Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake Aims To Take On Ryzen

Today we are able to show you the benchmark results for the Intel Core i7-8700K and Core i5-8400 6-core Coffee Lake processors! Many enthusiasts have become accustomed to the incremental 5-10 percent speed bump that comes with each new processor generation, but this time its different as Intel increased the core count on the 8th Gen processor series. This is great news as AMD Ryzen 5 and Ryzen 7 processors have done pretty well in the market due to how many cores they have and Intel needed to bring more cores to market. [caption id="attachment_197890" align="aligncenter" width="645"]Intel Coffee Lake Lineup Intel Coffee Lake Lineup[/caption] The six new processors that came out today are the Intel Core i7-8700K, Core i7-8700, Core i5-8600K, Core i5-8400, Core i3-8350K and Core i3-8100. Intel has kept things simple by releasing only six parts and we like that there is a locked and unlocked 'K' sku option for each series. The Intel Core i3 series now consists of true quad-core parts that without Hyper-Threading and Turbo Boost technology. Prices start at $117 for the Core i3-8100 and goes up to $168 for the Core i3-8350K unlocked processor. Moving up to the Intel Core i5 series you'll find these to be 6-core processors that Intel has enabled Turbo Boost 2.0 technology on, but they still lack Intel Hyper-Threading technology. That means you will only get 6-core, 6-thread performance on these processors, but they are affordable. The Intel Core i5-8400 is $182 and the unlocked Core i5-8600K is priced at $257. The Intel Core i5-8400 is going to be a popular processor due to the price point and the fact it has six physical cores running at 2.8GHz base and up to 4.0GHz with Turbo Boost. Next up we have the flagship Core i7 series for the mainstream desktop market and that consists of 6-core, 12-thread parts. Here you'll find that each processor has Intel Hyper-Threading and Turbo Boost 2.0 technology enabled. The Core i7-8700 is aimed at those that aren't interested in overclocking since it's locked and is priced at $303. At $359 there is the Core i7-8700K that has higher base and boost clock speeds and is of course factory unlocked for overclocking fun.
Core i7-8700K Core i7-7700K Core i7-6700K
Intel Series 8th Generation 7th Generation 6th Generation
Architecture Coffee Lake Kaby Lake Skylake
Process Tech 14nm++ 14nm+ 14nm
Cores/Threads 6/12 4/8 4/8
Base Clock 3.7 GHz 4.2 GHz 4.0 GHz
Max Turbo Clock 4.7 GHz 4.5 GHz 4.2 GHz
SmartCache 12MB 8MB 8MB
TDP 95 watt 91 watt 91 watt
Max. Memory 64GB 64GB 64GB
Graphics UHD Graphics 630 HD Graphics 630 HD Graphics 530
Graphics Compute Units 24 24 24
Graphics Clocks 350 - 1200 MHz 350 - 1150 MHz 350 - 1150 MHz
Tray Price $359 $339 $339
One of the major differences between the new Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake processor and the Intel Core i7-7700K  Kaby lake processor is that the new 8700K processor has two extra physical cores! It also is built using the improved 14nm++ FinFET process that has had a number of refinements done for improved clock speeds and thermals. You also have more cache and better integrated graphics to top it off. The biggest difference on the 8th Generation processors though is the fact that they require the use of a new Z370 motherboard. If you currently own an Intel Z270 chipset based board you won't be able to upgrade to any 8th Gen Core processor. Intel will be coming out with B360, H310, H370 and Z370 chipsets, so finding a board for one of the new 8th Gen processors shouldn't be tough. Intel Core i7-8700K CPU-Z

Intel Core i7-8700K Processor Key Features

Intel Core i5-8400 CPU-Z

Intel Core i5-8400K Processor Key Features

  Let's move onto the benchmarks after looking at the test systems on the next page.

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1703 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on nine different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel Z370, Intel X99, Intel X299, AMD AM3+, AMD AM4, AMD X399) in this article, so we'll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings. Intel X299 Platform: The Intel X299 platform that we used for testing consisted of the ASUS X299 Deluxe motherboard. The Corsair Vengeance 32GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H115iwater cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSD. Intel Z370 Platform: The Intel Z370 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7 motherboard with UEFI F4a that came out on 09/22/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Samsung 850 EVO SSD. Intel Z270 Platform: The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.
Intel LGA1151 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Core i7-7700K

Motherboard

Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here

Memory

16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K70 RGB Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Monitor

ASUS VE278Q 27" Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here
Intel Z97 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings. Intel Z77 Platform: The Intel Z77 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Intel X99 Platform: The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings. AMD AM3+  Platform: The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Laptops:  Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms. Let's take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake Overclocking

