PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Video Card

Last week, AMD brought 'new' Radeon R9 300 series video cards to market that are essentially updates of the Radeon R9 200 series cards to ensure gamers have the performance they need be it for online gaming or in eSports competitors. The AMD Radeon R9 390X might not be the fastest card in fastest card in the stable, but AMD took their previous flagship video card that's been battling NVIDIA's flagship cards and gave it a few tweaks under the hood. Those tweaks are basically higher clock speeds and requiring 8GB of GDDR5 memory to be on all Radeon R9 390X cards. AMD was able to do this without increasing the cards Thermal Design Power (TDP) as they have the 28nm Hawaii GPU manufacturing process figured out and refinements over the years have allowed for higher clock speeds and improved efficiency. AMD believes that these improvements are enough to ensure Hawaii will be competitive in the market that is quickly embracing 4K and Virtual Reality (VR) gaming. PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8G Today we have the pleasure of looking at our very first AMD Radeon R9 390X 8GB video card! The first card that we'll be reviewing is the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB graphics card that is sold under part number AXR9 390X 8GBD5-PPDHE. This is the only R9 390X card offered by PowerColor for the time being, so it should be fairly easy to locate.
PowerColor PCS+ R9 390X PowerColor PCS+ R9 290X
GPU  AMD Hawaii AMD Hawaii
Stream Processors  2816 2816
GPU Clock  1060 MHz 1050 MHz
Pixel Fillrate  67.8 GPixel/s  67.2 GPixel/s
Texture Fillrate  186.6 GTexel/s  184.4 GTexel/s
Memory Amount  8GB GDDR5 4GB GDDR5
Memory Bus  512-bit 512-bit
Memory Clock  1500 MHz  1350 MHz
Memory Bandwidth  384.0 GB/s  345.6 GB/s
Warranty  2-Years 2-Years
 Release Date  June 2015  January 2014
Launch Price $449.99 $649.99
Street Price $449.99 Shipped $309.99 Shipped
The Radeon R9 290X and Radeon R9 390X share the same 28nm GCN Hawaii GPU, so both have 2,816 Stream Processors and the same overall feature set. The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X has a 1060 MHz GPU core clock, which is a modest 10 MHz improvement over the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X. The really noticeable difference will be on the memory side where the frame buffer was increased from 4GB to 8GB and the clock speed was bumped up from 1350 MHz all the way up to 1500 MHz. It's always nice to see speed improvements, but we reviewed the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X 4GB video card back in March 2014 and was able to overclock it up to 1192MHz Core and 1500MHz on the 4GB of GDDR5 memory without increasing the voltage of the  card. That is something we think is important to note as the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X is available now $309.99 shipped after rebate and the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X is $140 more expensive at $449.99 shipped. Will doubling the memory and changing a few things here and there make the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X stand out from the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X? PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X The PowerColor PCS+ R9 390X looks similar to the R9 290X card that it updates as PowerColor did change a few things on the metal fan shroud to help improve the looks.  