Is The Ryzen 7 1700 8-Core Processor For $329 The Best Value?

On Thursday, Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) launched their Ryzen 7 processor series and we looked at all three processors in our launch article. Over the past several days we've been able to spend more time with the Ryzen 7 1800X, 1700X and 1700 and we've found ourselves really starting to like the Ryzen 7 1700 processor the best from an enthusiast perspective. For starts the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 is the lowest price processor of the group at $329.99 shipped and it just happens to be the only model that comes with an AMD Wraith CPU cooler. [caption id="attachment_192243" align="aligncenter" width="645"]AMD Ryzen With ATI Ruby AMD Ryzen 7 1700 With ATI Ruby[/caption] The best part about the Ryzen 7 1700 is that it overclocks like a champ compared to the other models as we've been able to get it up to 4.0 GHz on all cores with just 1.3875V on the CPU Core Voltage! The multi-threaded benchmarks at 4GHz on Ryzen are damn impressive as you end up with a low-cost platform that can more times than not beat the Intel Core i7-6900K that just happens to be priced at $1,021.97 shipped. This processor hasn't gotten much attention this week, but we feel it is a sleeper and a really good value for those that are comfortable with overclocking. Ryzen 7 1700 Overclocked to 4.0 GHz We did our overclock on the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium motherboard ($299.99 shipped) and have had very few if any issues with this board using UEFI 117 that was released on February 22nd, 2017. The board takes longer than we would like to go through the boot cycle, but once it is up and running it we've found it to be a pretty good board. The M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD performance is solid on our Corsair Force MP500 480GB drive (check out our dirty drive scores on a half full drive) and we've have no issues with any peripherals yet. That's all good news as the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium motherboard is the most expensive AMD X370 board on the market right now, so it better be damn good. MSXI X370 Motherboard BIOS Overclocking the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 processors was very simple to do as we just needed to raise the CPU Frequency up to 4000MHz and then increase the CPU Core Voltage from 'Auto' up to 1.3875 V. The system would crash in the AIDA64 and Prime95 system stress tests at 1.3750 V, but was rock solid with bumping up the voltage to the next step up (1.3875V). No other voltages needed to be altered to take the all-core clock speed up to 4.0 GHz! [gallery ids="192230,192229,192228,192227"] The good news continues as we were able to get this overclock stable on both the Noctua NH-U12S SE-AM U-Type Tower Cooler ($57.99 shipped) and the Corsair Hydro 110i Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler ($134.99 shipped). The temperatures were of course better on the water cooler, so that is what we stuck with for our benchmark testings. Ryzen 7 1800X with Hydro 110i   Let's take a quick look at the test system and then get straight to the benchmarks!

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on five different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel X99, AMD A4 and AMD AM3+) in this article, so we'll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings. AMD Ryzen Test System The AMD AM4 platform that we used to test the Ryzen 7 series processors was running the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium Motherboard with UEFI 117 that came out on 2/23/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 2933MHz with 14-14-14-45 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply and a Corsair Force MP500 480GB PCIe SSD. It should be noted that we used both a Noctua air cooler and a Corsair Hydro Series H110 water cooler for this review. The Noctua air cooler arrived first and was used for all CPU benchmarks and then for overclocking we switched to the liquid cooler. Core i7-7700K Test System Picture The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.
Intel LGA1151 Test Platform



Live Pricing


Intel Core i7-7700K


Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here


16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here


Corsair H105 Click Here


Corsair K70 RGB Click Here


Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here


ASUS VE278Q 27" Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here
Intel Z97 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings. Intel Z77 Platform: The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Intel X99 Platform: The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings. AMD AM3+  Platform: The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings. Laptops:  Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms. Let's take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Memory Bandwidth Benchmarks

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 SP3 Memory Bandwidth: link

SiSoftware Sandra 2016 is a utility, which includes remote analysis, benchmarking and diagnostic features for PCs, servers, mobile devices and networks. This test has been popular for CPU and memory benchmarks for well over a decade and it is one of the easiest benchmarks out there to run.

AIDA64 5.80 Memory & Cache Benchmark: link

AIDA64 is an industry-leading system information tool, loved by PC enthusiasts around the world, which not only provides extremely detailed information about both hardware and installed software, but also helps users diagnose issues and offers benchmarks to measure the performance of the computer.   Memory Bandwidth Results Summary: Overclocking the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 processor up to 4.0 GHz didn't make a significant impact on the platforms dual-channel DDR4 memory kit that was running at 2933 MHz with CL14 timings as we didn't alter the memory clock.

