AMD Introduces The A10-7800 and A8-7600 Kaveri APUs

AMD today introduced the new AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 Accelerated Processing Units (APU) to the component channel. These processors are part of AMD's 4th Generation of APU's that are code named Kaveri. Kaveri is AMD's first processor that utilizes the Heterogeneous System Architecture (HSA) and is aimed at the system builder and Do-It-Yourself (DIY) PC market. AMD Desktop Kaveri APU Kaveri APUs feature up to 12 Compute Cores (4 CPU + 8 GPU) and the number of CPUs and GPUs will vary depending on which A-Series APU you are looking at getting. The four CPU cores use the AMD Steamroller microarchitecture and the 8 GPU cores feature Graphics Core Next (GNC) technology with Mantle and TruseAudio functionality.   Being designed with HSA from the get go allows the CPU and GPU to work together in harmony by quickly dividing and directing tasks to the appropriate cores for new levels of performance and efficiency for desktop and notebook PCs, enabling a new era of compute capabilities with compute cores So, you have the latest latest technology features that AMD has to offer inside a desktop processor for AMD FM2+ platforms (AMD A88X, A78 and A58 Chipset based motherboards). AMD Kaveri APU Lineup Today, AMD is refreshing its line of Kaveri APUs with the launch of three new versions; the A10-7800 ($155), A8-7600 ($101) and A6-7400K ($77). Thi will lower the entry price point to the widely-available FM2 platform for those wanting a Kaveri processor from $153 to $77, which is a substantial price decrease. The Intel Pentium G3258 processor is priced at $69.99 shipped, so the AMD A6-7400 will be priced about $10 higher than an unlocked dual-core Haswell processor from the Intel Pentium series. The flagship APU is still the AMD A10-7850K that has a suggested price of $173, but can be found online for $169.97 shipped. AMD A58 based motherboards like the Gigabyte GA-F@A58M-DS2 start at just $46.99 shipped after rebate, so you can pick up a board and a processor for under $125! Target TDP It should be noted that the AMD A10-7850K and AMD A10-7700K are both 95W TDP parts and that the three new 28nm Kaveri processors are all 65W and 45W TDP parts. How can they be both? AMD has allowed the processors to have a UEFI/BIOS configurable TDP, so you can adjust the TDP depending on what your specific build needs are (see the image above). This impacts the clock speeds of the processor though, so the overall performance of the processor will be different depending on if you choose the 45W or 65W TDP operating mode. AMD A10-7800 Kaveri APU Here is a look at the AMD A10-7800 Kaveri APU. On the Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS) you'll find the model model number, manufacturer date, batch number and where it was made. This particular AMD A10-7800 APU was made on week 15 of 2014 in China. AMD A10-7800 CPU-Z This AMD A10-7800 APU has four CPU cores and eight active GPU cores (512 stream processors since each GPU has 64 shaders), which make this a fully enabled processor, albeit with locked multipliers. The A10-7800 APU has a base CPU frequency of 3.5GHz and max Turbo Core frequency of 3.9GHz, when configured for a 65w TDP. When configured for a 45w TDP, the CPU cores are clocked at 3.3GHz base and 3.8GHz turbo. The GPU is clocked at 720MHz regardless of the TDP power target. AMD A8-7600 APU We also received the AMD A8-7600 APU to test, but this processor was an early engineering sample processor that was made back on week 38 of 2013 in Malaysia. AMD A8-7600 CPU-Z This AMD A8-7600 APU also has four CPU cores, but has only 6 active GPU cores (384 stream processors). The A8-7600 APU has a base CPU frequency of 3.3GHz and max Turbo Core frequency of 3.8GHz, when configured for a 65w TDP. When configured for a 45w TDP, the CPU cores are clocked at 3.1GHz base and 3.3GHz turbo. The GPU is clocked at 720MHz regardless of the TDP power target just like on the AMD A10-7800. AMD A10-7800 APU FM2+ Pins Flipping the processors over you can see that the pins that make up this FM2+ socketed processor. There are 904 pins on a FM2+ socket for those that are curious. ASRock FM2A88x-ITX+ Motherboard Let's take a look at how the AMD A10-7800 and the A8-7600 APUs both perform in our AMD A88X test platform!  

Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We completely overhauled our test setup for the Intel Core i7-4790K processor launch, so we are starting over from scratch when it comes to testing everything. For this review will be comparing an Intel Z97 platform and AMD A88X platform. These platforms are aimed at mainstream users and all feature integrated graphics, so it will be interesting to see how the systems compare. Intel Z97 Test System The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 1204 that came out on 6/20/2014. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 8GB 2133MHz memory kit was set to XMP 1.3 memory profile settings, which is 1.65v with 9-11-11-31 2T memory timings. The Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD uses 19nm NAND and was using M311 firmware.
Pentium G3258 Test System
Here is a quick look at the CPU-Z information for our main test system that we'll be doing the testing on.
Intel LGA1150 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Pentium G3258

Motherboard

ASUS Z97-A Click Here

Memory

8GB Dominator 2133MHz Click Here

Video Card

N/A Click Here

Hard Drive

Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K95 Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M95 Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Operating System

Windows 8.1 64-Bit Click Here
The AMD A88X platform that we used to test the AMD FM2+ processors was running the ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ motherboard with BIOS version L2.25 that was released on 04/16/2014. The latest AMD Catalyst drivers were used which were 14.7 Beta. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 8GB 2133MHz memory kit was set to XMP 1.3 memory profile settings, which is 1.65v with 10-11-11-30 2T memory timings. The Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD uses 19nm NAND and was using M311 firmware. amd-fm2-platform Here is a quick look at the AMD test system CPU-Z screenshots: test-system And finally the components and pricing:
Intel LGA1150 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

AMD A10-7800

Motherboard

ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Click Here

Memory

8GB Dominator 2133MHz Click Here

Video Card

N/A Click Here

Hard Drive

Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD Click Here

Cooling

Noctua NH-L9a Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K95 Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M95 Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Operating System

Windows 8.1 64-Bit Click Here
Let's move along to testing!

SiSoftware Sandra 2014 SP2a

Sisoftware Sandra 2011 SP5

The Sisoft Sandra 2014 SP2a benchmark utility measures pretty much all of your system components, but we'll be using it to focus on memory and CPU performance!

sandra-memory

Results: All processors were testing on a platform with a Corsair 2133MHz 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 memory kit, but there is a major difference between AMD and Intel due to process architecture and how the memory controller works. The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 both have 14 GB/s of memory bandwidth when run at 65W TDP. When you lower the TDP setting down to 45W in the UEFI the memory bandwidth of the processor drops just slightly.

sandra-multi

Results: The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 processors both scores around 75 MPixels/s in the Sandra Multi-Media Processor test. sandra-crypto Results: The Intel Pentium series lacks AES-NI, so the AMD 4th Generation Kaveri APUs do pretty well on this benchmark and the A10-7800 and A8-7600 have a cryptographics bandwidth of around 2 GB/s for this AES benchmark test.

sandra-arith

Results: In the Sandra 2014 SP2a CPU Arithmetic Benchmark the AMD A10-7800 65W TDP processor scored 49 GOPS and the AMD A8-7600 65W TDP processor scored 47.48 GOPS. The budget friendly Intel Pentium G3258 dual-core processor scored 36.67 GOPS, so AMD was able to edge that processor out even with them running on the 45W TDP setting.

x264 HD Encoding

x264
Simply put, the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It's nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test.
x264 HD Encoding Benchmark
This application scales across many threads and is ideal for processors with Intel Hyper-Threading or a bunch of cores. x264 Benchmark Results: The x264 HD v5.0.1 benchmark showed AMD A8-7600 and AMD A10-7800 were both faster than the Intel Pentium G3258 20th Anniversary Dual-Core Processor on the more important and time consuming second pass. We were shocked to find very little performance between the A10-7800 and A8-7600, but keep in mind that the A10-7800 has a modest 100Mhz turbo clock difference and two additional graphics cores that aren't being used in this benchmark.

Euler3d CFD Benchmark

Next up is the STARS Euler3d CFD benchmark. The benchmark is intended to provide information about the relative speed of different processor, operating system, and compiler combinations for a multi-threaded, floating point, computationally intensive CFD code. The benchmark testcase is the AGARD 445.6 aeroelastic test wing. The wing uses a NACA 65A004 airfoil section and has a panel aspect ratio of 1.65, a taper ratio of 0.66, and a 45 degree quarter-chord sweep angle. This AGARD wing was tested at the NASA Langley Research Center in the 16-foot Transonic Dynamics Tunnel and is a standard aeroelastic test case used for validation of unsteady, compressible CFD codes.
euler3d-benchmark
The benchmark CFD grid contains 1.23 million tetrahedral elements and 223 thousand nodes. The benchmark executable advances the Mach 0.50 AGARD flow solution. The Intel Fortran compiler (ifort 10.0) is used and all floating point variables are Fortran's double precision (8 bytes). Parallelization is through OpenMP. The benchmark score is reported as a CFD cycle frequency in Hertz and that is what we used to make out chart.
euler
Benchmark Results: When it comes to a really tough compute workload like the Euler3D Fluid Dynamics benchmark we can see that AMD is still lagging behind the competition by a good amount. The Intel Pentium G3258 dual-core processor scores much better with its two cores versus the four cores available on the AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 quad-core APUs and it actually costs less.

