16GBs 2133MHz Genesis Memory (KHX2133C11D3K4)

When it comes to system memory or Random Access Memory (RAM) you can never have too much RAM in your computer. As my parents taught me at a young age, “It is always good to have it and never need it, then to need it and not have it.” As our needs increase on the use of more sophisticated computer programs, and the use of using multiple programs to do our daily multitasking computing needs; the need to have a lot of RAM installed on our computers has become a necessity.

Hyper X

Kingston Technology is one of many RAM manufacturers has been providing our computers with either value based memory, or the performance based memory Hyper X. Legit Reviews happens to be looking at one of the many memory kits from Kingston Technology, the 12GB 2133MHz HyperX Genesis Quad-Channel kit. This kit runs at 1.65 Volts and features CL11 memory timings. Looking online for a price of this memory available from Kingston Technology, this particular set of memory goes for $99.99 USD with free S/H. This memory kit also comes backed by a limited Lifetime warranty and free tech support for life.

Hyper X 2133 Packaging

Kingston 16GB 2133MHz Genesis Memory Kit Specifications

Giving the specifications a quick look through, this memory set uses a timing set of 11-12-11-49 with a 1T command rate, also this memory is rated to operate at 1.65 volts. This memory kit also has 2 XMPs (eXtreme Memory Profile), one is 1866MHz with 10-11-10 timings, and a XMP of 2133MHz with 11-12-11 timings. I am going to add that the Hyper X 2133MHz Genesis memory is also JDEC standard (JDEC standard is a minimum requirements for memory to carry this type of approval, which happens to be: 1.5 Volts, 1333MHz, 9-9-9-27 timings).

Overview of the 16GB 2133MHz Genesis Memory Kit

Hyper X 2133 Packaging

The packaging that this memory kit came in I will have to say is top notch. Kingston Technology made sure that the memory kit was protected enough for the rigors of packaging, and from shipping; while also providing an easy to open packaging.

Hyper X 2133 Opened

Opening up the packaging Kingston Technology, uses a tray like system the holds the memory in an up-right position, and keeping them separated from another. What we get included with the memory kit is four times four GBs of 2133MHz memory with an instruction manual.

Hyper X 2133 Sticker

The memory is pretty easy to remove from the packaging just simply grab a stick and gently lift outside of the carrier. The one thing I noticed that is not on this set of memory is the physical timings imprinted onto the side sticker that we have seen on so many other memory kits; which, I thought was rather odd because now the only true way of finding out the timings is to install them and then fire up a CPU-Z based program and find out.

Hyper X 2133 Memory

The 2133MHz Genesis memory outside of the confines of the packaging, Kingston Technology uses a more traditional low profile style of heat-spreader on the memory itself. The low profile heat-spreader should ensure that we can use large CPU coolers alongside of this memory.

Hyper X 2133 Side View

Just a quick look at the side of the memory, this just reaffirms that Kingston Technology uses a more traditional style of heat-spreader on this memory kit.

Legit Review’s Testing System

Legit Reviews Testing System

For testing purposes I will be using the 2133MHz Genesis memory on my current main computer (specs will be listed below). I will be listing both the default speed of this memory and the overclocked memory speed, while using a set of Crucial 1866MHz 9-9-9-27 memory as a comparison in the results of testing. The CPU will remain close to or at its default core speed of 3.8GHz with Turbo Boost.

                                            Intel Test Rig

Processor Intel Core I7 3820 Live Pricing
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe Live Pricing
Sound Card
Creative Fatality X-FI
Live Pricing
Memory Crucial 1866MHz
Live Pricing
Storage Device(S)
Crucial M4SSD2128 SSD

2 X Seagate Momentus 320 HDDs

1 X Western Digital 1 TB HDD
Live Pricing

Live Pricing


Live Pricing
Video Card 2 X AMD Radeon HD6970 Live Pricing
Cooling Koolance CPU 360 CPU water block

2 x Koolance 697 Video card water blocks

Swiftech triple 120mm radiator

XSPC quad 120mm radiator


Chassis CoolerMaster
Live Pricing
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling
Live Pricing
Hyper X Default Speed

Screenshot of the Kingston Technology 2133MHz Genesis memory while using the default speed of 2133MHz with the timings of 11-12-11-40; CPU-Z lists this memory to operate at 2133MHz with 11-12-11-49 timings, unfortunately the motherboard that I am currently using, the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe, did not allow me to go over a 40 timing on the Cycle time (tRAS), where the specifications lists a 49 Cycle Time (tRAS). Even after updating the BIOS on the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard I still had a limitation of a 40 Cycle Time (tRAS).

