PowerColor Puts The Devil Inside The Radeon RX 570

Last month AMD released their new Polaris based graphics card series that consists of the Radeon RX 580, RX 570, RX 560 and RX 550. AMD's board partners are slowly making it to market with cards based on these designs and today we'll be taking a look at the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB GDDR5 graphics card. This devilish card can be yours for the low price of $189.99 shipped, which isn't too bad bad of a price point for a custom board design that comes factory overclocked and ready for some intense 1080P or 1440P gaming sessions. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 Video Card The new AMD Radeon RX 570 uses the Polaris 10 XT GPU and it features 2,048 stream processors that are clocked at 1244 MHz on AMD's reference design.  PowerColor took that number as a starting point and pushed that clock speed up to 1320 MHz.  Not a huge increase, but it is still a 6.1% increase in the boost clock and that should give you a nice bump in your overall gaming performance. Unfortunately, PowerColor didn't bother overclocking the cards 4GB of GDDR5 memory, so it is left at 1750 MHz (7000 MHz effective) for 224 GB/s of memory bandwidth.

AMD Radeon RX 500 Versus Radeon RX 400

Model
Radeon RX 580
Radeon RX 570
Radeon RX 480
Radeon RX 470
Launch Date
April 2017
April 2017
June 2016
August 2016
Codename
Polaris 20 XTX
Polaris 20 XT
Polaris 10 XT
Polaris 10 Pro
Architecture
GCN 4th
GCN 4th
GCN 4th
GCN 4th
Process (nm)
14
14
14
14
Transistors (mn)
5,700
5,700
5,700
5,700
Approx Die Size (mm²)
232
232
232
232
Full Implementation of Die
Yes
No
Yes
No
Processors
2,304
2,048
2,304
2,048
Texture Units
144
128
144
128
ROP Units
32
32
32
32
Peak GPU Clock (MHz)
1,340
1,244
1,266
1,206
Peak GFLOPS (SP)
6,175
5,095
5,834
4,940
Memory Type
GDDR5
GDDR5
GDDR5
GDDR5
Memory Size (MB)
4,096 / 8,192
4,096
4,096 / 8,192
4,096
Memory Bus (Bits)
256
256
256
256
Memory Clock (MHz)
8,000
7,000
7,000 / 8,000
6,600
Memory Bandwidth (GB/s)
256
224
224 / 256
211
Power Connectors
6
6
6
6
TDP (Watts)
185
150
150
120
GFLOPS per Watt
33.37
33.97
38.89
41.17
Launch MSRP
$199+
$179+
$199+
$179+
The PowerColor Reed Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card that we'll be reviewing today can be found under part number AXRX 570 4GBD5-3DH/OC PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 is a rather long card that measures in at 11.625-inches in length, so make sure it will fit into your case before you buy this bad boy. PowerColor went with a red and black color scheme that looks pretty good and we like the fact that the fan shroud is made of aluminum. PowerColor Red Devil Features When it comes to the fan design the powers that be over at PowerColor went with three 80mm 2-ball bearing fans with their latest Double Blade III fan technology. PowerColor says these fans have 20% more airflow than traditional 80mm fans. The fans on this card don't kick on unless the GPU temperature reaches 60C, so you'll have silent gaming at lower GPU loads. Behind the three fans you have a two large heatsink fin arrays that have two 8mm and two 6mm heatpipes that efficiently dissipate heat away from the GPU. PowerColor did put thermal pads over the 6+1 digital multi-phase power delivery system, which is good as each MOS is designed to support 25 Watts of power rather than the 22.5 Watts found on the reference design. PowerColor Red Devil RX 570 Green PCB One minor oversight on the aesthetics on this card would be the green PCB used for the fans as you can see it at some angles. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB Backplate On the back of the card PowerColor included a full coverage aluminum backplate to help keep the back of the card protected and to help add rigidity to keep the PCB from bending. No thermal pads are on the back of the PCB to help with heat dissipation. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB Power Connector Along the top edge of the card you'll find the you'll see a single 8-pin PCIe power connector configuration to ensure the Polaris GPU gets all the power that it ever should need. With the PCI Express x16 connector and the 8-pin connector this board can consume 225 Watts of power and that should be more than enough for a Radeon RX 570 that is overclocked as high as one can get it. PowerColor recommends a 450 Watt or greater power supply for proper operation. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB BIOS Switch Along the top left edge of the Red Devil Radeon RX 570 you'll come across a BIOS DIP switch that allows you to switch between 'Ultra Overclock' or 'Silent Overclock' mode. The Silent Overclock mode puts the core clock at 1270MHz and Ultra Overclock puts it at 1320MHz. We left the card on 'Ultra Overclock' for our testing. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB Video Outputs When you comes to video outputs for display connectivity you have three DisplayPort 1.4 HDR, one HDMI and one Dual-Link DVI connectors. Let's take a look at the test system and then run the benchmarks!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used as we switched over to a new system in April 2017 when Windows 10 Creators Update was released. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit version 1703 and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running.  There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago. Video Cards & Drivers used for testing: Radeon RX 570 Test System