Real World Benchmarks

Dolphin 5.0 x64 Emulator Benchmark: link

The long awaited Dolphin 5.0 release happened in 2016 and thanks to a major cleaning up of the codebase Dolphin has reached a new level of efficiency, powered by a revitalized dynamic recompiler. Dolphin is considered by many to be the best Nintendo Wii emulator for PC you can find. It also works for Gamecube. We are running the official Dolphin 5.0 benchmark as it offers closer mapping to real world Dolphin performance as the previous version was extremely floating point heavy. We feel this is a pretty good general CPU benchmark for real world performance as emulation workloads are something that most gamers will run at one point or another.  We benchmark the standard Wii homebrew application and run it with the speed limit set to 'unlimited' and the External Frame Buffer set to 'real' in case you wanted to run this on your personal system.

Agisoft Photoscan 1.2.6 x64 - 2D to 3D Image Manipulation Benchmark: link

Agisoft PhotoScan is a stand-alone software product that performs photogrammetric processing of 2D digital images and generates 3D spatial data to be used in GIS applications, cultural heritage documentation, and visual effects production as well as for indirect measurements of objects of various scales. We us the 50 images from the 'Building' sample data download page for our benchmark. We take the total time it takes to complete four steps: Align Photos, Build Dense Cloud, Build Model, Build Texture with all the default settings for each.

KeyShot 6.3 - 3D Rendering and Animation: link

KeyShot 3D rendering and animation software is one of the fastest, easiest way to create amazing, photographic visuals of your 3D data. We installed KeyShot 6.3 to do some benchmarking and real-world stress testing using the camera_benchmark.bip scene that is included with the application. This benchmark tests a 800x554 pixel image with a continuous sample rate and shows the Frames Per Second (FPS) that the scene is being rendered from. This scene has nearly 42,000 triangles and does a good job at using all available cores to render the scene.

Blender 2.78a Open Source 3D Creation Benchmark: link

Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation. We use the BMW CPU Benchmark (CCO, 3MB) created by Mike Pan for our testing. Real World Benchmark Results Summary: When it comes to our 'real world' benchmark tests the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 processor overclocked to 4.0GHz was a monster in our Blender and KeyShot benchmark tests as it was only bested by the Intel Core i7-6950X processor. The Photoscan and Dolphin emulation benchmark tests had the Intel Core i7-6900K ahead, but the Ryzen 7 1700 right behind the Intel Core i7-7700K that was overclocked beyond 5GHz!

Media Encoding & Encryption Benchmarks

HandBrake v1.0.1 - link

HandBrake is an open-source, GPL-licensed, multiplatform, multithreaded video transcoder, available for MacOS X, Linux and Windows. It is popular today as it allows you to transcode multiple input video formats to h.264 output format and is highly multithreaded. We used Big Buck Bunny as our input file, which has become one of the world standards for video benchmarks. For our benchmark scenario we used a standard 2D 4K (3840x2160) 60 FPS clip in the MP4 format and used Handbrake version 1.0.1 to do two things. We used the new Fast 1080p30 preset to shrink that down to a 1920 x 1080 video clip to reduce the file size. This is something people often do to save space to put movies onto mobile devices. We also ran the workload using the normal preset as it puts the CPU at a higher load than the Fast 1080p30 preset.

X264 HD Encoding - link

the x264 HD Benchmark is a reproducible measure of how fast your machine can encode a short HD-quality video clip into a high quality x264 video file. It’s nice because everyone running it will use the same video clip and software. The video encoder (x264.exe) reports a fairly accurate internal benchmark (in frames per second) for each pass of the video encode and it also uses multi-core processors very efficiently. All these factors make this an ideal benchmark to compare different processors and systems to each other. We are using x264 HD v5.0.1 for this test. Media Encoding Benchmark Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 7 1700 is a monster when it comes to transcoding benchmarks and when overclocked to 4.0GHz only the Intel Core i7-6950X can beat it in these three test cases and that is a $1,627.99 processor.

VeraCrypt 1.19 - link

VeraCrypt is an open-source disk encryption software brought to you by IDRIX and is a fork based on the discontinued TrueCrypt 7.1a utility. The developers claim that weaknesses found in TrueCrypt have been resolved with the VeraCrypt project. This is a popular utility used by people that don't want to use Microsoft's built-in encyption tool for Windows 10 called Bitlocker. Encryption Benchmark Results Summary: Overclocked encryption testing shows that the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 finished with a score of 6.1 GB/s on the standard AES benchmark, which is just 0.1 GB/s behind an Intel Core i7-7700K overclocked up to 5.1 GHz.

Web JavaScript & HTML5 Benchmarks

Mozilla Kraken 1.1: link

Kraken is a JavaScript performance benchmark created by Mozilla that measures the speed of several different test cases extracted from real-world applications and libraries. Kraken uses a test harness based on the SunSpider benchmark. Results are reported in milliseconds (lower is better).