A quick word about the CPU frequency, the Intel Core i7 3820 CPU has a rated speed of 3.6GHz but with turbo boost applied this CPU’s actual operating speed is 3.8GHz (To all four cores). So to try and keep things as fair as possible while also maintaining consistency with my testing I will be targeting the CPU core speed of 3.8GHz +/- about 25MHz for both default speed testing, and overclocked testing with the Kingston Technology 2133MHz Genesis memory.

Overclocking the HyperX Memory Kit

Overclocking the Kingston Technology 2133MHz Genesis memory, the first thing I attempted to do was reduce the timings of this memory from 11-12-11-40 to a 10-11-10-40 timings, while maintaining the same CPU frequency of 3.8 GHz (Turbo applied) and leaving the memory frequency at 2133MHz; while at the same time keeping the memory voltage at 1.65. This new memory setting quickly resulted in a non-posting of my computer. After getting the computer to load up default BIOS settings, I decided to only make individual timing adjustments: for instance, I would use 10-12-11-40, 11-11-11-40, 11-12-10-40, and each of these different but subtle timing adjustments would not allow the computer to post properly or resulted in a non-posting process of my computer. Since overclocking the memory just by reducing the timings was out of the question; this left me with only one option to overclock this memory, that being using the BCLK of the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard. I upped the default BCLK from 100 to 105 resulting roughly with a 2240MHz overclock on the memory, I was able to boot into Windows 7 but it was not stable enough for me to use my computer properly. I started dropping the BCLK till I had stability with my computer, which ended up resulting me with a 103.2 BCLK with a frequency of 2200MHz on the memory. To keep the CPU at its targeted default speed of 3.8GHz I had to raise the CPU multiplier from 36 to 37 so that I can maintain the CPU core speed of 3.8GHz throughout my testing , so that I can see the performance of the memory by itself without being influenced by the CPU.

Hyper X Default

For more information on how the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard overclocks while using the Intel Core i7 3820 CPU please feel free to visit this review HERE.

Hyper X Overclocked

Overclocked Settings used for testing, 103.2 BCLK, with a CPU core frequency of 3818 MHz, memory frequency of 2200MHz, using 11-12-11-40 timings.

SiSoft Sandra and AIDA 64 Results

SiSoft Sandra Sp5a

Hyper X Sandra

The Sisoft Sandra 2012 SP5a benchmark utility just came out and we have started to include it in our benchmarking.

Hyper X 2133 Sandra Results

Starting off with SiSoft Sandra Memory Bandwidth testing, we can see as the memory frequency increased the more memory bandwidth we received from the memory. One would think that the Crucial should give us higher bandwidth because of the tighter timings of 9-9-9-27 with an operating frequency of 1866MHz Vs. Kingston 2133MHz Hyper X that is using a timing set of 11-12-11-40. What this is telling us that the timings really does not increase our overall memory bandwidth, it is the frequency of the memory when it pertains to our newer computer systems.

AIDA 64

AIDA64 Extreme Edition 2.60 software, a streamlined diagnostic and benchmarking tool for home users; and the immediate availability of AIDA64 Business Edition 2.60 software, an essential network management solution for small and medium scale enterprises. This version just came out today (August 22, 2012) and we were able to quickly run the tests and include them in this review.

Hyper X 2133 AIDA 64 Results

Moving onto another favorite benchmark among us, AIDA 64; looking at the Copy testing portion of AIDA 64 we can see as the frequency of our memory increases the more memory bandwidth we receive. As we look at the Write portion of AIDA 64 testing, while the Hyper X memory running at a frequency of 2200MHz with 11-12-11-40 timings gave us better performance it is not much of a gain, when compared to the Crucial 1866MHz memory with 9-9-9-27 timings. With the Read portion of AIDA 64 testing paints us a much different picture altogether; this time the default clocked Hyper X 2133MHz memory performed the best, and when I overclocked this memory to 2200MHz my performance starts to decline.

3DMark11 and x264 Results

3DMark11

Hyper X 3DMark11

3DMark 11 is the latest version of the world’s most popular benchmark for measuring the 3D graphics performance of gaming PCs. 3DMark 11 uses a native DirectX 11 engine designed to make extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11, including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading.

Hyper X 3DMark11

We ran Futuremark 3DMark11 with the default performance presets on the AMD Radeon HD6970 video cards in crossfire to see how our hardware will run.