Handbrake

handbrake-gui HandBrake is an open-source, GPL-licensed, multiplatform, multithreaded video transcoder, available for MacOS X, Linux and Windows. It is popular today as it allows you to transcode multiple input video formats to h.264 output format and is highly multithreaded.
Big_buck_bunny
We used Big Buck Bunny as our input file, which has become one of the world standards for video benchmarks. The 1080P clip was used in the MP4 format and the workload is encoded into h.264 output format using the preset - high profile. This benchmark test was setup to give you an idea of how these processors can take a 1080p BD rip and turn it into a 1080p H.264. HandBrake version 0.9.9 was used for benchmarking and we highly encourage you to download this MP4 clip and compare your system to ours with Handbrake!

handbrake

Benchmark Results: HandBrake version 0.9.9 showed that the AMD A8-7600 and AMD A10-7800 APUs were both faster than the Intel Pentium G3258 20th Anniversary Processor when run at either the 45W or 65W TDP setting. The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 averaged about 17FPS over the course of the video render, which is about 4FPS or 31% faster than the Intel Pentium G3258.

PCMark 8

We ran the PCMark 8 Home benchmark, which includes workloads that reflect common tasks for a typical home user. These workloads have low computational requirements making PCMark 8 Home suitable for testing the performance of low-cost tablets, notebooks and desktops. Home includes workloads for web browsing, writing, gaming, photo editing, and video chat. The results are combined to give a PCMark 8 Home score for your system. AMD A8-7600 APU w/ Radeon R7 Graphics: a8-pcmark8 AMD A10-7800 APU w/ Radeon R7 Graphics: a10-pcmark8 Intel Pentium 3258 CPU w/ Intel HD Graphics: Pentium 3258 PCMark8 Intel Core i7-4770K CPU w/ Intel HD Graphics 4600: pcmark8-4770k Intel Core i7-4790K CPU w/ Intel HD Graphics 4600: pcmark8 4970k Benchmark Results: The AMD A10-7800 scored 3322 and the A8-7600 scored 3181 on the PCMark 8 Home Accelerated benchmark.  Intel Pentium G3258 processor scored 2555 and the Intel Core i7-4770K scored 3449, so you can see that AMD does pretty well on this benchmark. If you look at the detailed test results you'll notice that web browsing scores are identical as are the 30 FPS video playback test. The only major differences here are on photo editing, video encoding and of course integrated graphics gaming.

POV-Ray 3.7

Processor Performance on Pov-Ray 3.7: The Persistence of Vision Ray-Tracer was developed from DKBTrace 2.12 (written by David K. Buck and Aaron A. Collins) by a bunch of people (called the POV-Team) in their spare time. It is a high-quality, totally free tool for creating stunning three-dimensional graphics. It is available in official versions for Windows, Mac OS/Mac OS X and i86 Linux. The POV-Ray package includes detailed instructions on using the ray-tracer and creating scenes. Many stunning scenes are included with POV-Ray so you can start creating images immediately when you get the package. These scenes can be modified so you do not have to start from scratch. In addition to the pre-defined scenes, a large library of pre-defined shapes and materials is provided. You can include these shapes and materials in your own scenes by just including the library file name at the top of your scene file and by using the shape or material name in your scene. Since this is free software feel free to download this version and try it out on your own. The most significant change from the end-user point of view between versions 3.6 and 3.7 is the addition of SMP (symmetric multiprocessing) support, which, in a nutshell, allows the renderer to run on as many CPU's as you have installed on your computer. This will be particularly useful for those users who intend on purchasing a dual-core CPU or who already have a two (or more) processor machine. On a two-CPU system the rendering speed in some scenes almost doubles. For our benchmarking we used version 3.7 RC5, which is the most recent version available. The benchmark used all available cores to their fullest extent to complete the render.

Pov-Ray 3.7 RC3

Once rendering on the object we selected was completed, we took the elapsed time from the dialog box, which indicates the exact time it took for the benchmark to finish the benchmark and a score in PPS. We are using the final CPU score for our benchmarks and a higher value indicates faster system performance.

povray

Benchmark Results: The AMD A10-7800 and AMD A8-7600 won't give high-end quad-core processors a challenge, but they were able to perform better than a stock Intel Pentium G3258 Dual-Core Processor.

