Will The GeForce GTX 1070 'Pascal' Video Card Win The Hearts of Gamers?

Last week we were impressed by how the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5X video card performed when we put to the test, but not everyone can afford a $699 video card and we understand that. If you have an 2-5 year old video card you might be getting the itch to upgrade to something more modern that has the performance you want to have while supporting all the new features that NVIDIA has added over the past couple generations. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 uses the same GP104 'Pascal' GPU build on the 16nm FinFET process that is used on the GeForce GTX 1080, but costs a fair amount less. When the GeForce GTX 1070 becomes available on June 10th, 2016, the Founders Edition of the card runs $449 whereas the MSRP for third party GTX 1070 cards is just $379. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition The GeForce GTX 1070 costs less because rather than using 8GB of GDDR5X memory it uses 8GB of GDDR5 memory and NVIDIA essentially disabled a GPC unit. The good news is that the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 still has 1,920 CUDA cores in 15 Stream Multiprocessors, 120 Texture Units and 64 ROPs for a peak texture fill rate of 202 Gigatexels/sec. In comparison, the GeForce GTX 1080 has a fully enabled GP104 GPU with 2,560 CUDA cores in 20 Stream Multiprocessors, 160 Texture Units and 64 ROPs for a a peak texture fill rate of 277.3 Gigatextures/sec. Keep in mind that while the GeForce GTX 1070 has 25% fewer CUDA Cores and Texture Units, the price of the card has been slashed by 36% when compared to the GeForce GTX 1080. What is nice about the way NVIDIA designed the GP104 GPU is that NVIDIA didn't disable any memory controller channels or ROPs, so the GTX 1070 has the full 64 ROP backend! On the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 most all gamers know about 'ramgate' where NVIDIA disabled an L2 segment and impacted memory performance. NVIDIA isn't touching the memory subsystem that the L2 segment is part of and instead is just disabling a single GPC block. [caption id="attachment_181795" align="aligncenter" width="645"]GeForce GTX 1070 Block Diagram GeForce GTX 1070 Block Diagram[/caption] When it comes to clock speeds the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition graphics card has a base clock of 1506MHz with a boost clock speed of 1683MHz. GeForce GTX 1080 are clocked at 1607MHz base and 1733MHz boost of the GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition video card. NVIDIA says that the power delivery system of the GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition wass designed with a low impedance power delivery network, custom voltage regulators and a 4-phase dualFET power supply that is optimized for clean power delivery. NVIDIA internal testing showed that most GeForce GTX 1070 cards are able to overclock exceptionally well and can hit over 1.9GHz! The GeForce GTX 1070 might be stuck using older GDDR5 technology on a 256-bit wide bus, but the good news is that NVIDIA is shipping this card with the highest memory speed of any GDDR5 GPU in the world. The 8GB of GDDR5 memory on the GeForce GTX 1070 is clocked at 4,006MHz or 8Gbps! This allows the GeForce GTX 1070 to have 256 GB/s of memory bandwidth, which isn't too far behind (only 20%) the 320 GB/s of memory bandwidth found on the GeForce GTX 1080 that uses the new G5X memory. With regards to power draw, the GeForce GTX 1070 is a 150W TDP video card, which is 20W less than a GeForce GTX 1080. Due to this the GeForce GTX 1070 doesn't have the vapor chamber cooler used on the GeForce GTX 1080 and will use a GPU cooler with old school heatpipes.
GTX 1080 GTX 1070 GTX 980 Ti GTX 980 GTX 780 GTX 680 GTX 580
Microarchitecture Pascal Pascal Maxwell Maxwell Kepler Refresh Kepler Fermi
Stream Processors 2560 1920 2816 2048 2304 1536 512
Texture Units 160 120 176 128 192 128 64
ROPs 64 64 96 64 48 32 48
Core Clock 1607MHz 1506MHz 1000MHz 1126MHz 863MHz 1006MHz 772MHz
Shader Clock N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 1544MHz
Boost Clock 1733MHz 1683MHz 1075MHz 1216MHz 900MHz 1058MHz N/A
Frame Buffer 8GB 8GB 6GB 4GB 3GB 2GB 1.5GB
Effective Memory Clock 10,010MHz GDDR5X 8,012MHz GDDR5 7,010MHz GDDR5 7,000MHz GDDR5 6,008MHz GDDR5 6,008MHz GDDR5 4,008MHz GDDR5
Memory Bus Width 256-bit 256-bit 384-bit 256-bit 384-bit 256-bit 384-bit
Memory Bandwidth 320 256 336.5 224 288 192.3 192.4
FP64 1/32 1/32 1/32 1/32 FP32 1/24 FP32 1/24 FP32 1/8 FP32
TFLOPS 8.9 - Peak 8.2 - Base 6.5 - Peak 5.8 - Base 5.6 5 4 3 1.5
GFLOPS/Watt  49 43 22 30 15 15 6
TDP 180W 150W 250W 165W 250W 195W 244W
Transistor Count 7.2B 7.2B 8.0B 5.2B 7.1B 3.5B 3B
Manufacturing Process TSMC 16nm TSMC 16nm TSMC 28nm TSMC 28nm TSMC 28nm TSMC 28nm TSMC 40nm
Release Date 05/2016 05/2016 05/2015 09/2014 05/2013 03/2012 11/2010
Launch Price $699 $449 $649 $549 $649 $499 $499
Here is a table that compares the flagship cards for the four most recent architecture on NVIDIA's flagship graphics cards! NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Video Card Let's move along and take a look at the GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition graphics card!

The GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is a dual-slot form factor card that measures in at 10.5-inches in length. The reference card is going to be sold as the 'Founders Edition' model by Add-In-Board (AIB) partners and will be available for $70 more than the custom AIB cards. NVIDIA is doing this as to not compete with their customers and to allow gamers that want to still be able to buy the reference design card if they want to know they are getting something that was designed right for long term use. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Power Connector The top of the GeForce GTX 1070 still has the green LED backlit NVIDIA logo and and also shows the single 8-pin power connector that is needed for proper operation of this 150W TDP card. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Video Card The faceted body design is something new from NVIDIA for this generation and is identical do the body used on the GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition minus the nameplate. GeForce_GTX_1080_Back_Airflow_1463236637 The GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition card has a full-coverage backplate with a huge removable cutout for improving air flow for SLI users. Those with a multi-SLI setup have had to deal with heat issues and NVIDIA is trying their best to mitigate the heat issues caused by running two cards so close to one another and this is one way to open up some space for the cooling fan! GeForce_GTX_1080_Bracket_1463154734 The video outputs on the GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition video card include three DisplayPort connectors, an HDMI 2.0b connector (supporting 4k@60Hz) and a single dual-link DVI output. This means that NVIDIA offers a total of five video connections, but only four can be used simultaneously. The DisplayPort outputs are 1.2 certified and spec DP 1.3/1.4-ready, which means it supports 4K screens at 120Hz or 5K at 60Hz from a single cable and an 8K display at 60Hz if you are using two cables. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 GPU Cooler The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 features the usual radial fan that has become standard for them in recent years. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 PCB NVIDIA says that the default GPU Boost 3.0 settings will allow the GTX 1070 to boost up to 1683MHz and the cards target temperature is 83C by default. Once you pull the CPU cooler entirely off you can see the PCB of the GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition along with the GP104 GPU, GDDR5 memory ICs and the 4-phase dual-FET power phase design. NVIDIA also added extra capacitance to their filtering network, and optimized the power delivery network on the PCB for low impedance. NVIDIA says taht this design allows for great power efficiency, reliability and exceptional overclocking. Let's move along to the GeForce GTX 1070 test system and then get straight on to the benchmark results!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running.  There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago. Video Cards & Drivers used for testing: GTX 1080 Test System

Intel X79/LGA2011 Platform

The Intel X79 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS P9X79-E WS motherboard with BIOS 1704 that came out on 05/08/2015. We went with the Intel Core i7-4960X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform as it is PCIe 3.0 certified, so all graphics cards are tested with PCI Express Gen 3 enabled. The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary 16GB 2400MHz quad channel memory kit was set to XMP Profile #2. This profile defaults to 2133MHz with 1.65v and 11-13-13-30 2T memory timings. The OCZ Vertex 460 240GB SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair AX860i digital power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements. Test System Settings Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:
The Intel X79 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor Intel Core i7-4960X
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory
16GB Kingston 2133MHz
Video Card Various
Solid-State Drive OCZ Vertex 460 240GB
Cooling Intel TS13X (Asetek)
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Operating System Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor Sharp PN-K321 32" 4K
  NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition Video Card GPU-Z Info: GeForce GTX 1070 GPU-Z Let's move on to the Battlefield 4 benchmark results!