Google Octane 2.0: link

Octane 2.0 is a benchmark created by Google that measures a JavaScript engine’s performance by running a suite of tests that is supposed to be representative of today’s complex and demanding web applications. Octane‘s goal is to measure the performance of JavaScript code found in large, real-world web applications, running on modern mobile and desktop browsers. The latest Octane 2.0 benchmark includes four new tests to measure new aspects of JavaScript performance, including garbage collection / compiler latency and asm.js-style JavaScript performance.

JetStream 1.1: link

JetStream combines a variety of JavaScript benchmarks, covering a variety of advanced workloads and programming techniques, and reports a single score that balances them using geometric mean. JetStream includes benchmarks from the SunSpider 1.0.2 and Octane 2 JavaScript benchmark suites. It also includes benchmarks from the LLVM compiler open source project, compiled to JavaScript using Emscripten 1.13. It also includes a benchmark based on the Apache Harmony open source project's HashMap and a port of the CDx benchmark, hand-translated to JavaScript.

WebXPRT 2015: link

WebXPRT 2015 uses scenarios created to mirror the tasks you do every day to compare the performance of almost any Web-enabled device. It contains six HTML5- and JavaScript-based workloads: Photo Enhancement, Organize Album, Stock Option Pricing, Local Notes, Sales Graphs, and Explore DNA Sequencing. Web JavaScript & HTML5 Benchmarks Results Summary: When it comes to online browsing you don't need 8-cores or 10-cores, so you'll see the faster clocked quad-core processors at the top of these performance charts.  The AMD Ryzen 7 1700 overclocked to 4GHz performed better than both the Intel Core i7-6900K  and Core i7-6950X processors in all four of these popular online benchmark tests.

3DMark & Cinebench

Futuremark 3DMark 2.2.3509 - link

3DMark is a popular gaming performance benchmark that includes everything you need to benchmark your PC whether you're gaming on a desktop PC, laptop, notebook, or a tablet. 3DMark includes seven benchmark tests and we'll be running 'Sky Diver' that is aimed at gaming laptops and mid-range PCs.

Maxon Cinebench R15.038 - link 

CINEBENCH is a real-world cross platform test suite that evaluates your computer's performance capabilities. CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software Cinema 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Life of Pi or Prometheus and many more.   3DMark and Cinebench Benchmarks Results Summary: The AMD Ryzen 7 1700 really wakes up when you overclock all the cores to 4GHz as you can see in the results above. The Cinebench score of 1769 in the multi-threaded CPU test and 160 points in the single-threaded test are nothing to laugh at.

Discrete GPU Gaming Performance


Thief is a series of stealth video games in which the player takes the role of Garrett, a master thief in a fantasy/steampunk world resembling a cross between the Late Middle Ages and the Victorian era, with more advanced technologies interspersed. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix on February 25, 2014. We picked this game title for CPU testing as it is known to scale well with CPUs. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz.

Grand Theft Auto V

Grand Theft Auto V, currently one of the hottest PC games, was finally released for the PC on April 14, 2015.  Developed by Rockstar, it is set in 2013 and the city of Los Santos.  It utilizes the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) which Rockstar has been using since 2006, with multiple updates for technology improvements. We picked this game title for CPU testing as it is known to scale well with CPUs. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. Set in a cyberpunk-themed dystopian world in 2029, two years after the events of Human Revolution, Mankind Divided features the return of Adam Jensen from the previous game, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with new technology and body augmentations. The game was released on August 23rd, 2016 for PC users and we are using it to show DX12 performance on the CPUs that we tested. DX12 removed most all of the CPU overhead, so we wanted to see what happens to performance on DX12 game titles as well. We use the games built-in benchmark and test with the default settings with these changes; DX12 enabled, exclusive fullscreen, vSync off, 1920 x 1080, 60Hz, medium graphics. Discrete Gaming Benchmarks Results Summary: Overclocking helps gaming performance a bit, but doesn't give the Ryzen 7 1700 enough to compete with many of the Intel processors of years past.  

We looked at 1920x1080, 2560 x 1440 and 4K scaling performance in GTAV and found that the overclock helped the Ryzen 7 1700 processor perform better than the stock 1700X and 1800X at 1080P and 1440P gaming resulutions. It was still 6% behind Intel at 1440P, but the overclock is helping Ryzen catch up to Intel. At 1080P the performance gap is just tough to close and on some DX12 game titles like Dues Ex: Mankind Divided it really looks like a game patch or something is needed for AMD to get their scores up there. Let's take a look at power consumption.

