The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098

Over the past several years the average selling price of a PC has been declining and you can get a pretty good deal for what you spend these days. CyberPower recently reached out to Legit Reviews and wanted us to look at a budget gaming PC before the upcoming holiday season. We don't review too many full systems on the site, but every so often we like to see what companies like CyberPower are offering consumers. CyberPower considers a budget gaming PC to be right around $600, so we told them to send us a system and we will put it through the paces.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098

The PC that showed up at our door step a couple months later was the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098. We are actually excited to get this PC as it uses the new AMD FX-4100 3.6GHz quad-core 'Bulldozer' processor along with the Gigabyte Radeon HD 6670 1GB video card and 8GB of DDR3 memory. It should be a fairly robust budget gaming PC that has an MSRP of $609.00. As you know, the street price is always usually lower than the MSRP and this situation is no different with Newegg carrying this model for $574.98 ($559.99 plus $14.99 shipping).

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098

Gamer Ultra 2098 Features:

As you can see, you get some pretty good hardware and at $575 shipped it will be tough to configure an identical system on your own for much cheaper. We headed to Newegg to see what we could build up on our own and came up with this:

After spending some time on Newegg and finding all the exact pieces this PC uses with the exception of the power supply and keyboard/mouse we came up with $662.87 and that is also having to deal with a rebate on the case. So, by buying a system from CyberPower you actually save money and don't have to mess with assembling it, installing Windows 7 and all the proper system drivers! Years ago it was always cheaper to build your own system, but as you can see here, it isn't anymore. CyberPower builds thousands of these systems and sells them at retailers like Wal-Mart and Newegg, so they get volume discounts that are not available to you or us! Having CyberPower do all the work for nearly a hundred dollars less than what we can buy the parts for sounds like an easy call to make.

Since CyberPower released this PC in October 2011 just before the holiday season we wouldn't be too surprised if it goes for even lower than this when Black Friday and Cyber Monday sales start later this month. Nearly everything has a sale price and this PC just came out a week ago, so it will be interesting to see what happens to the price down the road.

Let's take a look at the Gamer Ultra 2098 system that CyberPower sent us to review!

The Shipping Box and Packaging

CyberPower Gamer Ultra Shipping Box

When ordering a complete PC you have to worry about shipping it and that can often be a big deal as things get damaged easily with delicate hard drives and cases with windows. CyberPower shipped our review unit UPS 3 Day Select from California to Missouri and it arrived safely in one piece. The white shipping box was covered in dirt and did have a few rips on the outer layer.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra Shipping Box

Opening up the outer box we found that it was actually double layered cardboard, so nothing actually penetrated both layers. Once we opened the box we found a thick layer of foam with the invoice sitting on top.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra Shipping Box

With the foam removed we discovered a motherboard box and the case box. It looks like the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 uses the Gigabyte M68MT-S2 motherboard and the Azza Orion PC case!

CyberPower Gamer Ultra Shipping Box

Inside the motherboard box we found the manuals for the motherboard and PC case along with a power cable driver discs and an Xtreme Gear 800 DPI USB mouse. According to Newegg this system comes with an Xtreme Gear USB keyboard, but ours didn't come with a keyboard.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra Shipping Box

Opening up the Azza Orion PC case we found another double walled cardboard box that had the case inside that was packed in Styrofoam and plastic. CyberPower does a good job packaging up the system, so when you order one from Newegg or Wal-Mart you'll know that it should arrive in one piece.