Hyper X 2133 3DMark11 Results

3DMark11 testing, more specifically the CPU Physics testing, we can see that by increasing the frequency of the memory we gain a little more performance out of our computers. When we compare the Crucial 1866MHz memory with the Hyper X 2133MHz memory our gain is 39 points; our largest gain in points was when I overclocked the Hyper X memory from Kingston Technology from 2133MHz to 2200MHz which increased our CPU Physics score by an additional 64 points.

x264

Hyper X x264

Simply put, the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It's nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test.

Hyper X 2133 x264 Results

Looking at how the Hyper X 2133MHz Genesis memory impacts the performance of X264 benchmark, during the first pass as the frequency of the memory increased our overall computer performance increased as well. But, when we look at the second pass of X264 having tighter timings is preferred over having a higher frequency. This becomes evident when we compare the Crucial 1866MHz using a 9-9-9-27 timings Vs. the Hyper X 2133MHz while using the 11-12-11-40 timings.

RAMDisk Performance Testing

RAMDISK is a free utility where we can allocate a portion of our memory and convert that to a Volatile storage device, and we can use this Volatile storage device for various things that can help improve our overall computers performance. We can use this volatile storage as a ready boost (for those who are using HDDs for their Operating Systems) or use RAMDisk temporary files for windows or for specific programs to utilize as a temporary folder.

RAMDisk, Crystal Disk Mark

Hyper X CDM

RAMDisk testing was performed with a 4092 MB drive while using a portion of the memory as a storage device.

Hyper X 2133 CDM Seq Results

With Crystal Disk Mark Sequential Read/Write testing, we can see that having a higher memory frequency is preferred over then having a lower memory frequency with tighter memory timings. This become apparent when we look at the largest performance increase of 275 MB/s during the Sequential Write testing, and 187 MB/s increase during the Sequential Read testing, when we compare the Crucial memory operating with a frequency of 1866MHz with 9-9-9-27 timings Vs. the Hyper X 2133MHz memory with 11-12-11-40 timings.

Hyper X 2133 CDM 4K Results

When we start to look at the 4K file writing of CDM even though the Hyper X 2133MHz memory gave us the best overall performance, when I overclocked this memory to 2200MHz we get a small drop in performance, below that of the Crucial 1866MHz memory. Again which is telling me that memory timings is playing a larger role when it comes to the smaller file sizes of 4K.

HDTune

Hyper X HDTune Read

HdTune Read testing with RamDisk.

Hyper X 2133 HDTune Read

While the burst portion of testing is important to know with HDTune’s testing, the one I am more concerned with is the Average read speeds of HDTune’s testing. Once again the Hyper X 2133MHz memory performs the best, but once I overclocked this memory from 2133MHZ to 2200MHz we see a small drop in our performance.

Hyper X HDTune Write

HDTune Write Testing with RAMDisk

Hyper X 2133 HDTune Write

Similar to the Read testing I am only going to be concerned with is the average Write speeds of this test. And, once again the best performing memory was when I ran the Hyper X memory 2133MHz with 11-12-11-40 timings. Similar to HDTune’s Read testing, once I brought up the frequency of the Hyper X frequency to 2200MHz the performance takes a small decrease.

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The 16GB quad-channel kit of 2133MHz HyperX Genesis memory from Kingston Technology is a memory kit that is more than capable of handling any number of large memory usage computer programs, while also providing the speed of 2133MHz to ensure that our programs work quickly, and effortlessly. And having the ability of pushing this memory even farther to 2200MHz will ensure that overclockers will have plenty of BCLK adjustments on our motherboards to make sure that we can squeeze out every last bit of performance we can out of our CPU’s while maintaining a high memory frequency of 2200MHz.

Hyper X

The performance of this memory is what I would consider to be on par, meaning that it performed about right where I would expect this memory kit to perform at. In the overclocking department I will have to say this memory kit is moderate overclockable, only gaining a 67 MHz on overclocking is not what I would staggering. But, at the same time though that due to the nature of how I have to overclock my current CPU, the Intel Core i7 3820, that extra 67 MHz allowed me to maintain my high CPU overclock of 4.8GHz, while at the same time allow me to run this memory kit at its highest possible frequency.

Hyper X

This memory kit from Kingston Technology goes for $99.99 USD with free shipping and handling; this memory kit also comes with a limited lifetime warranty. Considering the price and the performance of this memory I feel that Kingston Technology has a kit of memory that balances speed, and capacity, while at the same time providing it affordable enough for just about anyone needing a high capacity, and fast memory kit for their computer.

Legit Reviews Recommended

Legit Bottom Line:

The Kingston Technology 16GB 2133MHz Genesis memory is a perfect candidate for just about anyone who wants or needs an affordable, large capacity, high frequency memory for their computing needs.