Intel X99 Platform

The Intel X99 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS X99-E-10G WS motherboard with BIOS 0603  that came out on 03/15/2017. We went with the Intel Core i7-6950X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform and overclocked it up to 4.0GHz on all cores. The Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 memory kit we used was a 64GB kit (4x16GB) and while it is rated at 3600MHz we actually ran it at 3333MHz at 1.30V with 16-16-16-30 1T memory timings. The Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair RM1000x power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements. Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:
The Intel X99 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor Intel Core i7-6950X
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E-10G WS
Memory
64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600MHz DDR4
Video Card Various
Solid-State Drive Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Case HighSpeed PC Top Deck Tech Station
Operating System Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor ASUS PB287Q 28" 4K
PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 Video Card GPU-Z Info: Let's move on to the Battlefield 1 benchmark results!

Battlefield 1

Battlefield 1 (also known as BF1) is the fifteenth installment in the Battlefield Series developed by DICE and published by EA. The game is set during World War I. It was released world wide on October 21, 2016. The single player campaign of Battlefield 1 takes place across six different "War Stories" which revolve around different people in different aspects of the Great War in campaigns such as the Italian Alps and the deserts of Arabia. We benchmark in Through Mud and Blood, which is the second mission in singleplayer campaign. Taking place late in the war, the player assumes the role of Danny Edwards, a British recruit joining the crew of a Mark V Landship named Black Bess as their new tank driver. New to the war and inexperienced in driving the unreliable vehicle, Edwards is given a trial by fire with his first mission: punch through the German line at Cambrai with a broken tank and a crew that has no trust in him. BF1 Through Mud and Blood Battlefield 1 features the Frostbite 3 game engine and has very good graphics with tons of destructibles. Maps also now feature dynamic weather systems, affecting combat in various ways; for example, The St. Quentin Scar can either start as a clear, sunny day, a dark, foggy day, or in the middle of a rainstorm, and switch between them during the round. Battlefield 1 Video Card Settings Battlefield 1 Advanced Video Card Settings We tested BF1 at 1920 x 1080 with the 'Ultra' graphics quality preset in DX12 with the GPU Memory Restriction turned off. We also disabled VSync. 1080P Benchmark Results: At the popular 1080p gaming resolution the we were happy to see that all the graphics cards tested were able to average at least 60 FPS as the Sapphire NITRO Radeon R9 380X is pushing 2 years old. The new PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card averaged 82.8 FPS and was 11 FPS behind the Radeon RX 580 card we tested it against.  1440P Benchmark Results: When we went up to a 1440P screen resolution on our display we found the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card was 26% faster than the Radeon R9 380X and 15% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 FTW. 