Cinebench R15

MAXON; CINEBENCH R15:

MAXON CINEBENCH Release 15 is an advanced hardware testing suite that assesses a computer's performance capabilities. CINEBENCH is based on the same powerful technology as MAXON's award-winning animation software CINEMA 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Life of Pi or Prometheus and many more. The new version of CINEBENCH includes the ability to more accurately test the industry’s latest hardware, including systems with up to 64 processor threads, and the testing environment better reflects the expectations of today’s production demands. A more streamlined interface makes testing systems and reading results incredibly straightforward. Again, higher Frames/Second and point score equal better performance.

cinebench benchmark

Cinebench R15 was able to put a 100% load across all the cores on all of the processors, which makes this a great benchmark to look at multi-core platforms.

cinebench-opengl

Benchmark Results: When it comes to OpenGL graphics performance the AMD A10-7800 and AMD A8-7600 did great and performed better than even the Intel Core i7-4790K Devil's Canyon Processor! So, when it comes to OpenGL performance on socketed desktop processors the 4th Gen Kaveri APUs by AMD are dominating things. For those that are wondering, the Intel Core i7 2700K with Intel HD 3000 graphics isn't supported on the OpenGL benchmark. cinebench Benchmark Results: The performance gap between the AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 is very small as both score right around 300 points on all cores and 90 with just a single core running the render test. The Intel Pentium G3258 scores an impressive 127 points in the single processor test thanks to the Haswell CPU architecture it uses.

TrueCrypt

TrueCrypt is a is sort of discontinued, but it was once a widely available freeware utility used for on-the-fly encryption (OTFE). It can create a virtual encrypted disk within a file or encrypt a partition or (under Microsoft Windows except Windows 8 with GPT) the entire storage device (pre-boot authentication). On 28 May 2014, the TrueCrypt website announced that the project was no longer maintained and recommended users to find alternate solutions. Since that announcement was made Thomas Bruderer and Joseph Doekbrijder have stepped forward with plans to revive the project through the truecrypt.ch site, which is offering downloads of TrueCrypt 7.1a – which can encrypt and decrypt data, and was the latest version prior to 7.2. truecrypt-71 We are using the benchmark built-in TrueCrypt 7.1a with default settings to figure out the mean AES speed for each of the processors being tested with a 50MB buffer size. truecrypt Benchmark Results: The Intel Pentium G3258 didn't do too hot on TrueCrypt when it came to the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) benchmark test. This is because the Intel Pentium G3258 does not support the Advanced Encryption Standard New Instruction set (AES-NI). AES-NI are a set of instructions that enable fast and secure data encryption and decryption, so if you run applications that perform bulk encryption/decryption, authentication, random number generation, and authenticated encryption you'll want to be sure to invest in a processor that has AES-NI support. The AMD A8-7600 and A10-7800 APUs were able to perform decently in this test, but we were unable to note a difference between the two processors on the benchmark as there obviously wasn't a large enough clock difference to be had.

3DMark 2013

Futuremark 3DMark Tests

Futuremark 3DMark has three primary benchmark tests that you can run and which test you should be running depends on the system that you are benchmarking on.

Since all of the benchmarks can be run on desktop PCs, we will run each of them on our Intel and AMD processors to see how they stack up. 3dmark Benchmark Results: The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 APUs are able to perform better than the Intel Pentium G3258, but fall short of the other high-end desktop processors that we compared them to in the overall test. We were a bit shocked to see the AMD A8-7600 performing better than the A10-7800 at 45W TDP, but we triple checked the the results were repeatable over various runs and days. We figured the AMD A10-7800 would blow the A8-7600 away with the extra two GPU cores, but clearly that wasn't the case here. Let's take a closer look at 3DMark Cloud Gate as that is the best representative of the integrated graphics performance on these processors: cloudgate Benchmark Results: The AMD 4th Generation A-Series Kaveri APUs with Radeon R7 graphics are able to out the Intel desktop processors we tested at their 65W TDP target and were still competitive. The difference between the A10-7800 and A8-7600 in the two graphics tests was much smaller than we expected.