Overclocking the Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake processor on the Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 motherboard ($249.99) with BIOS Version F4a is super simple and the Graphical User Interface (GUI) was easy to navigate and find what you needed to get to. There were a few minor issues we found on this early pre-public UEFI build and hopefully they'll get them patched up on the next release version. 5100MHz Cinebench We overclocked our Intel Core i7-8700K Processor up to 5.1 GHz by just raising the multiplier in the UEFI and changing no other settings. In just seconds we were running on the desktop and able to benchmark at 5.1 GHz with full stability. 5200MHz Cinebench We pushed on and was able to hit 5.2 GHz by increased the multiplier up to 52x and changing nothing else in the UEFI. We could still run some benchmarks, but we wouldn't call the system fully stable. 8700k 5300mhz Just for fun we wanted to see if we could get into Windows and run any benchmarks at 5300MHz and we were amazed that we could get 5.3 GHz to boot and we were on the desktop at those clock speeds. It wasn't stable enough to run Cinebench, but it was running! After hitting 5.3 GHz and having some fun we got serious and started to monitor the temperatures closely to see if we were thermally throttling. The Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler ($114.99) is a pretty decent with its extra-thick 240mm radiator and dual SP120L fans, but we noticed that we were getting up over 95C on the individual cores. The Intel Core i7-8700K idles at a super cool 23-26C per core and then when the cores start running at 5,100 MHz they instantly jump up to around 90C, so good cooling is going to be needed for overclocking. When we were running the AIDA64 stress test we noticed that the Package TDP hit 133 Watts (stock we only hit 75 Watts) and we did see on the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility (XTU) that the 8700K was thermal throttling. The good news is that despite XTU flickering the Thermal Throttling notice the clock speed and core voltage didn't show that they were dropping. Due to temperature concerns we were more than happy with our 5.1 GHz overclock on the Core i7-8700K and it was solid enough to run every benchmark in our test suite at those speeds. That means we'll be including benchmark results on the 8700K at stock speeds and all cores at 5.1GHz for this review!

Memory Bandwidth Benchmarks

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 SP3 Memory Bandwidth: link

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 is a utility, which includes remote analysis, benchmarking and diagnostic features for PCs, servers, mobile devices and networks. This test has been popular for CPU and memory benchmarks for well over a decade and it is one of the easiest benchmarks out there to run. sandra 8700k Memory Bandwidth Results Summary: The Intel Core i7-8700K processor with the Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz memory kit with CL15 timings gave us about 32.6 GB/s of memory bandwidth on Sandra. This is about 1 GB/s higher than we got with the same exact kit on the Intel Core i7-7700K processor, so we are happy with that. The issue we ran into was actually on the Intel Core i5-8400 processor. On the Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 motherboard with BIOS Version F4a we were unable to run anything higher than 2666MHz memory for some reason. We tried both sets of slots, manual and XMP settings and eventually five different memory kits from Corsair and G.Skill. We reached out to Gigabtye and other reviewers and found that some weren't having issues and others were on this board and processor, so we'll be looking into that closer after launch.

Real World Benchmarks

Dolphin 5.0 x64 Emulator Benchmark: link

The long awaited Dolphin 5.0 release happened in 2016 and thanks to a major cleaning up of the codebase Dolphin has reached a new level of efficiency, powered by a revitalized dynamic recompiler. Dolphin is considered by many to be the best Nintendo Wii emulator for PC you can find. It also works for Gamecube. We are running the official Dolphin 5.0 benchmark as it offers closer mapping to real world Dolphin performance as the previous version was extremely floating point heavy. We feel this is a pretty good general CPU benchmark for real world performance as emulation workloads are something that most gamers will run at one point or another.  We benchmark the standard Wii homebrew application and run it with the speed limit set to 'unlimited' and the External Frame Buffer set to 'real' in case you wanted to run this on your personal system.

Agisoft Photoscan 1.2.6 x64 - 2D to 3D Image Manipulation Benchmark: link

Agisoft PhotoScan is a stand-alone software product that performs photogrammetric processing of 2D digital images and generates 3D spatial data to be used in GIS applications, cultural heritage documentation, and visual effects production as well as for indirect measurements of objects of various scales. We us the 50 images from the 'Building' sample data download page for our benchmark. We take the total time it takes to complete four steps: Align Photos, Build Dense Cloud, Build Model, Build Texture with all the default settings for each.

KeyShot 6.3 - 3D Rendering and Animation: link

KeyShot 3D rendering and animation software is one of the fastest, easiest way to create amazing, photographic visuals of your 3D data. We installed KeyShot 6.3 to do some benchmarking and real-world stress testing using the camera_benchmark.bip scene that is included with the application. This benchmark tests a 800x554 pixel image with a continuous sample rate and shows the Frames Per Second (FPS) that the scene is being rendered from. This scene has nearly 42,000 triangles and does a good job at using all available cores to render the scene.