Battlefield 4

bf4-screenshot Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE (DICE) and published by Electronic Arts. It is a sequel to 2011's Battlefield 3 and was released on October 29, 2013 in North America. Battlefield 4's single-player Campaign takes place in 2020, six years after the events of its predecessor. Tensions between Russia and the United States have been running at a record high. On top of this, China is also on the brink of war, as Admiral Chang, the main antagonist, plans to overthrow China's current government; and, if successful, the Russians will have full support from the Chinese, bringing China into a war with the United States. bf4-settings This game title uses the Frostbite 3 game engine and looks great. We tested Battlefield 4 with the Ultra graphics quality preset as most discrete desktop graphics cards can easily play with this IQ setting at 1080P and we still want to be able to push the higher-end cards down the road. We used FRAPS to benchmark with these settings on the Shanghai level. All tests were done with the DirectX 11 API. GeForce GTX 1070 Battlefield 1080P Benchmark Results: At 1080p resolution, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 FE was found to be 59% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card and only 3% slower than a factory overclocked GeForce GTX 980 Ti! This card is looking to be pretty awesome! GeForce GTX 1070 Battlefield 2K Benchmark Results: When you move up to a 2560x1440 display we found the GeForce GTX 1070 FE was found to be 61% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card and 28% faster than the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X!  In BF4, the GTX 1070 appears to scale pretty well with higher resolutions. GeForce GTX 1070 Battlefield 4K Benchmark Results:  When it comes to 4K Ultra HD gaming, the GeForce GTX 1070 FE video card averaged just under 50 FPS and proved to be 21.6% faster than the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card.  We're also still seeing a 60% increase over the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card!

Fallout 4

Fallout4 Fallout 4 is an open world action role-playing video game developed by Bethesda Game Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 4 is set in a post-apocalyptic Boston in the year 2287, 210 years after a devastating nuclear war, in which the player character emerges from an underground bunker known as a Vault. Gameplay is similar to Fallout 3.  The title is the fifth major installment in the Fallout series and was released worldwide on November 10th, 2015. fallout4 settings Fallout 4 was benchmarked with ultra image quality settings with TAA and 16x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. V-Sync can't be disabled in the games options, so we edited the necessary INI files and disabled vsync in the driver software as well. We used FRAPS to benchmark Fallout 4 after you emerge from the vault and are in The Commonwealth. GeForce GTX 1070 Fallout 4 1080P Benchmark Results: In Fallout 4, at 1920x1080, the GeForce GTX 1070 FE was found to be 36% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card on the average frame rate.  We're seeing the GTX 1070 FE to be approximately 7.5% slower than the factory overclocked Zotac GeForce GTX 980 Ti Amp! Extreme card, which is impressive to say the least! GeForce GTX 1070 Fallout 4 2K Benchmark Results: With the display resolution cranked up to 2560x1440 we GeForce GTX 1070 FE was still putting up a good fight by being 45% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card, and was still knocking on the door of the Zotac and ASUS 980 Ti. GeForce GTX 1070 Fallout 4 4K Benchmark Results: When we increased the resolution to 3840x2160 for some 4K gaming goodness, the GeForce GTX 1070 FE was found to be only 10% faster than the Fury X and 48% faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card!