External Impressions

The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 uses an off the shelf Azza Orion black mid-tower PC case that features a see-thru side panel with red lighting.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The only modification that CyberPower did to this case was to place their decal on the front with some double sided tape, so this case isn't covered with logos on all sides. The Azza Orion is one of those cases that has looks that you'll either love or hate and that is something you'll have to decide on your own after looking through the images. The overall appearance is fairly common with what you'd expect for a gaming PC.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Taking a look at the left side of the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2980 you can see that the side panel of the Azza Orion actually has two pre-installed windows on it that have room for a pair of 120mm fans on each window. CyberPower installs a single 120mm fan on the top window, but doesn't include a second fan for the bottom window. This PC has an MSRP of $609 shipped, so we see obvious signs that the budget dictated what went on this PC.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The opposite side of the case features the Windows 7 Certificate of Authenticity on the solid side panel.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Looking down at the top of the Azza Orion 202 gaming case you can see that there is a spot for two optional 120mm fans that help exhaust hot air up and out of the case. CyberPower didn't install any fans here, but you have the ability to if you wanted to increase the airflow of this case. This setup is also nice as it also allows for support of a water cooling kit that uses 2x120mm fans like the Corsair Hydro H100 liquid cooling kit.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Flipping the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 over we can see that it has four hard plastic feet to keep the metal from scratching a desk surface. Since these are hard plastic feet the case will slide easily around a smooth surface, unlike rubber feet.  The bottom of the Azza Orion 202 has room for another case cooling fan and comes pre-drilled for 80mm, 92mm and 120mm fans.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The back of the Azza Orion has a 120mm fan on the back to help exhaust hot air that doesn't have red LED lights on it. The Azza Orion has four pre-cut holes with grommets for external water cooling systems, so you are certainly covered if you ever wanted to go water cooled in the future. The power supply is mounted on the bottom, which is pretty much standard now. When it comes to connectivity the AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR3 video card has DVI, VGA and HDMI ports for your display monitor. The Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 motherboard has a pair of PS/2 keyboard/mouse ports, four USB 2.0/1.1 ports, one Gigabit RJ-45 LAN port, 3 x audio jacks (Line In/Line Out/Microphone), a D-Sub port and one serial port. We were slightly shocked to find that this system doesn't come with a board that supports SuperSpeed USB 3.0. It also has just four USB 2.0 ports on the back, so by the time you plug in your keyboard, mouse and printer you'll only have one USB port left!

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The Azza Orion 202 has a magnetic plastic front door that covers the 2.5", 3.5" and 5.25" drive bays along with the power and reset button. This means that each time you want to turn on the PC or use the optical drive, you'll have to open the door. Some people that have kids or pets like this as the power and reset button can't get hit, but others hate it as the door is always getting in the way. The Azza Orion supports four 5.25" drive bays and two 3.5" drive bays. CyberPower installed a Lite-On 24x DVD-RW in the top 5.25" bay slot, so the rest are left open for future expansion.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

On the very bottom of the Azza Orion 202 PC case you'll find an 80mm red LED fan that helps cool the hard drives or SSD's that are installed behind the fan. Below the fan along the very bottom of the case you'll find two High-Speed USB 2.0 ports along with the audio and microphone ports. Some people prefer their front connectivity ports on the top and others at the bottom, so the location of these is one of personal preference once again.

Internal Impressions

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Opening up the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 side panel was easy thanks to the panel being held on by a pair of thumbscrews. With the door removed we are face-to-face with a very clean looking interior with impressive cable management. Properly routing the cables not only looks nice, but it will also improve airflow throughout the case. The case looks huge, but keep in mind that CyberPower used a Micro ATX motherboard for this system build.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Removing the right side panel we found that the wiring was nicely routed and bundled together, despite having hardly any room behind the motherboard tray. The Azza Orion has a CPU cutout in the motherboard tray, but as you can see it doesn't exactly lineup with the AMD motherboard being used here. Not a big deal, but something worth noting.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

CyberPower went with the Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 Revision 3.1 motherboard for the Gamer Ultra 2098 PC. This motherboard choice is a little strange, but we'll have to see how it performs before we pass judgment on it. The AMD FX-4100 processor is kept cool by the AMD retail boxed CPU cooler. The video card is a Gigabyte branded AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR3. The 8GB DDR3 memory consists of 2 x 4GB ADATA 1333MHz memory modules that run with 9-9-9-24 timings. We found that the plastic fan shroud on the video card blocks the top two SATA II ports. The easiest way to fix this is to take the video card out and cut out a section of the fan shroud as it doesn't really do much for airflow direction. This will likely void the warranty on the video card though.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The system is powered by a 500 Watt Turbolink branded switching power supply with model number ATX-TL500W-BK. This is a brand that we haven't heard of before. It has two +12V rails with +12v1 being rated at 16 Amps and +12v2 being rated at 18 Amps. This power supply doesn't have any PCIe 6-pin power connectors for video card expansion, which is a bit of a bummer as we always like PCs to have an upgrade path. We took a look around the system and found all the power connectors were used except for one 4-pin molex connector and a SATA power connector.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The hard drive cage is located right behind the 80mm LED fan on the front of the case, which is nice as it has some airflow around it. You want to keep your hard drive as cool as possible as heat is your enemy on critical components like your storage drive. CyberPower went with a 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue hard drive with part number WD5000AAKX. This drive features the latest SATA III 6Gbps interface with a 7200 RPM spindle speed and 16MB of cache. This drive offers rock-solid performance and is ideal for family and business computing. We did find it strange that CyberPower included a SATA III 6Gbps drive on a system that has a motherboard that only has four SATA II 3Gbps ports. If you need to add additional storage there are spots for two more 3.5" hard drives and one 2.5" SSD.

