AMD Ryzen 5 1600X - Overclocking to 4.1GHz With No Manual Voltage Increase

A recent trip to the local Micro Center location in St. Louis, Missouri showed that all the AMD Ryzen 5 6-core processors were sold out and rightly so as the Ryzen 5 1600X and Ryzen 5 1600 are both exceptional values. The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X is the flagship processor of the Ryzen 5 series and boasts 6-cores and 12-threads of processing goodness at over 4GHz clock speeds for just $249.99. AMD released the first quad-core processor (Phenom II X4) in January 2009, so many enthusiasts are ready to add more cores to their system here in 2017. No wonder they are sold out locally! AMD Ryzen 1600X Sold Out The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X CPU is a 95W TDP part that comes without a HSF, so you'll need to purchase your own CPU cooler. The Ryzen 5 1600X has a base clock speed of 3.6GHz and can run all the way up to 4.1GHz thanks to AMD's eXtended Frequency Range (XFR) technology. This processor is priced $90 less than the Intel Core i7-7700K quad-core processor ($339.99 shipped) and should do better in multi-threaded workloads or when multi-tasking in general. AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Stock Specs We already showed you the performance of a stock AMD Ryzen 5 1600X processor, but what about overclocked up to the max? AMD Ryzen 5 1600X CPU-Z Stock We were able to push the limits of our AMD Ryzen 5 1600X processor and was able to increase the all-core clock speed from 3.7GHz all the way up to 4.1GHz on this 6-core CPU! To do this we just increased the clock frequency in the UEFI on the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium motherboard as we didn't even need to increase the CPU Voltage as the board was already running the 1600X at 1.380V according to CPU-Z! Most AMD Ryzen 5 1600X processors seem to do 4.0 to 4.2 GHz on all cores with a decent motherboard and CPU cooler, so we are happy with 4.1GHz. AMD Ryzen 5 1600X CPU-Z Overclocked We tried to go beyond 4.1GHz by manually increasing the Voltage, but we were unable to get 4.2GHz stable at over 1.45V on the 1600X and we didn't want to go beyond that Voltage. We also noted that the CPU temperature was spiking beyond 80C while using the Corsair Hydro Series H110i Extreme Performance liquid CPU Cooler ($134.99) and that is hot enough for most. If you wanted to use more exotic cooling methods you might be able to get the Ryzen 5 1600X processor up to nearly 6GHz! Overclocking expert der8auer used LN2 cooling on a Ryzen 5 1600X processor and was able to reach 5.9GHz on one of these processors with 6C/12T enabled! Pretty impressive results and it just goes to show that these processors have more than 4.0-4.2 GHz in them if you wanted to use extreme cooling techniques. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZ0SxpGzbw0 Let's take a look at the test system and then take a look at our benchmark results. 

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on five different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel X99, AMD A4 and AMD AM3+) in this article, so we'll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings. AMD Ryzen Test System The AMD AM4 platform that we used to test the Ryzen 5/7 series processors was running the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium Motherboard with UEFI 1.50 that came out on 4/19/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 2933MHz with 14-14-14 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply and a Corsair Force MP500 480GB PCIe SSD. A Corsair Hydro Series H110 water cooler for this review. Core i7-7700K Test System Picture The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.
Intel LGA1151 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Core i7-7700K

Motherboard

Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here

Memory

16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K70 RGB Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Monitor

ASUS VE278Q 27" Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here
Intel Z97 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings. Intel Z77 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Intel X99 Platform: The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings. AMD AM3+  Platform: The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Laptops:  Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms. Let's take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Real World Benchmarks

Dolphin 5.0 x64 Emulator Benchmark: link

The long awaited Dolphin 5.0 release happened in 2016 and thanks to a major cleaning up of the codebase Dolphin has reached a new level of efficiency, powered by a revitalized dynamic recompiler. Dolphin is considered by many to be the best Nintendo Wii emulator for PC you can find. It also works for Gamecube. We are running the official Dolphin 5.0 benchmark as it offers closer mapping to real world Dolphin performance as the previous version was extremely floating point heavy. We feel this is a pretty good general CPU benchmark for real world performance as emulation workloads are something that most gamers will run at one point or another.  We benchmark the standard Wii homebrew application and run it with the speed limit set to 'unlimited' and the External Frame Buffer set to 'real' in case you wanted to run this on your personal system.

Agisoft Photoscan 1.2.6 x64 - 2D to 3D Image Manipulation Benchmark: link

Agisoft PhotoScan is a stand-alone software product that performs photogrammetric processing of 2D digital images and generates 3D spatial data to be used in GIS applications, cultural heritage documentation, and visual effects production as well as for indirect measurements of objects of various scales. We us the 50 images from the 'Building' sample data download page for our benchmark. We take the total time it takes to complete four steps: Align Photos, Build Dense Cloud, Build Model, Build Texture with all the default settings for each.