Grand Theft Auto V

GTAV Grand Theft Auto V, currently one of the hottest PC games, was finally released for the PC on April 14, 2015.  Developed by Rockstar, it is set in 2013 and the city of Los Santos.  It utilizes the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) which Rockstar has been using since 2006, with multiple updates for technology improvements. GTA5-settings GTA5-settings2 In Grand Theft Auto V we set the game to run with no MSAA with 16x AF and high image quality settings as we didn't want the GPU to bottleneck the system too bad, but wanted a setup that your average gamer would actually play on. We used the games built-in benchmark utility to have at least one game we used that could be compared to your setup at home. We averaged all the five of the default benchmark runs and omitted the maximum values as those results are garbage for some reason. GeForce GTX 1070 GTAV 1440P Benchmark Results: After running the games built-in benchmark and averaging the runs together, we found that the GeForce GTX 1070 FE shined quite well, showing 2.5 FPS slower on average than the Zotac GeForce GTX 980 Ti.  The 1070 FE is still showing up the EVGA GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card by 48%! GeForce GTX 1070 GTAV 4K Ultra HD Benchmark Results: Though with a decently lower minimum framerate, the GeForce GTX 1070 FE was only 2 FPS slower on average than the Zotac GTX 980 Ti when we ran the benchmark at 4K settings.

Rise of the Tomb Raider

Rise of the Tomb Raider Rise of the Tomb Raider is a third-person action-adventure video game developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Square Enix. It is the sequel to the 2013 video game Tomb Raider, which was itself, the second reboot to its series. It was released for Microsoft Windows in January 2016. Players control Lara Croft through various environments, battling enemies, and completing puzzle platforming sections, while using improvised weapons and gadgets in order to progress through the story. tomb-raider-settings tomb-raider-settings2 Crystal Dynamics used a proprietary game engine called 'Foundation' for Rise of the Tomb Raider and it is able to create some pretty nice looking graphics. We tested Rise of the Tomb Raider with the Very High preset, but then changed the ambient occlusion setting from HBAO+ (an NVIDIA developed feature) to 'ON' to have as fair of a match up as we could. We also disabled VSync. Once we had the graphics and display settings figured out we used FRAPS to manually benchmark a section of the Siberian Wilderness that is about 10% into the game for a couple minutes. Rise of the Tomb Raider does not have a built-in benchmark, so this is one of the only ways you can benchmark this particular game title. Rise of the tomb raider 1080P 1080P Benchmark Results: The Geforce GTX 1070 FE did very well at 1080P resolution, showing us an average of 108.2 FPS and 36% faster than the Fury X! Rise of the tomb raider 2K 1440P Benchmark Results: With the resolution cranked up to 25x14, the GeForce GTX 1070 averaged an impressive 72 FPS! Rise of the tomb raider 4K 4K Ultra HD Benchmark Results: Rise of the Tomb Raider is brutal against all cards at 4K with these image quality settings, but the GeForce GTX 1070 still managed to pull 38 FPS on average.

Star Wars: Battlefront

Star Wars Battlefront Star Wars: Battlefront is a series of first- and third-person shooter video games based on the Star Wars films. Players take the role of soldiers in either of two opposing armies in different time periods of the Star Wars universe. Star Wars: Battlefront is built on the Frostbite 3 engine. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Digital Illusions CE and published by EA DICE/Disney Interactive on November 17, 2015. Starwars Battlefront Graphics Settings We ran Star Wars: Battlefront with the image quality settings set at Ultra and VSYNC  was disabled. We used FRAPS to benchmark with these settings on Battle on Tatooine. GeFroce GTX 1070 Star Wars Battlefront 1080P 1080P Benchmark Results: All of these high end cards were able to play Star Wars: Battlefront at 1080P Full HD resolution and it looks like we are becoming CPU limited here on the higher end cards!  Even the GeForce GTX 1070 is about to hit that bottleneck. GeFroce GTX 1070 Star Wars Battlefront 2K 1440P Benchmark Results:  When we played Battlefront at 2560x1440, the GeForce GTX 1070 for the first time in our benchmarking dipped below the average FPS of AMD's Fury X, but only slightly.  Still, the GTX 1070 averaged 108 FPS and had more than enough power to play this game title with ease on ultra settings. GeFroce GTX 1070 Star Wars Battlefront 4K 4K Ultra HD Benchmark Results: When moving up to 3840x2160, the GeForce GTX 1070 was neck-and-neck with the Fury X, still averaging slightly less, coming in at 56.4 FPS on average.  