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. Set in a cyberpunk-themed dystopian world in 2029, two years after the events of Human Revolution, Mankind Divided features the return of Adam Jensen from the previous game, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with new technology and body augmentations. The game was released on August 23rd, 2016 for PC users. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Train Station Deus Ex: Mankind Divided uses a heavily modified version of the Glacier 2 engine that has been tweaked so much that they are now calling it the Dawn game engine. We took a look at GPU performance using the 'High' image quality preset with MSAA and VSync turned off. We picked to run just 'High' image quality settings due to how tough this game title is to render and we feel that most gamers will try to target this setting. 1080P Benchmark Results: On this game title we see the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB coming out 26% faster than the Sapphire NITRO Radeon R9 380X and about 2% slower than the EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 FTW. The Radeon RX 570's average FPS of 64.2 and minimum frame rate of 51.6 FPS gave us a pretty smooth gaming experience at 1080p.  1440P Benchmark Results: On a 1440P display we found that none of these four graphics cards could even reach 60 FPS with the high image quality preset, so to play this tough DX12 game title at 1440P you'll need to drop it down to medium. The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB was 25% faster than the 380X, so if you have an older graphics card you can get a nice boost in performance by moving up to a Radeon RX 570 or Radeon RX 580. 

Gears of War 4

Gears of War is a video game franchise created and originally owned by Epic Games, developed and managed by The Coalition, and owned and published by Microsoft Studios. The series focuses on the conflict between humanity, the subterranean reptilian hominids known as the Locust Horde, and their mutated counterparts, the Lambent & the Swarm. Gears of War 4 was released on October 11, 2016 for the PC and is an interesting game title in the sense that it must be run on Windows 10 Anniversary Edition. It uses the DirectX 12 API with features like async compute and tiled resources. Gears of War 4 Screenshot Microsoft and the developer (The Coalition) have worked hard to make the PC port not suck and have placed over 30 graphics cards settings in the option menu with over 100-plus options that you can adjust. We are using the ultra image quality preset with VSync turned off. Gears of War 4 Graphics Options Gears of War 4 Graphics Options Gears of War 4 comes with a built-in benchmark that appears to be pretty decent and shows the average minimum framerate (bottom 5%) in the results. This is the benchmark that we ran on our graphics cards with Ultra image quality settings to see how they would perform. 1080P Benchmark Results: The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB easily handled Gears of War 4 at the Ultra Preset and turned in a solid 78.7 FPS average frame rate and the average of the bottom 5% was just 64.0 FPS. This solid test result gave the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB a 29% performance advantage over the 380X and was just slightly behind the GeForce GTX 1060 6GB.  1440P Benchmark Results: At this tougher screen resolution we see the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB averaged 49.7 FPS and that is 26% higher than the 380X.  

Fallout 4

Fallout4 Fallout 4 is an open world action role-playing video game developed by Bethesda Game Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 4 is set in a post-apocalyptic Boston in the year 2287, 210 years after a devastating nuclear war, in which the player character emerges from an underground bunker known as a Vault. Gameplay is similar to Fallout 3.  The title is the fifth major installment in the Fallout series and was released worldwide on November 10th, 2015. fallout4 settings Fallout 4 was benchmarked with ultra image quality settings with TAA and 16x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. V-Sync can't be disabled in the games options, so we edited the necessary INI files and disabled vsync in the driver software as well. We used FRAPS to benchmark Fallout 4 after you emerge from the vault and are in The Commonwealth. 1080P Benchmark Results: In Fallout 4, at 1080p resolution, the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 averaged 82 FPS!  1440P Benchmark Results: With the resolution cranked up to 1440P the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 came in at 55 FPS on average with the lows dipping down into the 30's. 

Grand Theft Auto V

GTAV Grand Theft Auto V, currently one of the hottest PC games, was finally released for the PC on April 14, 2015.  Developed by Rockstar, it is set in 2013 and the city of Los Santos.  It utilizes the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) which Rockstar has been using since 2006, with multiple updates for technology improvements. GTA5-settings GTA5-settings2 In Grand Theft Auto V we set the game to run with no MSAA with 16x AF and high image quality settings as we didn't want the GPU to bottleneck the system too bad, but wanted a setup that your average gamer would actually play on. We used the games built-in benchmark utility to have at least one game we used that could be compared to your setup at home. We averaged all the five of the default benchmark runs and omitted both the minimum and maximum values as those results are garbage due to major inconsistencies. 1080P Benchmark Results: The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card comes in at 108 FPS on GTAV on a 1080P display.  1440P Benchmark Results: At 1440P we see the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 averaged 75 FPS, which is 20% faster than the Radeon R9 380X. 