KeyShot 6.3 - 3D Rendering and Animation: link

KeyShot 3D rendering and animation software is one of the fastest, easiest way to create amazing, photographic visuals of your 3D data. We installed KeyShot 6.3 to do some benchmarking and real-world stress testing using the camera_benchmark.bip scene that is included with the application. This benchmark tests a 800x554 pixel image with a continuous sample rate and shows the Frames Per Second (FPS) that the scene is being rendered from. This scene has nearly 42,000 triangles and does a good job at using all available cores to render the scene.

Blender 2.78a Open Source 3D Creation Benchmark: link

Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation. We use the BMW CPU Benchmark (CCO, 3MB) created by Mike Pan for our testing. Real World Benchmark Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X processor likes to be overclocked as we saw a 16% performance improvement in Blender, a 10.8% improvement in Keyshot, a  14.1% boost in Photoscan and an 4.2% jump in performance in Dolphin. We'll take 4-16 percent performance increases all day long!

Media Encoding Benchmarks

HandBrake v1.0.1 - link

HandBrake is an open-source, GPL-licensed, multiplatform, multithreaded video transcoder, available for MacOS X, Linux and Windows. It is popular today as it allows you to transcode multiple input video formats to h.264 output format and is highly multithreaded. We used Big Buck Bunny as our input file, which has become one of the world standards for video benchmarks. For our benchmark scenario we used a standard 2D 4K (3840x2160) 60 FPS clip in the MP4 format and used Handbrake version 1.0.1 to do two things. We used the new Fast 1080p30 preset to shrink that down to a 1920 x 1080 video clip to reduce the file size. This is something people often do to save space to put movies onto mobile devices. We also ran the workload using the normal preset as it puts the CPU at a higher load than the Fast 1080p30 preset.

X264 HD Encoding - link

the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It’s nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test. Media Encoding Benchmark Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X overclock gave us ab 8% performance boost in Handbrake 1080p Fast and we were nearly as fast as a stock AMD Ryzen 7 1700X processor in that tough encoding test.  In the X264 benchmark we were just 2.8 FPS behind the Ryzen 7 1700X processor on the second pass and an impressive 5 FPS faster than an Intel Core i7-7700K overclocked to 5.1 GHz. Those 2 extra physical cores really do help in some benchmarks!
Let's look at web browsing performance on Ryzen 5!

Web JavaScript & HTML5 Benchmarks

Mozilla Kraken 1.1: link

Kraken is a JavaScript performance benchmark created by Mozilla that measures the speed of several different test cases extracted from real-world applications and libraries. Kraken uses a test harness based on the SunSpider benchmark. Results are reported in milliseconds (lower is better).

JetStream 1.1: link

JetStream combines a variety of JavaScript benchmarks, covering a variety of advanced workloads and programming techniques, and reports a single score that balances them using geometric mean. JetStream includes benchmarks from the SunSpider 1.0.2 and Octane 2 JavaScript benchmark suites. It also includes benchmarks from the LLVM compiler open source project, compiled to JavaScript using Emscripten 1.13. It also includes a benchmark based on the Apache Harmony open source project's HashMap and a port of the CDx benchmark, hand-translated to JavaScript.

WebXPRT 2015: link

WebXPRT 2015 uses scenarios created to mirror the tasks you do every day to compare the performance of almost any Web-enabled device. It contains six HTML5- and JavaScript-based workloads: Photo Enhancement, Organize Album, Stock Option Pricing, Local Notes, Sales Graphs, and Explore DNA Sequencing. Web JavaScript & HTML5 Benchmarks Results Summary: When it comes to online browsing we didn't see a huge performance increas by overclocking the Ryzen 5 1600X CPU up to 4.1 GHz as this processor can already boost that high with XFR from time to time.

Memory Bandwidth Benchmarks

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 SP3 Memory Bandwidth: link

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 is a utility, which includes remote analysis, benchmarking and diagnostic features for PCs, servers, mobile devices and networks. This test has been popular for CPU and memory benchmarks for well over a decade and it is one of the easiest benchmarks out there to run. Memory Bandwidth Results Summary: Memory performance on Ryzen 5 is very similar to that of Ryzen 7 processors, so nothing new or shocking to note here! Since our overclock didn't change the memory clock frequency we didn't expect to see any performance gains here.

3DMark & Cinebench

Futuremark 3DMark 2.2.3509 - link

3DMark is a popular gaming performance benchmark that includes everything you need to benchmark your PC whether you're gaming on a desktop PC, laptop, notebook, or a tablet. 3DMark includes seven benchmark tests and we'll be running 'Sky Diver' that is aimed at gaming laptops and mid-range PCs.

Maxon Cinebench R15.038 - link 

CINEBENCH is a real-world cross platform test suite that evaluates your computer's performance capabilities. CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software Cinema 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Life of Pi or Prometheus and many more.   3DMark and Cinebench Benchmarks Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X performance went up by 9.8% in the multi-CPU test in Cinebench and by 6.0% 3DMark Fire Strike Physics test!

Discrete GPU Gaming Performance

Thief

Thief is a series of stealth video games in which the player takes the role of Garrett, a master thief in a fantasy/steampunk world resembling a cross between the Late Middle Ages and the Victorian era, with more advanced technologies interspersed. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix on February 25, 2014. We picked this game title for CPU testing as it is known to scale well with CPUs. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz.