First Boot & Windows Experience Index

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 Windows Desktop

When we fired up the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC for the very first time we were curious how much bloatware CyberPower was going to put on the PC. We like to see none, but we know that companies often get paid to put pre-loaded trial software on the PC. After booting the PC for the first time and setting up the username, password and activating Windows 7 we were happy to see a fairly clean desktop. The only bloatware that came installed on the Gamer Ultra 2098 was Zynga games. This can be easily removed, so not a huge deal!

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 Windows System Info

After seeing what was installed on the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 we headed into computer properties to make sure the system configuration was correctly showing the hardware. It listed the AMD FX-4100 quad-core processor running at 3.60GHz, 8.00 GB of system memory and Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. The system rating wasn't available, so we went ahead and ran the test.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 Windows Experience Index Score

After the test settled the Windows Experience Index score of the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 was 5.9 with the lowest base scores being both the primary hard drive and the graphics processor.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 HDD Free Space

The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 uses a Western Digital hard drive, so it has a useable capacity of 465GB when completely empty. Our system arrived with 439GB of free space.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 w/ AMD Overdrive

One thing that we ran into when we started using this system is that we couldn't install AMD OverDrive 4.0.5 as the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 was using the Gigabyte M68MT-S2 motherboard. The Gigabyte M68MT-S2 uses the NVIDIA nForce 630a chipset, which obviously won't work with AMD OverDrive as that utility only works with AMD chipsets. We find it a little strange that CyberPower paired an AMD FX-4100 quad-core CPU and the AMD Radeon HD 6670 video card with an NVIDIA chipset, but we are certain that it has to do with keeping costs down.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 HWinfo

Using HWMonitor 1.18.5 we can get a good look at all the hardware installed in the system.

CPU-Z and GPU-Z Screenshots

A ton of our readers always e-mail in asking to see CPU-Z and GPU-Z details on these pre-configured systems, so on this page we will be filling it up with screenshots that show off the PC's vital signs.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

At an idle state we found the AMD FX-4100 quad-core 'Bulldozer' processor to be running at 1400 MHz with a base clock of 200MHz and a multiplier of seven. This processor has 8MB of L3 cache, 4MB of L2 cache and 192 KBytes of total L1 cache.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

Under load the AMD FX-4100 jumps up to 3600 MHz with a base clock of 200MHz and a multiplier of 18.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

The AMD FX-4100 CPU supports AMD Turbo Core technology. When all the cores are needed and the thermals are okay the AMD FX-4100 jumps up to 3700 MHz as shown above. When lightly loaded with single or dual-threaded applications it can also jump up to 3800 MHz!

Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 Motherboard

The motherboard being used in the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 is the Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 Revision 3.1. This board uses NVIDIA GeForce 7025/nForce 630a chipsets and supports AMD AM3+ processors built on the 32nm manufacturing process. We asked CyberPower why they didn't use a board with an AMD chipset like the ASUS M5A78L-M and CyberPower came back to us with this answer:

Our R&D team spent 2 months on comparing the Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 board vs. the ASUS M5A78L-M board. The result was that the Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 motherboard had better performance on most of the benchmarks.

We are glad to find that CyberPower tested a number of boards before picking one for this system!

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

CyberPower is running BIOS version FB on this board, which is the current version as of November 1st, 2011.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

The CyberPower Gamer Ultra only has two dual-channel DDR3 memory slots and CyberPower loaded them up with two 4GB ADATA DDR3 1333MHz memory modules. The timings on these modules are 9-9-9-24.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 CPU-Z

Here is a look at the SPD settings programmed into the ADATA DDR3 1333MHz memory modules. You can also see that they carry part number AM2U139C4P2-B01S.