Tom Clancy's The Division

TheDivision Tom Clancy's The Division is an online-only open world third-person shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Massive and published by Ubisoft, with assistance from Red Storm Entertainment, for Microsoft Windows,PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. It was announced during Ubisoft's E3 2013 press conference, and was released worldwide on March 8th, 2016. The Division is set in a dystopian New York City in the aftermath of a smallpoxpandemic; the player, who is an agent of the titular Strategic Homeland Division, commonly referred to as simply "The Division", is tasked with helping to rebuild the Division's operations in Manhattan, investigating the nature of the outbreak and combating criminal activity in its wake. The Division is structured with elements of role-playing games, as well as collaborative and player versus player online multiplayer. The Division settings The Division uses Ubisoft's new proprietary engine known as Snowdrop, which is made for PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Snowdrop was created in-house, at Massive, in response to a specific requirement: to do things better, not bigger. The engine focuses on dynamic global illumination, stunning procedural destruction and a great amount of detail and visual effects. The developers wanted a powerful engine that works intelligently and not by brute force only. The Division settings We ran The Division with the image quality settings set at Ultra and VSYNC was disabled. We tried to FRAPS to benchmark with these settings, but found it was pretty much impossible due to the night and day cycle always changing when you enter the game and the spot where you load in the open world is slightly different. Unable to get consistent results we resorted to used the games built-in benchmark. the-division-1080 1080P Benchmark Results: Even at lower resolutions, The Division is a very punishing yet beautiful game, and at 1920x1080 we averaged roughly 80 FPS. the-division-2k 1440P Benchmark Results:  As we scale up the resolution to 2560x1440, we pulled an average of 57 FPS with the GeForce GTX 1070, or about 38.6% slower than at 1080P. the-division-4k 4K Ultra HD Benchmark Results: When moving up to 3840x2160, we find that the GeForce GTX 1070 is 1.2 FPS on average slower than AMD's Fury X.

Ashes of the Singularity - DX12

Ashes of the Singularity Battle Ashes of the Singularity is a real-time strategy game set in the future where descendants of humans (called Post- Humans) and a powerful artificial intelligence (called the Substrate) fight a war for control of a resource known as Turinium. Players will engage in massive-scale land/air battles by commanding entire armies of their own design. Each game takes place on one area of a planet, with each player starting with a home base (known as a Nexus) and a single construction unit. ashes options menu We ran the integrated Ashes of the Singularity benchmark utility in DX12 mode with the 'High' Image Quality Profile and disabled VSync. ashes 1080p 1080P Benchmark Results: The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition graphics card was found to be on par with the Zotac GeForce GTX 980 Ti Amp! Extreme Edition and AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video cards. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 FE was almost 10 FPS faster at 1920 x 1080, but all these high-end cards were able to average above 60 FPS. ashes 2k 1440P Benchmark Results: At 2560x1440 the flagship cards were still performing close to one another, but the performance gap widened to the benefit of the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X and it averaged 5 FPS more than the GeForce GTX 1070. ashes 4k 4K Benchmark Results: Only the GeForce GTX 1080 could average more than 60 FPS when running the Ashes of the Singularity DX12 benchmark at 3840x2160 with 'high' image quality settings. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X came close at 58.4 FPS, but the GeForce GTX 1070 fell back to 51.9 FPS. Not bad, but it just goes to show there are a couple benchmarks where the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X can pull ahead at the larger resolutions.

SteamVR Performance Test

steamvr benchmark The SteamVR Performance Test measures your system's rendering power using a 2-minute sequence from Valves Aperture Robot Repair VR demo. After collecting the data it determines whether your system is capable of running VR content at 90fps and whether VR content can tune the visual fidelity up to the recommended level. For machines that are not VR Ready the tool can help determine whether capabilities are bound by Graphics Card, CPU, or both. steamvr-1070 We ran the default test without any modifications. steamvr benchmark results Benchmark Results: Both the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX 1070 score 11 (very high) on the SteamVR Performance test and have 100% of the frames above 90 FPS. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X with Radeon Crimson Edition 16.5.3 Hotfix drivers scored 9.6 (very high). If you look closer at the total number of frames tested you can see the total number of frames tested and that is representative of the power of each card. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 rendered nearly 36% more frames than the Radeon R9 Fury X, but even the Fury X had all frames tested being above 90 FPS.