Blender 2.78a Open Source 3D Creation Benchmark: link

Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation. We use the BMW CPU Benchmark (CCO, 3MB) created by Mike Pan for our testing. Real World Benchmark Results Summary: When it comes to our 'real world' benchmark tests we found the Intel Core i7-8700K processor in stock form does great in stock form and in a monster when overclocked to 5.1GHz on Blender, Keyshot and Photoscan. Our Blender workload had the 8700K behind the 7700K by a tad bit at stock and overclocked settings. Odd, but Dolphin is a lightly threaded that

Media Encoding & Encryption Benchmarks

HandBrake v1.0.1 - link

HandBrake is an open-source, GPL-licensed, multiplatform, multithreaded video transcoder, available for MacOS X, Linux and Windows. It is popular today as it allows you to transcode multiple input video formats to h.264 output format and is highly multithreaded. We used Big Buck Bunny as our input file, which has become one of the world standards for video benchmarks. For our benchmark scenario we used a standard 2D 4K (3840x2160) 60 FPS clip in the MP4 format and used Handbrake version 1.0.1 to do two things. We used the new Fast 1080p30 preset to shrink that down to a 1920 x 1080 video clip to reduce the file size. This is something people often do to save space to put movies onto mobile devices. We also ran the workload using the normal preset as it puts the CPU at a higher load than the Fast 1080p30 preset as it keeps it at 4K.

X264 HD Encoding - link

the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It’s nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test.

Cinegy Cinescore 10.4 Professional Video Encoding Benchmark:

The broadcast and media industry needs benchmarks that are meaningful and relevant. Cinegy Cinescore uses many commonly used professional quality codecs to measure the encoding speed of a system. This sets expectations of how many channels a given machine can capture, how suitable it is for e.g. UHD editing, or which speed can be expected to do transcode jobs. Cinegy Cinescore covers a fair number of commonly used formats and codecs and measures the encoding speed as well as the system load for doing that for the different target resolutions - HD, UHD and 8K. Media Encoding Benchmark Results Summary: Simply impressive results from the Intel Core i7-8700K processor in both stock and overclocked forms. The 8700K is trading blows with the Intel Core i7-6900K and 6950X in many of the benchmarks, so to see a $359 processor competing against the last generations $1,000 processor is going to make many enthusiasts happy. The new Cingey Cinescore benchmarks that we just added to our test suite about a month ago to show 8K video results, so it doesn't have all the processors on there, but it shows that the Intel Core i7-8700K does pretty well against the Intel Core i9-7900X and AMD Threadripper 1920X & 1950X processors with regards to 1080P, 4K and 8K video!

VeraCrypt 1.19 - link

VeraCrypt is an open-source disk encryption software brought to you by IDRIX and is a fork based on the discontinued TrueCrypt 7.1a utility. The developers claim that weaknesses found in TrueCrypt have been resolved with the VeraCrypt project. This is a popular utility used by people that don't want to use Microsoft's built-in encyption tool for Windows 10 called Bitlocker. Encryption Benchmark Results Summary: If encryption is something you do, you'll find having more cores and threads to be very beneficial as you can see from the results above. The Intel Core i5-8400 is comparable to the AMD Ryzen 7 1800X processor that has 2 more physical cores and multi-threading capabilities, so it  goes to show how far ahead Intel is on this type of workloads. The Intel Core i7-8700K is comparable to the Intel Core i7-6950X processor in stock form and overclocked it was faster than a stock Intel Core i7-7900X processor!

3DMark & Cinebench

Futuremark 3DMark 2.2.3509 - link

3DMark is a popular gaming performance benchmark that includes everything you need to benchmark your PC whether you're gaming on a desktop PC, laptop, notebook, or a tablet. 3DMark includes seven benchmark tests and we'll be running 'Sky Diver' that is aimed at gaming laptops and mid-range PCs.

Maxon Cinebench R15.038 - link 

CINEBENCH is a real-world cross platform test suite that evaluates your computer's performance capabilities. CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software Cinema 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Life of Pi or Prometheus and many more. 3DMark and Cinebench Benchmarks Results Summary: Moving up to 6-cores on the Intel Core i7-8700K has really helped this processor perform well. In Cinebench R15 we were getting 996 points multi and 198 points single on the Core i7-7700K. The new Core i7-8700K gets 1439 multi and 205 single in stock form and 1653 multi and 219 single when overclocked to 5,100 MHz on all cores. This is a massive performance jump and to think that the 8700K is coming out just 10 months after the 7700K was released! The Intel Core i5-8400's multi-cpu score of 962 has it just below a stock Core i7-7700K,  so that $182 6-core processor has some great performance for the price.  The extra cores on the 8700K and 8400 processors also help on the 3DMark Fire Strike Physics tests and we see more solid scores on that benchmark.