CyberPower Gmaer Ultra 2098 GPU-Z

Here is a GPU-Z 0.5.5 screen shot that shows off the details of the Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6670 video card used in the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098. The Gigabyte Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR3 graphics card runs at 800MHz on the core and 800MHz on the memory.

You can see that the system shipped to us with Catalyst 11.9 WHQL certified drivers. CyberPower did a great job with the BIOS version and system drivers as all were current when we received the system.

Sandra 2011 SP5 & CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1b

The Sisoft Sandra 2011 SP5 benchmark utility just came out a few weeks ago and we have started to include it in our benchmarking. Sandra 2011 SP5 comes with support for Virtualisation (Virtual PC/Server, Hyper-V, VMware) and GPGPU (OpenCL, DirectX 11 DirectCompute), but today we will be using the program to look at memory and CPU performance!

Sandra 2011 SP5 Memory Benchmark

The first benchmark that we always run on a PC is Sandra Memory Bandwidth and we found that the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 with its 8GB of dual channel 1333MHz CL9 memory was able to have 10.44GB/s of both integer and floating memory bandwidth. Not bad for a budget gaming PC.

Sandra 2011 SP5 Processor Benchmark

The Sandra Processor Arithmetic score was found to be right around 40.87 GOPS, which is very respectable for a PC in this price range.  This is a free benchmark, so if you wanted to compare your system at home to this be sure to download Sandra 2011 SP5

CrystalDiskMark v3.0.1b

CrystalDiskMark is a small HDD benchmark utility for your hard drive that enables you to rapidly measure sequential and random read/write speeds.

CrystalDiskMark v3.0.1b Benchmark Results

Benchmark Results: With Crystal Mark v3.0.1 run with a file size of 1000MB the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 does pretty well with sequential read and write speeds averaging 105 MB/s.  The 4K random read and write speeds aren't that great, but remember this system has a Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB hard drive inside and not a cutting edge and more expensive solid-state drive. 

PCMark 7 & 3DMark 11

PCMark 7 Benchmarking

This is our first use of Futuremark PCMark 7 for a processor review. PCMark 7 is specifically designed for Windows 7. It measures the performance of the latest PC hardware across a variety of common scenarios.

PCMark Vantage 7 supports both system level and component level benchmarking and comprises several different test suites, but for the purposes of this review we employed the standard test suite. The nice thing about it is that you can submit your scores online and compare against others.

CyberPower Ultra Gamer 2098 Detailed Benchmark Results:

AMD FX-4100 PCMark 7 Benchmark Results

Benchmark Results: PCMark 7 showed that the overall score of the system was 2358 points. We also ran the lightweight benchmark and found a score of 1895. Not bad performance, but the system storage tests were being hampered by the 7200 RPM hard drive.

3DMark 11

Futuremark 3DMark 11 Benchmark

3DMark 11 is the latest version of the world’s most popular benchmark for measuring the 3D graphics performance of gaming PCs. 3DMark 11 uses a native DirectX 11 engine designed to make extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11, including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading.

Futuremark 3DMark 11 Benchmark Settings

We ran the benchmark at the performance presets to see how the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 will run.

3DMark 11 Performance Benchmark Results:

Futuremark 3DMark 11 Benchmark Results

The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 had a 3DMark 11 performance benchmark score of 1451. You can see the detailed results in the screen capture above.

x264 HD Encoding & WPrime

x264 HD Encoding Benchmark

Simply put, it is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It's nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v4.0 for this test.

x264 HD Encoding Benchmark

This application did fairly well when run on 4 threads, as you can see from the screen shot above. The first pass was not using all of the processing power available on the four cores, but on the second pass all 4 threads were at ~98% load.

x264 HD Encoding Benchmark Results

Benchmark Results: The x264 HD benchmark is very CPU intensive and it showed the AMD FX-4100 Bulldozer processor averaged 94 FPS first and 19 FPS on the second pass.

