GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Gets The ASUS ROG STRIX Treatment

Since the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti was released in October 2016 it has become one of the most desirable cards to have for 1080P gaming due to be priced around $150. Over the past the past seven months there have been many driver updates, so we wanted to take a fresh look at a GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB graphics card to see how they perform. We managed to get our hands on an ASUS GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics card that retails for $169.99 shipped on Amazon or $154.99 shipped on Newegg (after a $10 rebate card). Not everyone wants to spend $200+ on a graphics card nor do they plan on doing Virtual Reality gaming or anything other than gaming on a 1080P display, so a an affordable mainstream card like this could be a good fit. If you play on a 1080P monitor and play game titles like Overwatch, Skyrim or CS:GO a GeForce GTX 1050 Ti has enough power to get you over that 60 FPS threshold with respectable image quality settings. You also get all the latest NVIDIA technologies like Ansel, G-Sync and more. ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Video Card The new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti uses the GP107 'Pascal' GPU and it features 768 CUDA that have a base clock of 1290 MHz and a boost clock of 1392 MHz on NVIDIA's reference design. The 4GB of GDDR5 memory operates on a 128-bit bus at 7 Gbps for 112.1 GB/sec of memory bandwidth on the reference design. Those clock speeds are all fine and dandy, but for this ASUS ROG product they pushed the limits a bit and factory overclocked the GPU base clock up to 1380 MHz with a boost clock of 1493 MHz in gaming mode (default and what we tested) or at 1392 MHz base and 1506 MHz boost in an optional OC mode that you can enable enable with the GPU Tweak II Utility. When you use the default settings the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition boasts a 7% increase in the boost and base clock clock to help supercharge the cards gaming abilities. ASUS did not overclock the cards 4GB of GDDR5 memory, so it is left at 7 Gbps (7000 MHz effective) although you should be able to easily overclock that on your own if you'd like. ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition is a dual-slot graphics card that measures 9.5-inches in length and 5.1" in height, so it should easily fit inside most all PC cases. ASUS went with an all black color scheme that looks pretty good with a plastic fan shroud. ASUS ROG STRIX-GTX1050TI-O4G-GAMING When it comes to the fan design ASUS went with a DirectCU II GPU cooler with direct-GPU contact heatpipes. Above the heatsink you'll find two wing-blade 0dB fans that deliver more static pressure over the heatsink than standard fans and they are 3x quieter than the standard reference card.  ASUS went with a 4+1 digital multi-phase Super Alloy Power II power delivery system, which is said to increase efficiency, reduce power loss and improve thermal levels. This card also features ASUS AURA SYNC lighting for those that wanted to do some advanced lighting effects. Between the two fans this ROG Strix graphics card has a small RGB light that is capable of displaying millions of colors and six different effects for a personalized gaming system.
  • Static - Always on
  • Breathing - Fades in & out
  • Strobing - Flashing on & Off
  • Color Cycle - Fades between colors of the rainbow
  • Music effect - Pulses to the beat of your music
  • GPU temperature - Changes color with GPU load
Having the AURA SYNC lighting feature is nice, but the ROG logo is rather small and it is the only lighting on the card. Once you get past the small size it is a nice little feature and RGB lights have been in demand in recent years.
ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti Backplate On the back of the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition you'll find a full coverage aluminum backplate to help keep the back of the card protected and to help add rigidity to keep the PCB from bending. This is a nice touch for a card in the $150-$170 price range as not too many cards have a backplate for this price. No thermal pads are on the back of the PCB to help with heat dissipation. Along the top edge of the card you'll find the you'll see a single 6-pin PCIe power connector configuration to ensure the Pascal GP107 GPU gets all the power that it needs.  ASUS recommends a 300 Watt or greater power supply for proper operation, so if you are upgrading an older system you likely don't have any power supply concerns with this card.   ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition Video Outputs When you comes to video outputs for display connectivity you have one regular sized DisplayPort, one HDMI 2.0 and two DVI-D connectors. The maximum resolution supported on the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti is 7680x4320 and that would be Ultra HD 8K Resolution for those that don't know what the number means. Let's take a look at the test system and then run the benchmarks!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used as we switched over to a new system in April 2017 when Windows 10 Creators Update was released. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit version 1703 and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running.  There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago. Video Cards & Drivers used for testing:

Intel X99 Platform

The Intel X99 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS X99-E-10G WS motherboard with BIOS 0603  that came out on 03/15/2017. We went with the Intel Core i7-6950X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform and overclocked it up to 4.0GHz on all cores. The Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 memory kit we used was a 64GB kit (4x16GB) and while it is rated at 3600MHz we actually ran it at 3333MHz at 1.30V with 16-16-16-30 1T memory timings. The Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair RM1000x power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements. Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:
The Intel X99 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor Intel Core i7-6950X
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E-10G WS
Memory
64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600MHz DDR4
Video Card Various
Solid-State Drive Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Case HighSpeed PC Top Deck Tech Station
Operating System Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor ASUS PB287Q 28" 4K
ASUS Geforce GTX 1050Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition GPU-Z Info: Let's move on to the Battlefield 1 benchmark results!

