AMD Raven Ridge APUs Arrive

AMD launched a new pair of APUs this week that pair the Zen CPU and VEGA GPU micro architectures together to bring more value to the entry and mainstream desktop PC market. Those two new processors would be the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G and Ryzen 5 2400G. AMD went back to the drawing board for these two new processors and they only have a single CCX with four active cores. The original quad-core Ryzen processors had a 2+2 CCX configuration with some cores deactivated. This new single CCX design should improve the processors latency and reduce production costs. The bad news is that this design has reduced the L3 cache size down to 4MB from the previous designs that had 8MB. There is also a reduction in the number of PCIe lanes available on Raven Ridge as there are just 8 GPU PCIe lanes available to use versus 16 on all previous Ryzen desktop processors. AMD also implemented Precision Boost 2 technology on these two Raven Ridge processors to ensure you are at the highest possible clock frequency at all times.
APU Name AMD Ryzen 3 2200G AMD Ryzen 5 2400G AMD Ryzen 5 1400
Core Technology 14nm Zen 14nm Zen 14nm Zen
Cores / Threads 4 / 4 4 / 8 4 / 8
Base Clock 3.5 GHz 3.6 GHz 3.2 GHz
Boost Clock 3.7 GHz 3.9 GHz 3.45 GHz
L3 Cache 4 MB 4 MB 8 MB
Memory Support DDR4-2933 DDR4-2933 DDR4-2667
Graphics Chip Vega 8 Vega 11 None
Graphics Cores 512 SPs 704 SPs N/A
Graphics Clock 1100 MHz 1250 MHz N/A
TDP 65W (cTDP 45W) 65W (cTDP 45W) 65W
Platform Support AM4 AM4 AM4
GPU PCIe Lanes 8 8 16
CCX Count 4+0 4+0 2+2
Price $99.00 US $169.00 US $154.00 US
The new AMD Ryzen 5 2400G ($169.00) and Ryzen 3 2200G ($99.00) are considered mid-range desktop processors and eventually will replace the original AMD Ryzen 5 1400 ($154.99) and Ryzen 3 1200 ($104.99). Roughly 30% of desktop computers ship without a discrete graphics card, so AMD hopes to these new processors with Vega graphics compute units will do well. AMD Ryzen 5 2400G Desktop Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2400G is a quad-core desktop processor with Simultaneous Multi-Threading (SMT), so it is a 4-core, 8-thread processor. This is the flagship model that has a 3.6GHz base clock and a 3.9GHz max boost clock that is topped off with Radeon Vega graphics that has 11 Compute Units (CUs) containing 704 stream processors. The AMD Ryzen 3 2200G is a 4-core, 4-thread processor running at 3.5GHz base and 3.7GHz boost that is topped off with 8 Vega CUs and 512 stream processors. [gallery ids="196445,202544,202545"] Both the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G and Ryzen 5 2400G processors come bundled with the AMD Wraith Stealth CPU cooler. Thermal paste is pre-applied to the bottom of the all aluminum base structure, so to install you just need to screw it down and plug in the 4-pin CPU fan header. The AMD Wraith Stealth is a no-frills HSF assembly that should easily be able to handle these 65W TDP processors. Let's quit the chit-chat and look at the performance results!

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1703 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on ten different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel Z370, Intel X99, Intel X299, AMD AM3+, AMD AM4, AMD B350, AMD X399) in this article, so we'll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings. Ryzen 5 2400G Raven Ridge Platform AMD B350 Platform:  The B350 platform that we used for testing was built around the Gigabyte AB350N-Gaming WiFi motherboard ($99.99 shipped). We used UEFI version T20h, which was the latest available at the time of testing. A G.Skill FlareX  16GB 3200MHz DDR4 dual-channel memory kit ($265.00 shipped) was used with CL14 1T memory timings. We used the stock AMD Wraith Stealth CPU cooler for the 2400G and 2200G processors and a Corsair AX860i digital power supply was used for power delivery.   Intel X299 Platform: The Intel X299 platform that we used for testing consisted of the ASUS X299 Deluxe motherboard. The Corsair Vengeance 32GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H115iwater cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSD. Intel Z370 Platform: The Intel Z370 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7 motherboard with UEFI F4a that came out on 09/22/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Samsung 850 EVO SSD. Intel Z270 Platform: The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.
Intel LGA1151 Test Platform