wPrime v2.06

wPrime is a leading multithreaded benchmark for x86 processors that tests your processor performance by calculating square roots with a recursive call of Newton's method for estimating functions, with f(x)=x2-k, where k is the number we're sqrting, until Sgn(f(x)/f'(x)) does not equal that of the previous iteration, starting with an estimation of k/2. It then uses an iterative calling of the estimation method a set amount of times to increase the accuracy of the results. It then confirms that n(k)2=k to ensure the calculation was correct. It repeats this for all numbers from 1 to the requested maximum.

wPrime

Benchmark Results: The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 uses the AMD FX-4100 'Bulldozer' processor and we found 32M test completed in 19.921 seconds and the 1024M test completed in 615.886 seconds.

Game Benchmarking

Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is a sandbox style action video game developed by Swedish developer Avalanche Studios and Eidos Interactive, published by Square Enix. It is the sequel to the 2006 video game, Just Cause.

Just Cause 2

We wanted to see what the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 could do on this title, so we tried to dial it into where we could get 30FPS. In order to top 30FPS on average we found the sweet spot to be at 1920x1080 resolution with most of the image quality settings turned off or down to low. If you like the eye candy you could always lower the resolution down to 1280x1024 and turn on some of the image quality settings. 

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex Human Revolution PC Game

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the third game in the Deus Ex first-person role-playing video game series, and a prequel to the original game. Announced on May 27, 2007, Human Revolution was developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. It was released in August 2011. Human Revolution contains elements of first-person shooters and role-playing games, set in a near-future where corporations have extended their influence past the reach of global governments. The game follows Adam Jensen, the security chief for one of the game's most powerful corporations, Sarif Industries. After a devastating attack on Sarif's headquarters, Adam is forced to undergo radical surgeries that fuse his body with mechanical augmentations, and he is embroiled in the search for those responsible for the attack.

Deus Ex Human Revolution Game Settings

Deus Ex: Human Revolution uses a modified Crystal Dynamics Crystal game engine, which some of you might know as the game engine from the last Tomb Raider game title. The game developers did some rather hefty modifications to this engine though as the graphics are superb in this title.

Deus Ex Human Revolution Game Settings

We used FRAPS to benchmark the first two minutes of the first level of Deus Ex: Human Revolution and found that we could get 19FPS on average for the opening cut scene. We lowered the resolution down to 1680x1050 and then 1280x1024 and we were stuck at 19FPS still, so we must be CPU or GPU limited on this game title. 

H.A.W.X. 2 Benchmark

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

Aerial warfare has evolved. So have you. As a member of the ultra-secret H.A.W.X. 2 squadron, you are one of the chosen few, one of the truly elite. You will use finely honed reflexes, bleeding-edge technology and ultra-sophisticated aircraft - their existence denied by many governments - to dominate the skies. You will do so by mastering every nuance of the world's finest combat aircraft. You will slip into enemy territory undetected, deliver a crippling blow and escape before he can summon a response. You will use your superior technology to decimate the enemy from afar, then draw him in close for a pulse-pounding dogfight. And you will use your steel nerve to successfully execute night raids, aerial refueling and more. You will do all this with professionalism, skill and consummate lethality. Because you are a member of H.A.W.X. 2 and you are one of the finest military aviators the world has ever known. H.A.W.X. 2 came out on November 16, 2010 for PC gamers.

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

The final game benchmark that we ran was H.A.W.X. 2 and we found that we were able to run the benchmark at 1920x1080 with the image quality settings lowered and hit a respectable 48FPS on average. We tried to enable shadows and turn the view distance and environment quality settings to high, but the game would stutter. 

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

Curious to see if the AMD FX-4100 was the issue we opened up the Windows Task Manager only to find the game using up about 40-70% of the quad-core CPU. It appears the AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB video card is the limiting factor when it comes to games.  The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 is a budget gaming PC, so it shouldn't come as a shock that you have to lower the image quality settings down to get solid frame rates on some of the toughest titles out there.