3DMark 2013

3Dmark Fire Strike Benchmark Results - For high performance gaming PCs Use Fire Strike to test the performance of dedicated gaming PCs, or use the Fire Strike Extreme preset for high-end systems with multiple GPUs. Fire Strike uses a multi-threaded DirectX 11 engine to test DirectX 11 hardware.

3DMark Fire Strike

Fire Strike Benchmark Results:

GeForce GTX 970 3DMark Fire Strike

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike benchmark had the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 scoring 14,788 points versus the 13,617 points scored on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X and 10,441 points on the EVGA GeForce GTX 970 Hybrid Gaming card.

Fire Strike Extreme Benchmark Results: GeForce GTX 970 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme

Benchmark Results: In 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme we see different scores, but basically the same scaling and performance results between the cards. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 FE scored 9,387 points and GeForce GTX 1070 FE came in at 7,746 points.

Temperature & Noise Testing

The gaming performance on a graphics card is the most important factor in buying a card, but you also need to be concerned about the noise, temperature and power consumption numbers. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Idle and Load Temps: GeForce GTX 1070 Temps When it comes to temperatures the GeForce GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5 Founders Edition graphics card were 35C at idle and 82C at load while gaming on our open air test bench. This is not a 0dB fan design, so notice the fan was spinning at 1100 RPM at idle and then 2773 RPM at load. temp-testing-1070 Here is a chart that shows the temperatures of the GeForce GTX 1070 FE versus some other high-end desktop cards.  

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

noise-testing-1070 Like the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080, the GeForce GTX 1070 also isn't the quietest card we've ever tested, but it isn't the loudest either. We have no complaints about the sound level or choke whine issues with our sample card. ** The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X reference card that we are using was the original model with a loud water pump that whines. AMD changed the pump design before the cards hit the retail market, but wasn't willing to replace ours. We expect retail cards to perform quieter for this and hopefully AMD will send us a replacement card for proper noise testing. **

Power Consumption

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 4 at 3840x2160 and recorded the average idle reading and the peak gaming reading on the power meter. power-consumption-gtx1070 Power Consumption Results: The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 in our test system used 98 Watts at idle and 281 Watts at peak 4K gaming. It should be noted that when we played the same spot over at a lower resolution the power consumption jumped up at times to right around 310 Watts, so the display resolution you game at or test at will greatly alter the power numbers. Keep this in mind if you are reading a number of different reviews this week!