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands is an open world tactical shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Paris. It is the tenth installment in the Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon franchise and is the first Ghost Recon game to feature an open world environment. The game moves away from the futuristic setting introduced in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter and instead feature a setting similar to the original Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon. Ubisoft described it as one of the biggest open world games that they have ever published, with the game world including a wide variety of environments such as mountains, forests, deserts and salt flats. A modified version of the AnvilNext game engine was used.  The game was released on March 7, 2017 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Ghost Recon Wildlands Image Quality Settings Ghost Recon Wildlands Image Quality Settings Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands was benchmarked with high image quality settings with Temporal AA and 4x AF. V-Sync and the framerate limit were both disabled and we used the game titles built-in game benchmark. 1080P Benchmark Results: Ghost Recon Wildlands is a pretty tough game title when it comes to graphics and at 1080P with just the high preset we were getting around 64 FPS on the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570.  1440P Benchmark Results: With the resolution cranked up to 2560x1440 we now see the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 coming in with an average of 47 FPS at this resolution. 

3DMark Time Spy - DX12

3DMark Time Spy just recently came out and it is the latest and greatest DirectX 12 benchmark test for gaming PCs running Windows 10. This DirectX 12 Feature Level 11_0 benchmark utilizes a pure DirectX 12 game engine that supports features like asynchronous compute, explicit multi-adapter, and multi-threading! The developers opted to use DirectX 12 Feature Level 11_0 to ensuring wide compatibility with DirectX 11 hardware through DirectX 12 drivers. 3DMark Time Spy With DirectX 12 on Windows 10, game developers can significantly improve the multi-thread scaling and hardware utilization of their titles to draw more objects, textures and effects for your viewing enjoyment. 3DMark Fire Strike is a great high-end DirectX 11 benchmark test, but doesn't really show off what new graphics cards can do on a DirectX 12 game title that will have much more going on while you are playing. 3DMark Time Spy Settings We ran 3DMark Time Spy with the standard settings and got the following results: In this DX12 benchmark we see the Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 580 Limited Edition came in with a score of 4,830 points, but the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 wasn't too far behind with a score of 4,314  points..

VRMark

VRMark is a relatively new benchmark aimed at those that might be thinking about buying an HTC Vive or an Oculus Rift and knowing what hardware will give them the best VR gaming experience. VRMark includes two VR benchmark tests that run on your monitor, no headset required, or on a connected HMD. At the end of each test, you'll see whether your PC is VR ready, and if not, how far it falls short.

The Orange Room benchmark shows the impressive level of detail that can be achieved on a PC that meets the recommended hardware requirements for the HTC Vive and Oculus Rift. If your PC passes this test, it's ready for the two most popular VR systems available today. The orange room rendering resolution is 2264 x 1348, which is 1132 x 1348 per eye and the target desktop frame rate is 109 FPS.
Benchmark Results: All three cards were able to best the 109 FPS target that is 'needed' for VR gaming, but you can see that all the cards are getting above that mark. The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 was getting 144.9 FPS.  The Blue Room is designed to be a more intense test with a rendering resolution of 5012 x 2880 (5K) and the goal is for a desktop PC to maintain a consistent frame rate of 109 FPS or above without dropping frames to pass this test. Benchmark Results: None of our cards can get close to passing this test as the EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 FTW was only able to average 28.5 FPS and the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 averaged slower than that with a 23.4 FPS average. This is one tough benchmark that no single-GPU powered system has yet since this benchmark came out 6 months ago. 

SuperPosition Benchmark

UNIGINE introduced the Superposition Benchmark in April 2017 and it contains a benchmark based on the UNIGINE 2 Engine that is pretty tough on modern graphics cards. We ran the SuperPosition Benchmark performance test with the 1080P High preset. The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 has an overall score of 5,365 points. The FPS results might have more meaning for our readers, so here is a chart that shows those results. As you can see we are getting 40 FPS on average on the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 versus 45 FPS on the Radeon RX 580 and 49 FPS on the GeForce GTX 1060 6GB.

Temperature & Noise Testing

The gaming performance on a graphics card is the most important factor in buying a card, but you also need to be concerned about the noise, temperature and power consumption numbers. PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB Idle and Load Temps: When it comes to temperatures we were seeing 31C idle with no fans spinning and 79C at load on the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card. The fan speeds got up to 68% and that had the fans running at 2640 RPM and they were a bit noisy at that speed. When it comes to GPU temperatures all three of the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB came in at 31C at idle and 79C when gaming for an extended period of time.  Note that all four cards have 0dB fans at idle that did not spin.