Live Pricing


Intel Core i7-7700K


Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here


16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here


Corsair H105 Click Here


Corsair K70 RGB Click Here


Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here


ASUS VE278Q 27" Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here
Intel Z97 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings. Intel Z77 Platform: The Intel Z77 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Intel X99 Platform: The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings. AMD AM3+  Platform: The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Laptops:  Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms. Let's take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Memory Bandwidth Benchmarks

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 SP3 Memory Bandwidth: link

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 is a utility, which includes remote analysis, benchmarking and diagnostic features for PCs, servers, mobile devices and networks. This test has been popular for CPU and memory benchmarks for well over a decade and it is one of the easiest benchmarks out there to run. Memory Bandwidth Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and Ryzen 3 2200G were both tested on the same Gigabyte B350 platform with DDR4 3200 MHz memory running CL14 timings and a 1T command rate. That said, it shouldn't be a shock to anyone that both processors had an aggregate memory bandwidth of around 36.5 GB/s. The older Ryzen processors were tested at 2933MHz as at launch that was the highest we could run with stability. AMD has rolled out many microcode updates and has unlocked higher memory clock frequencies, but we haven't taken the time to go back and re-test all the Ryzen processors.

Real World Benchmarks

Dolphin 5.0 x64 Emulator Benchmark: link

The long awaited Dolphin 5.0 release happened in 2016 and thanks to a major cleaning up of the codebase Dolphin has reached a new level of efficiency, powered by a revitalized dynamic recompiler. Dolphin is considered by many to be the best Nintendo Wii emulator for PC you can find. It also works for Gamecube. We are running the official Dolphin 5.0 benchmark as it offers closer mapping to real world Dolphin performance as the previous version was extremely floating point heavy. We feel this is a pretty good general CPU benchmark for real world performance as emulation workloads are something that most gamers will run at one point or another.  We benchmark the standard Wii homebrew application and run it with the speed limit set to 'unlimited' and the External Frame Buffer set to 'real' in case you wanted to run this on your personal system.

Agisoft Photoscan 1.2.6 x64 - 2D to 3D Image Manipulation Benchmark: link

Agisoft PhotoScan is a stand-alone software product that performs photogrammetric processing of 2D digital images and generates 3D spatial data to be used in GIS applications, cultural heritage documentation, and visual effects production as well as for indirect measurements of objects of various scales. We us the 50 images from the 'Building' sample data download page for our benchmark. We take the total time it takes to complete four steps: Align Photos, Build Dense Cloud, Build Model, Build Texture with all the default settings for each.

KeyShot 6.3 - 3D Rendering and Animation: link

KeyShot 3D rendering and animation software is one of the fastest, easiest way to create amazing, photographic visuals of your 3D data. We installed KeyShot 6.3 to do some benchmarking and real-world stress testing using the camera_benchmark.bip scene that is included with the application. This benchmark tests a 800x554 pixel image with a continuous sample rate and shows the Frames Per Second (FPS) that the scene is being rendered from. This scene has nearly 42,000 triangles and does a good job at using all available cores to render the scene.

Blender 2.78a Open Source 3D Creation Benchmark: link

Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation. We use the BMW CPU Benchmark (CCO, 3MB) created by Mike Pan for our testing. Real World Benchmark Results Summary: When it comes to our 'real world' benchmark tests we found the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G performed really close to the AMD Ryzen 5 1500X and the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G was close to the performance level of the AMD Ryzen 3 1300X. The AMD Ryzen 3 2200G smoked the AMD Ryzen 3 1200 that retails for $104.99 shipped. Impressive considering that the 2400G and 2200G have integrated graphics to boot.