Power Consumption

No review is complete without taking a look at power and the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 actually did really well considering it is an 8-core processor with a 65W TDP. power consumption 1700 At idle the stock AMD Ryzen 7 1700 CPU used 42.6W at idle and 124W in Handbrake. When we overclocked the CPU up to 4.0 GHz at 1.3875V we noticed that the idle went up to 51.1W and 214W in handbrake, so overclocking up to 4.0 GHz will drastically increase this processors power consumption. Using 72.5% more power in Handbrake was honestly more than we expected, but the temperatures weren't bad and that is barely more than the Intel Core i7-6900K in that test.

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Stock & Overclocked Temperatures

We used AIDA64 to look at temperatures as Ryzen Masters wasn't given to us while we were doing our performance testing. We aren't sure if AIDA 64 numbers are accurate, but we'll let you take a look.   Then on the AMD Ryzen 1700 we were getting 37C idle temps and 46C load temps on the Noctua NH-U12S SE-AM U-Type Tower Cooler ($57.99 shipped) at stock settings. When we overclocked the Ryzen 7 1700 CPU up to 4GHz with 1.3875V we used the Corsair Hydro 110i Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler ($134.99 shipped) to ensure our temperatures were okay. AIDA64 showed that we were idling at just 25C and at load we were at 63C. One would think that the temperatures on the water cooler would slowly creep up over time, but we went from ~28C to 60C instantly and the Corsair H110i was able to hold them there. Once we stopped the AIDA64 stress test six minutes later (short because we wanted to get this article done before the weekend) the temperatures dropped back down to 25C in less than 10 seconds. Pretty impressive!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

[caption id="attachment_192243" align="aligncenter" width="300"]AMD Ryzen With ATI Ruby AMD Ryzen With ATI Ruby[/caption] The AMD Ryzen 7 1700 processor benchmark results with this chip overclocked up to 4.0 GHz are impressive. Running all 8-cores on a Ryzen processor at 4 GHz is fun and you can see how far AMD has come with Ryzen since the old FX series processors. Sure, Ryzen has some shortcomings with regards to 1080P gaming, but AMD and its partners self-admittedly still need do optimizations on both the new platform and for the applications and game titles to really get the most out of this new platform. The early gaming benchmark numbers certainly show the area for improvement on Ryzen and it will be interesting to see what AMD can to to improve those scores. AMD has already said that they will get better and it sounds like they want many of those improvements to happen before the Ryzen 5 processor series launch in Q2, 2017. That gives AMD at least a month to figure things out and from our sources inside AMD they feel like they can get those gaming scores up a little bit across the board and even more so on a per application basis with AMD Ryzen optimized patches. If AMD can get those 1080P game scores on par with Intel – and that's a big if – what would the next major area of concern be? The small amount of overclocking headroom that AMD left on Ryzen is a bummer, but they wanted to get all the clock frequency they could to be competitive with Intel. AMD will also likely make manufacturing advancements in the months to come as this is their first ever processor to use the 14nm FinFET process. Ryzen 7 1700 Overclocked to 4.0 GHz If you are comfortable with overclocking we think that the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 is the most appealing Ryzen 7 processor of the three. If you are a content creator the performance numbers for a $329 processor are solid and it shows that Ryzen 7 1700 is a price versus performance winner. If you are a gamer and are upset with the 1080P benchmark results you might want to hold off for a month or so and see what AMD can do. We are thinking the the AMD Ryzen 5 series will launch sometime in April and feel that AMD needs to get most of these performance issues figured out before that launch. You'll then be able to see the updated performance numbers and be able to compare Ryzen 7 to Ryzen 5 at that time. It will also be interesting to see if any game patches have come out by then or if a big CPU microcode update was rolled out in a new UEFI by the board makers that can bring further Ryzen performance optimizations for 1080P gaming. An AMD Ryzen 1700 processor with a Wraith cooler runs $329 and you are looking at around $130 for a nicely loaded AMD B350 motherboard, so for around $459 you can have a nice core platform for your new 8-core 16-thread Ryzen system at less than half the price of just a bare Intel Core i7-6900K processor. This might be the sleeper processor that enthusiasts have been waiting for. Could this be the equivalent of the Athlon XP AGOIA stepping processor that Generation X grew up, but for the next generation of PC users? Legit Bottom Line: The performance numbers for the Ryzen 7 1700 overclocked to 4GHz are impressive, but they might not be representative of the processors full capabilities once AMD gets some more optimizations rolled out. This is the starting point for Ryzen! More AMD Ryzen Coverage on Legit Reviews: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X, 1700X and 1700 Processor Reviews AMD Ryzen 7 DDR4 Memory Scaling Performance AMD Ryzen 7 Versus Intel Kaby Lake CPU/GPU Scaling  Picking The Right AMD AM4 Motherboard For Ryzen Where are all the AMD AM4 Motherboads?