Metro Last Light w/ Integrated Graphics

 

MetroLL-SS

Metro: Last Light is a first-person shooter video game developed by Ukrainian studio 4A Games and published by Deep Silver. The game is set in a post-apocalyptic world and features action-oriented gameplay with a combination of survival horror elements. It uses the 4A Game engine and was released in May 2013. metroll Metro: Last Light was benchmarked with low image quality settings with the SSAA set to off, Tesselation disabled and and 4x AF. We used the game titles built-in benchmark (seen above) and ran it 3 times at each screen resolution to ensure accurate results. metro Benchmark Results: In Metro: Last Light we found a 1FPS difference between the AMD A10-7800 and the A8-7600 when playing Metro Last Light at 1920x1080 with low image quality settings. The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 were able to perform better than the A10-6800K when set to operate with a 65W TDP power target, but were both slower when set to operate at 45W TDP.

Power Consumption

amd-fm2-platform Power efficiency remains important to PC users and Intel and AMD have both made great strides to improve power efficiencies. On the Intel side we'll be looking at the Core i7-3770K with a TDP of 77W, the Core i7-4770K at 84W, the Core i7-4970K at 88 Watts and the Pentium G3258 at 53 Watts. On the AMD side we'll be lloking at the AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 APUs at both 45W and 65W TDP power targets. power-comsumption Benchmark Results: The results here are the opposite of what we expected as the AMD A8-7600 used more power at idle and load than the AMD A10-7800. The AMD A8-7600 APU that we are using was from 2013 and was an early engineering sample processor, so it appears that AMD has been able to clean things up with the latest retail processor. We will put no weight on the AMD A8-7600 numbers as that are meaningless.  The AMD A10-7800 retail APU has pretty good numbers and averaged just 24 Watts at idle and then 86W when running Handbrake with the 65W TDP setting and 67Watts with the 45W TDP setting. One would expect to see a 20W drop when lowering the TDP by that amount and we saw a 21W drops, which is close enough. The AMD 4th Generation APUs appear to be very competitive on the power front, but if you factor in the performance per watt the tables would once again turn. ppw When you look at performance per watt with regards to our power measurement in Handbrake the Intel Core i7-4790K actually comes out on top. The AMD 4th Generation A-Series APUs have a better performance per watt rating when run with the 45W TDP power target than the 65W TDP power target. AMD did show on their marketing slides that these processors were optimized for 45 Watt operation and this slide might be show the reason why that claim was made.  

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

AMD Kaveri APU Lineup AMD originally announced the 4th Generation A-Series of APUs in January 2014, but for some reason they didn't sample many sites with the AMD A10-7850K and the AMD A10-7700K APUs.  We asked for samples, but we were told that they were out of them. We were able to get our hands on the A8-7600 many months ago, but didn't see a point in reviewing it half a year before they would be available to purchase. We aren't sure what took AMD half a year to bring the additional Kaveri lineup to market, but they are finally here. Is it six months too late? We'll let you be the judge of that. The overall performance of the AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 APU is decent and the AMD A88X FM2+ platform that we tested on was robust and solid. The AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 were a but underwhelming on the CPU side of things, but we found the GPU to be very good. AMD suffering on the CPU side and excelling on the GPU side. That story might should familiar to some as that is how most AMD processor reviews have gone for some time. Applications that are able to use OpenCL or HSA feel quick and snappy, but applications accelerated by other means could always use more processor power. Maybe AMD will help close the CPU performance gap with the Excavator microarchitecture that will be used on the 5th Generation A-Series APU called Carizzo that comes out in 2015. We were very shocked hardly what we would consider a significant difference between the the AMD A10-7800 and A8-7600 in many of the benchmarks. In Handbrake we found the A10-7800 to be 0.3 FPS or 1.8% faster on average in our video transcoding task. That is far from a significant difference and a hard pill to swallow when you consider the price difference. AMD has the the A10-7800 priced at $155, which is $54 or 53% more than the A8-7600 at $101. Between the two processors and what we've seen today we'd have to say that the AMD A8-7600 offers more bang for the buck. The AMD A10-7800 would be recommended though if you plan on doing gaming or GPGPU computing as those two extra GPU cores do come in handy at times. AMD APU Game Bundle There is a launch promotion that AMD also announced today for the AMD A10 APU series that is worth noting. If you purchase an AMD A10 APU you'll get the ability to get a free game key for one of three game titles. You have a choice between Thief, Sniper Elite III and Murdered Soul Suspect. AMD A10-7800 Kaveri APU Legit Bottom Line:  At the end of the day the AMD A-Series of APUs are aimed ad the low-end of the mainstream consumer market and they are decent processors. We aren't sure what took AMD so long to bring them to market, but they are finally here and ready to power your next build!