Media Encoding & Encryption Benchmarks

HandBrake v1.0.2 - link

HandBrake is an open-source, GPL-licensed, multiplatform, multithreaded video transcoder, available for MacOS X, Linux and Windows. It is popular today as it allows you to transcode multiple input video formats to h.264 output format and is highly multithreaded. We used Big Buck Bunny as our input file, which has become one of the world standards for video benchmarks. For our benchmark scenario we used a standard 2D 4K (3840x2160) 60 FPS clip in the MP4 format and used Handbrake version 1.0.1 to do two things. We used the new Fast 1080p30 preset to shrink that down to a 1920 x 1080 video clip to reduce the file size. This is something people often do to save space to put movies onto mobile devices.

X264 HD Encoding - link

the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It’s nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test. Media Encoding Benchmark Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and Ryzen 3 2200G aren't going to be powerhouses when it comes to encoding with just four physical cores, but they can handle video editing tasks if needed as you can see from the results above.

VeraCrypt 1.19 - link

VeraCrypt is an open-source disk encryption software brought to you by IDRIX and is a fork based on the discontinued TrueCrypt 7.1a utility. The developers claim that weaknesses found in TrueCrypt have been resolved with the VeraCrypt project. This is a popular utility used by people that don't want to use Microsoft's built-in encyption tool for Windows 10 called Bitlocker. Encryption Benchmark Results Summary: If encryption is something you do, you'll find having more cores and threads to be very beneficial as you can see from the results above. The AMD Ryzen 3 2200G came in at 3.9 GB/s and the Ryzen 5 2400G turned in a score of 5.3 GB/s. Having SMT and 100 MHz higher base/turbo core clocks help the Ryzen 5 2400G easily outperform the Ryzen 3 2200G.

3DMark & Cinebench

Futuremark 3DMark 2.2.3509 - link

3DMark is a popular gaming performance benchmark that includes everything you need to benchmark your PC whether you're gaming on a desktop PC, laptop, notebook, or a tablet. 3DMark includes seven benchmark tests and we'll be running 'Sky Diver' that is aimed at gaming laptops and mid-range PCs. AMD Ryzen 5 2400G Firestrike Cinebench Benchmarks Results Summary: When it comes to 3DMark Fire Strike we were impressed by the results from the Vega 8 and Vega 11 GPUs used on the 2200G and 2400G. The AMD Ryzen 5 2400G pulled off an overall score of 3,297 points whereas the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G came in with a score of 2,762. When you look at the graphics score the Ryzen 5 2400G was 19.7% faster than the Ryzen 3 2200G.

Maxon Cinebench R15.038 - link 

CINEBENCH is a real-world cross platform test suite that evaluates your computer's performance capabilities. CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software Cinema 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Life of Pi or Prometheus and many more. Cinebench Benchmarks Results Summary: Cinebench has been a popular CPU benchmark in recent years and we found the Ryzen 5 2400G coming in with a score of 825 points on the multi-CPU test and 157 on the single-cpu test. The Ryzen 3 2200G has four fewer threads and scored 583 points in the multi-CPU test and 148 points in the single-CPU benchmark. Not earth shattering scores, but respectable and comparable to the Ryzen parts in this $99-$169 price range that don't have integrated graphics.

CS:GO and PUBG Gaming Performance Benchmarked

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) is a multiplayer first-person shooter video game developed by Hidden Path Entertainment and Valve Corporation. It is the fourth game in the main Counter-Strike franchise. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive was released on August 21, 2012. It features classic content, such as revamped versions of classic maps, as well as brand new maps, characters and game modes. This game remains one of the most played game titles on Steam with daily peaks of over 500,000 gamers playing.
This game title uses the Source game engine and looks pretty decent. We tested CS:GO with the high graphics quality preset with 8x MSAA and FXAA Anti-Ailasing enabled. Once we had the graphics and display settings figured out we used FRAPS to manually benchmark a section of the game for a couple minutes. The two runs were done at roughly the same place in de_dust2, but at different times with different team members. This means that the performance lines shouldn’t line up at all, but still be able to give you a good feel for the performance differences between the two processors. We averaged 86 FPS on the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and 72 FPS on the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G on CS:GO with these settings and we are pretty happy with that as the minimum frame rate seldom went below 60 FPS and the 1080P gameplay was smooth.