Battlefield 1

Battlefield 1 (also known as BF1) is the fifteenth installment in the Battlefield Series developed by DICE and published by EA. The game is set during World War I. It was released world wide on October 21, 2016. The singleplayer campaign of Battlefield 1 takes place across six different "War Stories" which revolve around different people in different aspects of the Great War in campaigns such as the Italian Alps and the deserts of Arabia. We benchmark in Through Mud and Blood, which is the second mission in singleplayer campaign. Taking place late in the war, the player assumes the role of Danny Edwards, a British recruit joining the crew of a Mark V Landship named Black Bess as their new tank driver. New to the war and inexperienced in driving the unreliable vehicle, Edwards is given a trial by fire with his first mission: punch through the German line at Cambrai with a broken tank and a crew that has no trust in him. BF1 Through Mud and Blood Battlefield 1 features the Frostbite 3 game engine and has very good graphics with tons of destructibles. Maps also now feature dynamic weather systems, affecting combat in various ways; for example, The St. Quentin Scar can either start as a clear, sunny day, a dark, foggy day, or in the middle of a rainstorm, and switch between them during the round. Battlefield 1 Video Card Settings Battlefield 1 Advanced Video Card Settings We tested BF1 at 1920 x 1080 with the 'Ultra' graphics quality preset in DX12 with the GPU Memory Restriction turned off. We also disabled VSync. Benchmark Results: Battlefield 1 is pretty tough on graphics cards with the Ultra image quality preset, but we were still able to average 48 FPS on 1080P on the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition. When we cranked up the screen resolution to 2560x1440 our performance dropped down to 33 FPS, so you can see this card is certainly not aimed at those gamers. 

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. Set in a cyberpunk-themed dystopian world in 2029, two years after the events of Human Revolution, Mankind Divided features the return of Adam Jensen from the previous game, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with new technology and body augmentations. The game was released on August 23rd, 2016 for PC users. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Train Station Deus Ex: Mankind Divided uses a heavily modified version of the Glacier 2 engine that has been tweaked so much that they are now calling it the Dawn game engine. We took a look at GPU performance using the 'High' image quality preset with MSAA and VSync turned off. We picked to run just 'High' image quality settings due to how tough this game title is to render and we feel that most gamers will try to target this setting. Benchmark Results: This is a newer DX12 game title and with the high image quality preset we were getting 39 FPS at 1080P on the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition. Once again you'll need to back down the image quality to get smooth graphics performance. Moving up to the GeForce GTX 1060 6GB graphics card will give you 60+ FPS averages at 1080P, so the performance difference between the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti and GeForce GTX 1060 is pretty wide, but so is the price. 

Gears of War 4

Gears of War is a video game franchise created and originally owned by Epic Games, developed and managed by The Coalition, and owned and published by Microsoft Studios. The series focuses on the conflict between humanity, the subterranean reptilian hominids known as the Locust Horde, and their mutated counterparts, the Lambent & the Swarm. Gears of War 4 was released on October 11, 2016 for the PC and is an interesting game title in the sense that it must be run on Windows 10 Anniversary Edition. It uses the DirectX 12 API with features like async compute and tiled resources. Gears of War 4 Screenshot Microsoft and the developer (The Coalition) have worked hard to make the PC port not suck and have placed over 30 graphics cards settings in the option menu with over 100-plus options that you can adjust. We are using the ultra image quality preset with VSync turned off. Gears of War 4 Graphics Options Gears of War 4 Graphics Options Gears of War 4 comes with a built-in benchmark that appears to be pretty decent and shows the average minimum framerate (bottom 5%) in the results. This is the benchmark that we ran on our graphics cards with Ultra image quality settings to see how they would perform. 1440P Benchmark Results: The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition averaged 51 FPS on Gears of War 4 at the Ultra Preset and was actually pretty smooth at that setting despite dropping down into the low 40's at a couple spots. Once again this is one of those game titles that you'll need to drop the image quality from Ultra to get a really smooth gaming experience across all the game scenes.  

Fallout 4

Fallout4 Fallout 4 is an open world action role-playing video game developed by Bethesda Game Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 4 is set in a post-apocalyptic Boston in the year 2287, 210 years after a devastating nuclear war, in which the player character emerges from an underground bunker known as a Vault. Gameplay is similar to Fallout 3.  The title is the fifth major installment in the Fallout series and was released worldwide on November 10th, 2015. fallout4 settings Fallout 4 was benchmarked with ultra image quality settings with TAA and 16x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. V-Sync can't be disabled in the games options, so we edited the necessary INI files and disabled vsync in the driver software as well. We used FRAPS to benchmark Fallout 4 after you emerge from the vault and are in The Commonwealth. Benchmark Results: Finally! This is the first game title that we have tested that the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition was able to average 60 FPS on and we managed to do it with Ultra image quality settings to boot. 