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

When it comes to noise levels the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics cards three small fans spun at up to just under 2,700 RPM our test system and you could certainly hear them over the systems water cooler and other fans when gaming.  It didn't come a surprise when the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 ended up on the top of our noise chart.

Power Consumption

For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 1 at 1920 x 1080 and recorded the peak power number while gaming a particular level that we test on each card. Our idle numbers are high, but keep in mind that we are using a workstation motherboard that has two 10GbE ports and other high-power draw controllers on it. Power Consumption Results: With the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 installed in the system we topped out at 405 Watts when running BF1 at 1080P resolutions and used 155W at idle. AMD isn't winning the efficiency battle as the GeForce GTX 1060 FTW card by EVGA topped out at just 315 Watts, so the competing NVIDIA cards around this price point use nearly 100W less power! 

PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 Overclocking

The PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card is already overclocked from AMD's suggested base clock speed of 1244MHz on a Radeon RX 570 all the way up to 1320MHz. This is a 6.1% increase and a pretty decent factory overclock right out of the box. We didn't want to stop there though and manually overclocked this Radeon RX 570 squeeze some more performance from the AMD Polaris GPU. To do overclocking on the PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 4GB graphics card we used the TRIXX v6.3.0 software utility. Overclocking was simple and without messing with the core voltage we were able to get the core clock up to 1380 MHz and the memory up to 2025MHz (8100MHz effective). This overclock represents a 4.5% increase on the GPU clock and a 15.7% increase on the 4GB of GDDR5 memory from the cards overclocked clock speeds. If you go back to the AMD Radeon RX 570 reference clocks of 1244MHz on the core this is a 10.9% overclock! PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 Stock: PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 570 Overclocked (+60MHz/+275MHz): By overclocking the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 graphics card we were able to take the score of 4,314 points on 3DMark Time Spy and raise it up to 4,557. This is a 243 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 5.6 percent. The overall FPS average in Graphics Test 1 went from 26.28 to 27.82, which is a also a 5.8% performance gain in this particular graphics test. In real game titles we found about the same performance increase. For example in Ghost Recon: Wildlands our 1080P gaming performance went up 6.4% and that put us just slightly behind an factory overclocked Radeon RX 580 graphics card! Let's wrap this review up!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The AMD Radeon RX 570 series cards generally range in price from $179 up to $235 at this time and that is before any rebates are factored in. For the price, the performance of the Radeon RX 570 for 1080P gaming is solid and you can even dabble with 1440P gaming if you aren't going to go crazy with the image quality. The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB Video Card at $189.99 shipped is priced on the lower than most RX 570 models and we found it to be a pretty powerful little card that has some overclocking headroom left in it that will allow you to get even more performance. PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 Video Card In our charts we compared this card to the Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 580 Limited Edition 8GB model that currently runs $289.99. When it comes to 1080P gaming performance we couldn't 'feel' a difference between the Radeon RX 570 and the Radeon RX 580, so it's hard to suggest a Radeon RX 580 for $100 more over this card if you only plan on doing 1080P gaming. The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 4GB feels like it is priced right for a custom card of this caliber. When it comes to negatives on the PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 we could only come up with four.
  1. The 11.625-inch length on this card might cause some fitment issues in some smaller or old PC cases.
  2. The fan noise after gaming for long period of time is a bit louder than we would like to hear, but it is bearable.
  3. Power Efficiency? What power efficiency!
  4. Good luck finding one as they are out of stock on Amazon, Newegg and other retailers we looked at.
Multiple AMD board partners told us that they are having trouble getting Polaris GPUs to build cards with, but that should get sorted out soon enough. PowerColor told us another batch of cards is due to arrive next week here in the United States, so you might just have to wait a week if you want to pick one of these cards up. If the negatives don't bother you then you should be happy with one of these cards!   LR Recommended Award Legit Bottom Line: The PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 570 offers solid 1080P gaming performance for under $190 and you still have overclocking headroom to tinker with!