The three fan design comes with PowerColor Mute Fan Technology delivers intelligent fan controlling to provide noiseless environment as well as reducing the power consumption when the GPU temperature is lower than 60°C. The heatsink itself has also been changed to a four heatpipe design with one 10mm super pipe, two 8mm pipes and one 6mm pipe. These heatpipes are soldered to the GPU baseplate as well as the two heatsink fin arrays. Under the hood we also learned that PowerColor gave the PCS+ R9 390X the Gold Power Kit, which means this card has a Digital PWM solution with an 8 phase (6+1+1) board design. PowerColor says this helps with power efficiency and stability to ensure this card has more than enough power at both stock and overclocked settings. PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Video Card The PowerColor PCS+ R9 390X GPU cooler has a three fan design that comes with PowerColor Mute Fan Technology. Mute Fan Technology is a fancy term saying that the fans won't spin for a 0dB noiseless environment until the GPU temperature hits 60°C and then the fans come on. PowerColor says that this also saves power as the fans don't need any power at idle! Will it fit? The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB graphics card measures in 11.25-inches in length with the PCB itself measuring 10.5-inches in length. The thickness of the R9 390X Vapor-X OC is exactly 2.0 inches thick when we checked with our digital dial calipers and that means it will require the use of three PCI-E slots rather than just taking up two.
powercolor mute fan switch
There is a BIOS switch on the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB, but PowerColor just put one BIOS on the card. This switch is still useful though as if a BIOS every gets corrupted you can just switch over to the other one.   PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X It should be noted that the metal backplate on this card is spaced 0.25-inch away from the PCB by metal spacers. We aren’t sure why PowerColor spaced the backplate so far away as it won’t fit in the primary PCIe x16 slot on some motherboards that have the memory that are right next to the graphics card slot. Our test system uses an ASUS P9X79-E WS motherboard and it this card won’t fit in the primary slot, so we had to run it in the next x16 slot! PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X HDMI When it comes to display outputs the design team left it untouched and went with the standard AMD connections. This means you have a pair of Dual-Link DVI-D, HDMI 1.4a and DisplayPort 1.2 outputs. The DVI outputs support screen resolutions up to 2560x1600 and the DP and HDMI ports support screen resolutions up to 4096x2160. There is a high-flow hot air exhaust bracket, but not much air is exhausted out of a case since the GPU coolers aluminum cooling fins are arranged vertically and not horizontally.   PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X Power Connector The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X has one 8-pin and one 6-pin PCIe power connector that must be used for proper operation and PowerColor recommends using a 750 Watt or larger power supply. Multiple cards can be used for an AMD CrossFire setup and no bridge or interconnect is needed on this card series since all the communication is done over the PCI Express 3.0 bus. If you get a second, third or fourth card you can just enable CrossFire in AMD's Catalyst Control Center and go about your day. POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 390X  Bundle When it comes to the accessory bundle you get a 6-pin PCIe power to 8-pin PCie power adapter, a quick setup guide and the driver/utility disc. This is a pretty basic bundle for a high-end card, but hopefully there is a game bundle or something else being offered by the retailers at the time of purchase that you can get in on. Let's take a look at the test system and move along to benchmarking!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. It should be noted that we average all of our test runs. There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago. Video Cards & Drivers used for testing:

Intel X79/LGA2011 Platform

test-system

The Intel X79 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS P9X79-E WS motherboard with BIOS 1501 that came out on 01/15/2014. We went with the Intel Core i7-4960X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform as it is PCIe 3.0 certified, so all graphics cards are tested with PCI Express Gen 3 enabled. The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary 16GB 2400MHz quad channel memory kit was set to XMP Profile #2. This profile defaults to 2133MHz with 1.65v and 11-12-12-30 1T memory timings. The OCZ Vertex 460 240GB SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair AX860i digital power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements than the old Corsair AX1200 power supply that we used from 2012 till this year that had a loud fan that always ran. gpu-test-system-specs Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:
The Intel X79 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor Intel Core i7-4960X
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory
16GB Kingston 2133MHz
Video Card Various
Solid-State Drive OCZ Vertex 460 240GB
Cooling Intel TS13X (Asetek)
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Operating System Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Monitor Sharp PN-K321 32" 4K
PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Video Card GPU-Z Info:  3dmark-390x-gpuz  

Batman: Arkham Origins

BatmanOrigins-SS Batman: Arkham Origins is an action-adventure video game developed by Warner Bros. Games Montréal. Based on the DC Comics superhero Batman, it follows the 2011 video game Batman: Arkham City and is the third main installment in the Batman: Arkham series. It was released worldwide on October 25, 2013. BatmanOrigins settings For testing we used DirectX11 Enhanced, FXAA High Anti-Aliasing and with all the bells and whistles turned on. It should be noted that V-Sync was turned off and that NVIDIA's PhysX software engine was also disabled to ensure both the AMD and NVIDIA graphics cards were rendering the same objects. We manually ran FRAPS on the single player game instead of using the built-in benchmark to be as real world as we possibly could. We ran FRAPS in the Bat Cave, which was one of the only locations that we could easily run FRAPS for a couple minutes and get it somewhat repeatable. batman-cpu-utilization The CPU usage for Batman: Arkham Origins was surprising low with just 10% of the Intel Core i7-4960X being used by this particular game title. You can see that the bulk of the work is being done by one CPU core. batman-furyx Benchmark Results: The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X had an average of 50.54 FPS on Batman Arkham Origins, which is about 8.4% faster than the AMD Radeon R9 290X reference card. The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X was slower than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 reference card as it scored 52.91 FPS. batman-time Benchmark Results: When you look at performance over time it should be a shock to anyone to see the Radeon R9 390X mirroring the Radeon R9 290X, but at just a slightly higher level of performance. The larger 8GB frame buffer might come in handy on some 4K multi-monitor setups, but on our single-monitor setup we never saw it make a difference in the half a dozen games that we tested.

Battlefield 4

bf4-screenshot Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE (DICE) and published by Electronic Arts. It is a sequel to 2011's Battlefield 3 and was released on October 29, 2013 in North America. Battlefield 4's single-player Campaign takes place in 2020, six years after the events of its predecessor. Tensions between Russia and the United States have been running at a record high. On top of this, China is also on the brink of war, as Admiral Chang, the main antagonist, plans to overthrow China's current government; and, if successful, the Russians will have full support from the Chinese, bringing China into a war with the United States. bf4-settings This game title uses the Frostbite 3 game engine and looks great. We tested Battlefield 4 with the Ultra graphics quality preset as most discrete desktop graphics cards can easily play with this IQ setting at 1080P and we still want to be able to push the higher-end cards down the road. We used FRAPS to benchmark each card with these settings on the Shanghai level. bf4-cpu-utilization Battlefield 4 is more CPU intensive than any other game that we benchmark with as 25% of the CPU is used up during gameplay. You can see that six threads are being used and that the processor is running in Turbo mode at 3.96GHz more times than not. bf4-furyx Benchmark Results: In Battlefield 4 with Ultra settings at 3840x2160 we found the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card coming in at 34.03 FPS, which is less than 1 FPS faster than NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB reference card! This is a big bump up in performance, so it is also likely that there were some driver improvements in the latest beta driver that also helped the 390X's level of performance. bf4-time   Benchmark Results: The frame rate  over time chart shows that all of the cards are very similar, but are all performing in different ranges.

Crysis 3

crysis3-SS Like the others, it is a first-person shooter developed by Crytek, using their CryEngine 3. Released in February 2013, it is well known to make even powerful system choke. It has probably the highest graphics requirements of any game available today. Unfortunately, Crytek didn’t include a standardized benchmark with Crysis 3. While the enemies will move about on their own, we will attempt to keep the same testing process for each test. crysis3-settings crysis3-settings2 Crysis 3 has a reputation for being highly resource intensive. Most graphics cards will have problems running Crysis 3 at maximum settings, so we settled on no AA with the graphics quality mostly set to Very High with 16x AF. We disabled v-sync and left the motion blur amount on medium. crysis3-cpu-utilization Crysis 3 appeared to run for the most part on just 3 CPU threads and used up about 15-18% of our Intel Core i7-4960X processor with these settings. Notice that the processor speed was at 3.53GHz and we very seldom, if ever, saw the processor go into turbo mode on Crysis 3. crysis3-furyx Benchmark Results: On Crysis 3 at 3840x2160 the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X graphics card averaged 22.99 FPS again beating out the GeForce GTX 980 that averaged 22.23 FPS. crysis3-time   Benchmark Results: Crysis 3 uses right around 4GB of frame buffer, so it might be seeing the extra memory kicking in here in this benchmark. We looked at GPU-Z and saw more than 4GB of memory being used by the GPU in Crysis 3 and Far Cry 4, so that might be part of the reason we see a nice performance jump.