Temperature & Sound Testing

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

CyberPower went with the AMD retail boxed CPU cooler on the Gamer Ultra 2098 PC, so we wanted to test it out to see how this CPU cooler performs at both idle and load.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

We used Gigabyte EasyTune 6 to monitor the CPU temperatures as we couldn't find another program that would work properly on the recently released AMD FX-4100 CPU. At idle in a room that was 20 C (68F) we found the CPU to be running at 22C (71.6F). The internal system temperature was reported at 39C, which is strange, but we don't know where that sensor is located.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

We fired up Prime 95 64-bit to put the CPU at full load and found the CPU temperature jumped up to 45C and the system temperature was reported at 54C. Not bad numbers for being at full load!

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

We wanted to push the system to the max, so we fired up Furmark and Prime 95 at the same time to really stress all the components. The temperature of the CPU bounced around 44-45C, but never got much hotter.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

Noise is something that people are really concerned with these days on computers. The CyberPower Gamer Ultra does use rather cheap case fans, so you can hear it when sitting next to it. We placed our trusty sound meter a few inches away from the case at an angle and recorded 56 dBA. Unplugging the three case fans in the Azza Orion PC Case helped lower the noise, so if you like silent computing be sure to invest in some better case fans!

Power Consumption

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098

Energy efficiency is a big deal these days, so we fired up the system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we measured the peak wattage used by the system while running a variety of utilities.

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 Power Consumption

The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 had very decent power consumption numbers. The system idled at just 76 Watts and peaked at 198 Watts when both the AMD FX-4100 Bulldozer processor and AMD Radeon HD 6670 video card were both at 100% load with Prime 95 and Furmark running. When gaming we saw on average 142 Watts of power draw with game titles like Battlefield 3 and Deus Ex. When encoding videos we saw right around 153 Watts on average. Not bad power draw for a quad-core powered system with a discrete graphics card inside!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098

CyberPower really did do a great job with the Gamer Ultra 2098! The part selection and the fit and finish of the components were superb for a budget gaming PC. For being just $574.98 we figured that CyberPower might cut some corners on wire management or something like that, but they really did a nice job for this build. The picture below really shows how well the system was assembled. 

CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 PC Case

The parts that CyberPower used on the Gamer Ultra 2098 worked well together and we had no major issues with any of the hardware during our testing. For a budget AMD powered gaming PC we wouldn't change anything on this system. We like how it uses the brand new AMD FX-4100 quad-core 'Bulldozer' processor as you always want to be using the latest and greatest CPU architecture. When it came to gaming performance we found that we had to lower the image quality settings down on some of the more graphics intensive game titles, but that is to be expected when using the AMD Radeon HD 6670 video card. The CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 proved to be a solid performing system.

That said, we did find a couple things missing that we like to see on PCs these days. The first is SuperSpeed USB 3.0 support. We wish CyberPower would have picked a board that had integrated USB 3.0, but in this price range a board doesn't exist. The other thing we noticed is that the motherboard used for this build only has four High-Speed USB 2.0 ports on the rear I/O panel. This shouldn't be a deal breaker, but most people will fill those up quickly. The third and final gripe about this system is that CyberPower went with an NVIDIA chipset motherboard and we found that software utilities like AMD OverDrive won't install as a result. All of these issues are minor and revolve around the motherboard that is being used. We wanted to point them out to you as this is a 'legit review' and we have to live up to our site's name!

We headed to Newegg to see how much it would cost to buy the parts for this system and build it up ourselves.

When you break down the prices of the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 we found that we could build a nearly identical PC for $662.87. Remember, Newegg carries the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 for $574.98 ($559.99 plus $14.99 shipping). This is rather shocking to us as you can buy a fully built system that was professionally assembled with the drivers and Windows 7 properly loaded for less than what the parts cost. Years ago building a PC yourself could save you money, but this is an example of where it helps to get a system from a company like CyberPower where they ship thousands of PCs. The best part about this system is that CyberPower used all off the shelf parts, which means that if something breaks years down the road you'll be able to easily replace it if it's not covered by the warranty. If you buy a CyberPower system be sure to register it by following these steps.

If you want to build a budget AMD gaming PC then look no further than the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098! We found the system to be a solid performer and it costs less than what you can buy all the hardware for at Newegg! For that we give the CyberPower Gamer Ultra 2098 the Legit Reviews Value Award!

LegitReviews.com Value Award



Legit Bottom Line: The CyberPower Gamer Ultra is a nicely balanced budget AMD gaming PC that is priced for less than what you can buy the parts for yourself!