny! It looks like enthusiast community knows that though and the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB w/ ACX ($249.99) and the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked w/ ACX are both frequently out of stock. If you wanted to spend right around $250 on a graphics card, this is the one we would get today.

Editors Choice Award

Legit Bottom Line: The EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Superclocked is a flawless graphics card that has solid performance, tons of overclocking potential and it might even induce a graphicgasim when you are upgrading from an older card!