Grand Theft Auto V

GTAV Grand Theft Auto V, currently one of the hottest PC games, was finally released for the PC on April 14, 2015.  Developed by Rockstar, it is set in 2013 and the city of Los Santos.  It utilizes the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) which Rockstar has been using since 2006, with multiple updates for technology improvements. GTA5-settings GTA5-settings2 In Grand Theft Auto V we set the game to run with no MSAA with 16x AF and high image quality settings as we didn't want the GPU to bottleneck the system too bad, but wanted a setup that your average gamer would actually play on. We used the games built-in benchmark utility to have at least one game we used that could be compared to your setup at home. We averaged all the five of the default benchmark runs and omitted both the minimum and maximum values as those results are garbage due to major inconsistencies. Benchmark Results: The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics card made short of GTAV and we were able to average above 60 FPS at both 1080P and 1440P display resolutions. Over 47,000 gamers are playing GTAV on steam right now and if they had a GeForce GTX 1050 Ti they could be playing it at 1080P with silky smooth game play! 

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands is an open world tactical shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Paris. It is the tenth installment in the Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon franchise and is the first Ghost Recon game to feature an open world environment. The game moves away from the futuristic setting introduced in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter and instead feature a setting similar to the original Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon. Ubisoft described it as one of the biggest open world games that they have ever published, with the game world including a wide variety of environments such as mountains, forests, deserts and salt flats. A modified version of the AnvilNext game engine was used.  The game was released on March 7, 2017 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Ghost Recon Wildlands Image Quality Settings Ghost Recon Wildlands Image Quality Settings Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands was benchmarked with high image quality settings with Temporal AA and 4x AF. V-Sync and the framerate limit were both disabled and we used the game titles built-in game benchmark. 1080P Benchmark Results: Ghost Recon Wildlands is a very tough game title when it comes to graphics and at 1080P with just the high preset we were getting around 45 FPS on the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition. Dropping down the image quality one preset will get you over the 60 FPS mark, so not a bad performance number from a card that will run you around $150. 

3DMark Time Spy - DX12

3DMark Time Spy just recently came out and it is the latest and greatest DirectX 12 benchmark test for gaming PCs running Windows 10. This DirectX 12 Feature Level 11_0 benchmark utilizes a pure DirectX 12 game engine that supports features like asynchronous compute, explicit multi-adapter, and multi-threading! The developers opted to use DirectX 12 Feature Level 11_0 to ensuring wide compatibility with DirectX 11 hardware through DirectX 12 drivers. 3DMark Time Spy With DirectX 12 on Windows 10, game developers can significantly improve the multi-thread scaling and hardware utilization of their titles to draw more objects, textures and effects for your viewing enjoyment. 3DMark Fire Strike is a great high-end DirectX 11 benchmark test, but doesn't really show off what new graphics cards can do on a DirectX 12 game title that will have much more going on while you are playing. 3DMark Time Spy Settings We ran 3DMark Time Spy with the standard settings and got the following results: In this DX12 benchmark we see the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition came in with a score of 2,790 points.

VRMark

VRMark is a relatively new benchmark aimed at those that might be thinking about buying an HTC Vive or an Oculus Rift and knowing what hardware will give them the best VR gaming experience. VRMark includes two VR benchmark tests that run on your monitor, no headset required, or on a connected HMD. At the end of each test, you'll see whether your PC is VR ready, and if not, how far it falls short.

The Orange Room benchmark shows the impressive level of detail that can be achieved on a PC that meets the recommended hardware requirements for the HTC Vive and Oculus Rift. If your PC passes this test, it's ready for the two most popular VR systems available today. The orange room rendering resolution is 2264 x 1348, which is 1132 x 1348 per eye and the target desktop frame rate is 109 FPS.
Benchmark Results: The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition never claimed to be a VR ready graphics card and you can see why it was never marketed as being one. The goal in this benchmark is to get 109 FPS as that is the number deemed 'needed' for VR gaming. Our 87 FPS result doesn't meet that desired performance threshold.  The Blue Room is designed to be a more intense test with a rendering resolution of 5012 x 2880 (5K) and the goal is for a desktop PC to maintain a consistent frame rate of 109 FPS or above without dropping frames to pass this test. Benchmark Results: None of our cards can get close to passing this test and the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition gets hammered. 