Grand Theft Auto V

Grand Theft Auto V, currently one of the hottest PC games, was finally released for the PC on April 14, 2015.  Developed by Rockstar, it is set in 2013 and the city of Los Santos.  It utilizes the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) which Rockstar has been using since 2006, with multiple updates for technology improvements. We picked this game title for CPU testing as it is known to scale well with CPUs. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. Set in a cyberpunk-themed dystopian world in 2029, two years after the events of Human Revolution, Mankind Divided features the return of Adam Jensen from the previous game, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with new technology and body augmentations. The game was released on August 23rd, 2016 for PC users and we are using it to show DX12 performance on the CPUs that we tested. DX12 removed most all of the CPU overhead, so we wanted to see what happens to performance on DX12 game titles as well. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; DX12 enabled, exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz, medium graphics. Discrete Gaming Benchmarks Results Summary: On the three game titles we tested with, the overclocked Ryzen 5 1600X processor improved performance 5-6 FPS thanks to the overclock. Let's take a look at power consumption.

Power Consumption

No review is complete without taking a look at power and did find the overclocked AMD Ryzen 5 1600X consumed slightly more power than a stock Ryzen 5 1600X when at load, but no more at idle. This is because the we didn't have to increase the CPU voltage in the UEFI to get the overclock stable. The chart above is getting really full, so be sure to click on it and see it at the full size. At idle the stock AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Processor used 43.8W at idle.  At load the stock Ryzen 5 1600X topped out at 268W in Thief and with the overclock that increased up to 285 Watts. This is a modest 17 Watt increase when doing some 1080P gaming and that really isn't too bad. When using Handbrake we noticed a 31 Watt increase, so overclocking does indeed use more power.

AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Temperatures at 4.1GHz

We used AIDA64 to look at temperatures on the Ryzen 5 1600X processors and came up with some pretty interesting results. With the Corsair Hydro water cooler we were getting idle temps of around 40C and load temps of 83C on a quick six minute long AIDA64 5.90 stability test on the Ryzen 5 1600X 6-coreprocessor. Keep in mind that 20C is added since this is an X series processor, so the real temps are around 30C idle and 63C load. We can't explain the temperature spikes that were happening ever couple minutes while running the AIDA64 stress test with the 1600X overclocked to 4.1GHz, but they were happening. Most of the time under load the processor was around 75C, but it would spike up 5-8C while the stress test was putting the CPU at 100% load. Let's wrap up this review!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

AMD Ryzen 5 1600X ProcessorThe AMD Ryzen 5 1600X at $249.99 shipped is a really nice performing 6-core that we were able to easily overclock up to 4.1GHz without even needing to mess with CPU voltages on our particular motherboard. The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X was able to beat the Intel Core i7-7700K processor in the majority of the multi-threaded benchmarks that we ran. Having more cores is nice, but what is the 1600X's real competition? We don't have the Ryzen 5 1600 non-X model to look at, but it might be arguably a better value to some. Why? The Ryzen 5 1600X doesn't come with a CPU cooler at $250, but the Ryzen 5 1600 is 10% less expensive ($228.95 shipped) and comes with the AMD Wraith Spire CPU cooler. It also just happens to be about 10% slower out of the box, but people have had good luck overclocking it up to 4GHz as well. The Ryzen 5 1600 lacks XFR, but if you plan on overclocking having an enhanced turbo boost doesn't really matter as you'll be overclocking all cores.
PRODUCT LINE MODEL CORES THREADS BASE CLOCK (GHZ) BOOST CLOCK (GHZ) INCLUDED COOLER TDP (WATTS) Price
RYZEN 7 1800X 8 16 3.6 4.0 N/A 95 $495
RYZEN 7 1700X 8 16 3.4 3.8 N/A 95 $389
RYZEN 7 1700 8 16 3.0 3.7 Wraith Spire 65 $320
RYZEN 5 1600X 6 12 3.6 4.0 N/A 95 $249
RYZEN 5 1600 6 12 3.2 3.6 Wraith ​​Spire 95 $219
RYZEN 5 1500X 4 8 3.5 3.7 Wraith Spire 65 $189
RYZEN 5 1400 4 8 3.2 3.4 Wraith Stealth 65 $169
Now you know why the AMD Ryzen 5 1600X and Ryzen 5 1600 processors are hard to come by locally! These two processors are the sweet spot for enthusiasts and gamers that are wanting an affordable processor that has 6-cores, 12-threads and some overclocking headroom to play around with. We'll be picking up a Ryzen 5 1600 to take a look at here shortly as the price point and value of that processor really intrigues us. The Ryzen 5 quad-core parts are okay, but most people want more than 4 cores today and many of the 8-core parts are priced higher than most want to pay for a processor. The Ryzen 5 1600X and 1600 at $219 to $250 won't leave you feeling ripped off and will give you years of solid computing performance and a fast responsive system when paired with an SSD.   LR Recommended Award Legit Bottom Line: The AMD Ryzen 5 1600X at $250 gives you the ability to overclock beyond 4GHz if you get a decent chip and the performance you get from 6-cores is solid and will be for years to come.