Discrete GPU Gaming Performance

Thief

Thief is a series of stealth video games in which the player takes the role of Garrett, a master thief in a fantasy/steampunk world resembling a cross between the Late Middle Ages and the Victorian era, with more advanced technologies interspersed. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix on February 25, 2014. We picked this game title for CPU testing as it is known to scale well with CPUs. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. Set in a cyberpunk-themed dystopian world in 2029, two years after the events of Human Revolution, Mankind Divided features the return of Adam Jensen from the previous game, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with new technology and body augmentations. The game was released on August 23rd, 2016 for PC users and we are using it to show DX12 performance on the CPUs that we tested. DX12 removed most all of the CPU overhead, so we wanted to see what happens to performance on DX12 game titles as well. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; DX12 enabled, exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz, medium graphics. Discrete Gaming Benchmarks Results Summary: These might not have been the best game titles to pick for benchmark, but at the time we wanted simple and repeatable benchmarks to show 1080P gaming performance. (Yes, we regret picking them now) It looks like we've hit a wall on Deus Ex: Mankind Divided where we are GPU limited and the Thief results show barely any difference between the 7700K and 8700K in stock form, but when both were overclocked to 5.1GHz the 8700K mysteriously pulls ahead by over 10 FPS on average. We ran that benchmark 5 times, restarted the system and the results were the same. The sub $200 Intel Core i5-8400 was on the upper half of the chart and looks like it would make a solid gaming processor with 6-physical cores. 

Power Consumption

No review is complete without taking a look at power and the Intel Core i7-8700K did as we expected it would for a 95W TDP processor. At idle the Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake platform used 40.1 W at idle and that is impressive as includes the Gigabyte Z370 motherboard,  NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 FE video card, SATA III SSD and the Corsair Hydro water cooler. The 8400 basically idled at the same power, but used less at load. For example the 8700K processor topped out at 145W in Handbrake whereas the 8400 only reached 106 Watts on the same workload.

Intel Core i7-8700K and Core i5-8400 Stock Temperatures

We fired up the AIDA64 System Stability Test for 5 minutes and found that we had an idle temp of 25-26C and a load temp of up to 26C on the individual CPU cores on the Core i7-8700K.  The CPU Package Power was only showing 75 Watts! We repeated the test on the Intel Core i5-8400 and found an idle temp of 25-28C and a load temp of up to 45C on the individual CPU cores.  The CPU Package Power was showing that we topped out at 46 Watts on this system stability test.   Let's wrap up this review!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The Intel Core i7-8700K was an exciting processor to benchmark and overclock as Coffee Lake drastically improves performance at a minimal price increase. For $20 more than a 4-core, 8-thread Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake processor you can now get a 6-core, 12-thread processor that overclocks just as good. We we blown away by the fact that we could get 5.1GHz stable on all six cores as that is what we could get on the 7700K quad-core processor! If you are an enthusiast wanting the best processor for the new Z370 motherboards the Intel Core i7-8700K is the clear choice! If you are still holding onto an older Intel Sandy Bridge platform the new Coffee Lake platform is going to bring you massive performance increases. In some benchmarks we were seeing close to double the performance over stock 2700K Sandy Bridge processor with the new 8700K Cofeee Lake processor. Motherboards in general have come a long way since the old Z77 days, so moving to a Z370 board will bring you all sorts of refinements that you will most certainly enjoy. The Intel Core i5-8400 6-core processor at $180 is a very interesting part as it has six physical cores at an impressive price point. Our chip or test platform was giving us some issues with getting over 2800 MHz and beyond memory up and running on it, but we think that will be sorted out with a UEFI update shortly. Once that gets figured out we'll certainly be taking a closer look at this processor as it might be the one to have for a budget gaming box build for the forseeable future. Popular game titles like PUBG can benefit from six cores, so we think many gamers will be eyeing this CPU. When it comes to pricing the new 8th Gen Intel Core processors cost only slightly more than the older 7th Gen Intel Core processors and compete well against AMD's Ryzen 3/5/7 processors. Intel Core i7-8700K 6-core = $359 Intel Core i7-8700 6-core = $303 Intel Core i5-8600K 6-core = $257 Intel Core i5-8400 6-core = $182 Intel Core i3-8350 4-core = $168 Intel Core i3-8100 4-core = $117 Intel has some really good processors in their 8th Generation Core processor series and should certainly have some of you wanting to upgrade! LR Recommended Award Legit Bottom Line: The Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake processor brings impressive performance gains to the table thanks to having two additional physical cores!