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Overclocking

As you saw from the benchmarks on the previous pages, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is no slouch at stock speeds! Those looking for even more performance can use an overclocking utility like EVGA Precision X to get even more performance from the GP104 'Pascal' GPU. This is due to the fact that NVIDIA left plenty of overhead with particular GPU for enthusaists and gamers to tap into if they wanted to push the envelope a little bit. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is power limited in most game titles and it will often hit the stock temperature target of 83C, so it will also benefit from additional power and a higher temperature target. EVGA Precision X OC We installed a latest version of the EVGA PrecisionX 16 overclocking utility to overclock the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 video card! You can use whatever software utility you like for overclocking, but this was the only one available that supports the Pascal GPU architecture at the time of testing. GeForce GTX 1070 GPU-Z In case you forgot, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition graphics card is clocked at 1506 MHz base with a boost clock of 1683MHz. The 8GB of GDDR5 memory is clocked at 2002MHz (8008 MHz effective). Let's see how much higher we can get this partially disabled GP104 Pascal GPU with 1920 CUDA cores! evga-precision-oc-1070 The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is pretty open when it comes to overclocking. You can increase the power target to 112% and if you leave the GPU Temp Target locked it will automatically increase to 92C. We pushed the GPU Clock offset to +260MHz and the Mem Clock Offset to +325MHz on our card and found it was stable in the game titles that we tested. GeForce GTX 1070 Overclock This overclock meant that we were running at up to 2126.0 MHz at times thanks to NVIDIA Boost 3.0 on the core and 2166.8 MHz (8667.2 MHz effective) on the 8GB of GDDR5 memory. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Stock: 3dmark-1070 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Overclocked (+260/+325): GeForce GTX 1070 3DMark Overclocked Results By overclocking the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition graphics card we were able to take the score of 14,788 on 3DMark Fire Strike and raise it up to 15,998. This is a 1,210 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 8.2 percent. The overal FPS average in Graphics Test 1 went from 82.68 to 91.19, which is a 10.3% performance gain in this particular graphics test. We benchmarked the GeForce GTX 1070 overclocked to +260MHz core and +325MHz memory in a number of game titles and found that it was rock solid with nice performance gains. BF4 GeForce GTX 1070 Overclocked For example in BF4 at 4K resolution we were able to average 48.4 FPS with the stock clocks and then with the GeForce GTX 1070 we were able to average 53.8 FPS. This wasn't enough to catch up to the stock NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition video card, but it was enough to pass up the retail GeForce GTX 980 Ti cards and we'll take that for $449 or less if you get a $379 MSRP AIB model! gtx1070 fallout 4 4k oc In Fallout 4 the overclock helped the GeForce GTX 1070 get from 48.4 FPS on average up to 53.8 FPS. This 11% performance boost was nice to have, but it wasn't enough to pull ahead of all the GeForce GTX 980 Ti retail cards with their default factory overclocks. Let's wrap this review up!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition at $449 was found to perform faster more times than not when compared to the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X flagship graphics card with HBM memory that costs a whopping $639.99 before rebates. The custom Add-In-Board (AIB) partner cards for the GeForce GTX 1070 will likely be clocked faster than the Founder Edition model that we looked at today and will run just $379. That means the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is poised to dominate the $400 price point until AMD can come up with something in this price range to put some pressure back on NVIDIA. Right now the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX 1070 video cards based on the new Pascal GPU architecture are going to dominate things! The GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition sold out in minutes and we have a good feeling that the GeForce GTX 1070 is going to sell like hotcakes as well. Dollar Per FPS Performance of the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 was amazing for the price point. We took the average FPS from our Battlefield 4 results and found the cost per FPS based on Newegg pricing on May 29th, 2016. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 can be picked up for $309.49 and runs $8.99 per FPS on BF4 at 4K. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition isn't too far behind at $9.30. The thing you need to keep in mind is that the GeForce GTX 1070 MSRP for third party cards is just $379.99. We charted that for fun with the results from the Founders Edition card and found it to be the best bang for the buck of all the cards at $7.85. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury, R9 Nano and R9 Fury X all proved to have the worst price versus performance ratio on this particular game title. This is bad news for AMD as they are no longer competitive when it comes to price versus performance. AMD's flagship 'Fury' and 'Nano' cards might have the latest HBM memory, but the performance and price tag needs to be adjusted now that NVIDIA has released Pascal GPUs on the GeForce GTX 1070 and GeForce GTX 1080! NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Video Card Our NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition video card also overclocked really well and we saw the boost clocks hit over 2100MHz while gaming with full stability and that left us pretty damn impressed. NVIDIA really did some great tuning to the Pascal architecture and of course the die shrink helped, but before we learned the details on these cards we didn't think that we'd be running the core clock at 2100 to 2200 MHz! The best part of the GeForce GTX 1070 is that it isn't a power hog. Our test system ran consistently in the 270-280W range while gaming and that is awesome. When we went back to spot check some numbers on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X right after using the GeForce GTX 1070 the different was night and day. The Radeon R9 Fury X runs around 500 Watts and quickly changes the room temperature if you use it for an extended period of time. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 is a solid performing card that is very well rounded. We have no complaints on performance, noise, power consumption, temperatures or anything. If you can't afford the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 at $599-$699 we highly suggest giving the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 a look at $379 to $449. This card is killer at 1080P and 1440 screen resolutions and it isn't a slouch at 4K, but most 4K gamers might be yearning for the power of the GeForce GTX 1080 and we fully understand that! If you have an older GeForce GTX 500 or 600 series card the performance increase will be astonishing and we are looking at putting together an article to show the performance increases for folks with older cards here shortly. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 will hit store shelves on June 10th and it easily gets our recommended award! LR Recommended Award Legit Bottom Line:  The GeForce GTX 1070 turned out to be a impressive graphics card that comes at a rather affordable price point for everything it delivers.