The success of PUBG on PC is no secret as this game title has broken all of Steam’s concurrent player records and raked in over $700 million in sales over 8 months with sales of close to 30 million copies. This game title is one that we had to try on the AMD Raven Ridge platform as if the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G or Ryzen 3 2200G could play it cleanly it would be massive news. Testing was done on PUBG build 3.6.10 in the same spawn area on Miramar. We ended up running the game at 1280x720 with low image quality settings trying to get it to run smoothly. PUBG at 1280x720 with low image quality doesn't look that great when you are used to 1080P with Ultra settings, but you need to keep in mind that we are testing integrated graphics on $99 to $169 processors. Our experience on the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G was pretty good with a 55 FPS average and the lows dipping down into the high 40 FPS count. When we played on the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G we had a higher average FPS of 61, but the game play was very choppy. When we charted the results we were shocked to see large performance drop offs despite being run on the same platform with the default 1GB of UMA. An open world run showed the same performance oddity, but to a greater degree as the 2400G was dropping to the single digits. This likely won't be a huge issue as PUBG at 1280x720 with low image quality settings appears to be a bit much for Raven Ridge to handle. Let's take a look at overclocking!

AMD Ryzen 5 2400G Overclocking and Power Consumption

We wanted to look at overclocking on the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G processor and see if we could get 4GHz or better on the CPU core clock with the stock CPU Cooler. This would be a worst-case overclocking scenario as with better cooling higher clock frequencies would likely be possible. We are happy to report that we were able to get 4GHz with full stability on all cores by simply increasing the CPU multiplier and not even touching the CPU core voltage. The result was a our Cinebench R15 score went from 825 to 882, which is a 7% performance improvement over stock CPU speeds. The single threaded performance went from 157 to 164, which is a 4.5% performance improvement.  We also ran 3DMark Fire Strike and our score went from 3,297 to 3,323 points, which is barely a 1% performance improvement over stock settings. If you look at the category test results you'll see that the CPU intensive overall physics test score went from 9,617 to 11,783 points. This is an impressive 22.5% increase!  

Power Consumption

Raven Ridge users will more than likely be using the integrated Vega graphics solution. Rather than show you the usual chart with 30 processors in it with a discrete graphics card solution, we are going to keep things super simple and show you want the CPU loads look like with the dGPU. At idle the AMD Raven Ridge platform used just under 19 Watts of power and that is pretty damn impressive. With the CPU at full load we were looking around 70 Watts at load on the Ryzen 3 2200G or around 89 Watts on the Ryzen 5 2400G processor. When gaming you load up the CPU and GPU and we noticed that the system power draw topped out at 91.2 Watts on the Ryzen 3 2200G and 111 Watts on the Ryzen 5 2400G.  When the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G processor was overclocked up to 4GHz we found that it had an idle power draw of 18.9 Watts and reached 118 Watts at load. You certainly don't need a large power supply if you don't plan on running a discrete add-in graphics card. That is nice as it will help keep your system build costs to a minimum. For example the EVGA 400 N1 is a 400 Watt power supply backed by a 2-year warranty that runs under $33 shipped. Let's wrap up this review on the Ryzen + Vega Raven Ridge processors!

AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and Ryzen 3 2200G Stock Temperatures

With the factory AMD Wraith Stealth CPU cooler we wanted to see how the temperature on these two processors were at idle and load. Our ambient room temperature was 22.2C (72F) and we used the AIDA64 System Stability Test for 20 minutes to get our numbers. The AMD Ryzen 5 2400G showed an idle temp of 28-29C and a load temp of up to 90C. That temperature of 90C turned out to be from an odd spike during the stress test that was explainable. Before that spike the maximum temperature was around 81C. Regardless of hitting 90C with the stock cooler we didn't experience any thermal throttling! The room heated up a bit on us due to rising temperatures during the day and all the systems running, so when we tested the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G we had an ambient temperature of  24C  (75F). On this quad-core processor we were getting 31C at idle and 74C at load, which is a good bit cooler. We used the cooler that came with each processor and the stock thermal paste that was pre-applied. We'd love to re-run these two tests, but there is no second shot with the factory applied thermal paste. One thing we noticed is that the fan speed for the AMD Wraith Stealth cooler didn't really budge. It was around 1600-1650 RPM at idle and then at load it was around 1730-1760 RPM. We'd expect there to be more of a fan speed ramp... Oh snap!  We connected the CPU Cooler fan to the chassis fan header and not the CPU fan header. The mini-ITX board we were using doesn't have the fan headers labeled and it looks like we picked wrong. We re-tested the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G after we caught the error and the CPU cooler RPM range was 980 RPM all the way up to 1950 RPM.  This put the idle temp at around 33C and the load temperature dropped down to 72C. Using the right header does help! :) Let's wrap up this review!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The new AMD Ryzen 5 2400G ($169.00) and Ryzen 3 2200G ($99.00) are considered midrange desktop processors that will replace the AMD Ryzen 5 1400 ($154.99) and Ryzen 3 1200 ($104.99). When you consider the processors that they are replacing these are impressive parts. Overall CPU performance is most certainly on par with the older parts, but now you are getting a GPU with VEGA cores as an added bonus. The new CCX and lower L3 cache design on the Ryzen 5 2400G and Ryzen 3 2200G will mean that CPU performance is going to drop in some situations, but performance is still competitive. AMD Ryzen 5 2400G Raven Ridge Platform The Vega 11 and Vega 8 GPUs used on Raven Ridge are impressive and raise the bar for what one can and should expect from integrated graphics. These processors are capable competing with entry-level $75 discrete desktop graphics cards and that is impressive. While we couldn't get PUBG to play as smoothly as we liked, we were able to play CS:GO at 1080P with high image quality settings with ease. Raven Ridge will easily handle most eSports titles and that is a huge market! AMD now has a cost effective processor and platform to go after the average eSports gamer that wants to play some games with friends and the online community. When it comes to pricing the AMD Ryzen 5 2400G runs $169.00 shipped and the AMD Ryzen 3 2200G is $99.00 shipped. The Gigabyte AB350N-Gaming WiFi motherboard can be picked up for $99.99 shipped the G.Skill FlareX  16GB 3200MHz DDR4 dual-channel memory kit we used for testing is a pricey $265.00 shipped. So, you you are looking at around $530 for a platform like this. Toss in a budget friendly 400 Watt power supply, SATA HDD or SSD and mini-ITX case and you should easily be able to build a nice system around one of these. The price tag for something like that would likely be be another $150-$200o and that would bring the build cost to right around $700. Right now you can get a CyberPowerPC Gamer Master with an AMD Ryzen 5 1400 processor, NVIDIA GT 730 2GB discrete graphics, 8GB of DDR4 RAM and a 1TB hard drive running Windows 10 for $599.99 shipped. The AMD Ryzen 5 2400G will be replacing the Ryzen 5 1400, so expect to see system builders coming out with some complete builds for around $599 or less now that they don't have to add a discrete graphics card to the system. This might be one of those situations again where it is cheaper to buy something pre-built than doing it yourself! Legit Reviews Value Award Legit Bottom Line: The AMD Raven Ridge quad-core desktop processors help bolster AMD's processor lineup by offering affordable parts with a GPU powered by VEGA cores!   If you want to see AMD Ryzen 5 2400G cryptocurrency mining performance be sure to check our our performance results for Raven Ridge!