SuperPosition Benchmark

UNIGINE introduced the Superposition Benchmark in April 2017 and it contains a benchmark based on the UNIGINE 2 Engine that is pretty tough on modern graphics cards. We ran the SuperPosition Benchmark performance test with the 1080P High preset. The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition has an overall score of 3,919 points. The FPS results might have more meaning for our readers, so here is a chart that shows those results. As you can see we are getting 29 FPS on average on the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics card.

Temperature & Noise Testing

The gaming performance on a graphics card is the most important factor in buying a card, but you also need to be concerned about the noise, temperature and power consumption numbers. ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition Idle and Load Temps: When it comes to temperatures we were seeing 40C idle with no fans spinning and 58C at load on the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics card. The fan speeds got up to 44% and that had the fans running at 1090 RPM. You could barely hear the fans running on the open test bench over the water cooler, so inside a case it should be barely audible if you get decent airflow. When it comes to GPU temperatures ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition comes in much cooler than the others at load. Note that all four cards have 0dB fans at idle that did not spin.

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

When it comes to noise levels the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics cards the card is one of the quietest of the bunch.

Power Consumption

For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 1 at 1920 x 1080 and recorded the peak power number while gaming a particular level that we test on each card. Our idle numbers are high, but keep in mind that we are using a workstation motherboard that has two 10GbE ports and other high-power draw controllers on it. Power Consumption Results: With the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition video card installed in the system we topped out at 260 Watts when running BF1 at 1080P resolutions. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti reference card uses just 75 Watts of power, so this is a really power efficient card. 

ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti ROG STRIX Overclocking

The ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB ROG STRIX OC Edition graphics card is already factory overclocked, but we wanted more performance and manually overclocked it to get more performance from the card. We kept our overclock simple and didn't mess with the core voltage or extreme cooling. We just opened up our favorite overclocking utility and pushed up the core and memory clock speeds as far are we could until we got stability problems. We managed to reach 1465MHz on the back clock, 1578 MHz on the boost clock and 2002 MHz on the memory clock. With these setting you easily hit the 1911MHz overclocking cap that NVIDIA placed on this card on the 768 CUDA cores as well as the 2002 MHz (8Gbps) memory limitation. NVIDIA told us half a year ago that they may remove the overclocking limitations on the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti cards, but that clearly never happened. ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti ROG STRIX Stock: ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti ROG STRIX Overclocked (+85MHz/+500MHz): By overclocking the ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti ROG STRIX graphics card we were able to take the score of 2,790 points on 3DMark Time Spy and raise it up to 2,918. This is a 128 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 4.6 percent. In real game titles we found about the same performance increase. For example in Ghost Recon: Wildlands our 1080P gaming performance went up 5.3%. Let's wrap this review up!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1050 Ti STRIX 4GB graphics card doesn't have performance that is going to blow you away, but it is respectable and this is a pretty decked out card. The custom board design looks well done with no choke noise, the DirectCU II cooling solution is quiet and the RGB lighting is a nice touch. Let's face it, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti is a nice card, but there is only so much that you can do with 768 CUDA cores. ASUS did everything they could do to this model to make it be the best it can be and we are pleased with how this card ended up. Since ASUS did everything they could to this card to make it awesome you'll be paying extra for it. The lowest priced GeForce GTX 1050 Ti right this second is the EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Gaming 4GB at $129.99 shipped after a $10 rebate. It has lower clock speeds and no neat features that make it stand out from the crowd at that price. The ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1050 Ti STRIX 4GB  that we reviewed here today is $154.99 shipped on Newegg after a $10 rebate or $169.99 shipped on Amazon. You are basically paying $25 more for the factory overclock and added features that we talked about. The EVGA card can be overclocked up to the ASUS levels, but it lacks many of the neat features that the ASUS ROG STRIX model has. The DirectCU II cooler, RGB lighting and ASUS FanConnect are all nice little features that grow on you after you use the card for some time. If your going to keep this card for a number of years it might be worth paying a premium for. ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Video Card That said, the AMD Radeon RX 570 series cards generally range in price from $179 up to $235 at this time and that is before any rebates are factored in. There is a big difference in performance between the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti and the Radeon RX 570 as you saw in our performance charts. If you're spending $155 why not just spend another $25 and get a Radeon RX 570. Those little $25 jumps in price can really get you! At the end of the day the ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1050 Ti STRIX 4GB is a magnificent graphics card that should give you reliable performance for years to come. The only issue with the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti is if it will have enough power for your gaming needs today and in the future. It struggles to play all triple A gaming titles at 1080P with high image quality settings today and there is no multi-GPU upgrade path for you down the road as NVIDIA did not enable SLI support on this series. If that doesn't concern you and you just want to upgrade from that old crappy video card that keeps getting you killed in the games then you might have just found your next graphics card! LR Recommended Award Legit Bottom Line: The ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1050 Ti STRIX 4GB is one of the nicest GeForce GTX 1050 Ti models around for those 1080P gamers on a budget.