Far Cry 4

FarCry4 Far Cry 4 is an action-adventure first-person shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft for the PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One video game consoles, and Microsoft Windows. It is the sequel to 2012's Far Cry 3. The game was released on November 18th, 2014 in North America and Europe. Far Cry 4 follows Ajay Ghale, a young Kyrati-American who returns to his native country Kyrat to spread his deceased mother's ashes. He finds the country in a state of civil war between Kyrat's Royal Army led by the country's eccentric and tyrant king Pagan Min and the Golden Path, a rebel movement fighting to free Kyrat from Min's oppressive rule. FarCry4 settings Far Cry 4 uses the heavily modified Dunia Engine 2 game engine with Havok physics. The graphics are excellent and the game really pushes the limits of what one can expect from mainstream graphics cards. We set game title to Ultra image quality settings and did not adjust any of the advanced settings. farcry4 CPU Usage Far Cry 4 uses about 30% of the processor and is running on multiple cores as you can see from our screen capture above. One core has more of a load on it than the others, but all logical processors are being uses to some degree when playing Far Cry 4. fc4-furyx

Benchmark Results: In Far Cry 4 the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  averaged 38.31 FPS and the Radeon R9 290 X averaged 30.24 FPS. GPU-Z showed that we were using 4.3GB of frame buffer when running this benchmark test, so it looks like that 8GB of memory will help in some situations!  The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  easily beat the GeForce GTX 980 reference card and even the factory overclocked ASUS Poseidon GTX 980!

fc4-time

Benchmark Results: In Far Cry 4 the AMD Radeon R9 290X reference card dipped below 30 FPS quite often, but the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X never hit 30 FPS and never dropped below that important threshold.

Metro Last Light

 

MetroLL-SS

Metro: Last Light is a first-person shooter video game developed by Ukrainian studio 4A Games and published by Deep Silver. The game is set in a post-apocalyptic world and features action-oriented gameplay with a combination of survival horror elements. It uses the 4A Game engine and was released in May 2013. metro-settings Metro: Last Light was benchmarked with very high image quality settings with the SSAA set to off and 4x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. We benchmarked this game title on the Theater level. metroll-cpu-utilization

We again found around 20% CPU usage on Metro: Last Light.

metro-furyx Benchmark Results: In Metro: Last Light the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  averaged of 40.42 FPS versus the 39.41 FPS of the GeForce GTX 980 and the 35.51 FPS of the AMD Radeon R9 290X 4GB video card.  metro-time Benchmark Results: No big performance dips or spikes that are out of the ordinary here! We were happy to see the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  stay above 30FPS for the entire benchmark run!

Thief

thief Thief is a series of stealth video games in which the player takes the role of Garrett, a master thief in a fantasy/steampunk world resembling a cross between the Late Middle Ages and the Victorian era, with more advanced technologies interspersed. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix on February 25, 2014. thief-display-settings thief-graphics-settings We ran Thief with the image quality settings set at normal with VSYNC disabled. dayz-cpu-utilization Thief appears to be running on the six physical cores of the Intel Core i7-4960X processor and averages around 17-24% CPU usage from what we were able to tell from the CPU utilization meter that is built into the Windows 8.1 task manager. thief-furyx Benchmark Results: On Thief we found the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card averaging 46.28 FPS and the GeForce GTX 980 coming in with an average of 50.64 FPS. The AMD Radeon R9 290X scored 42.01 FPS, so the 390X was 10.2% faster that 290X reference card. thief-time Benchmark Results: The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X was able to stay several FPS ahead of the Radeon R9 290X for the benchmark run!

3DMark 2013

3Dmark Fire Strike Benchmark Results - For high performance gaming PCs Use Fire Strike to test the performance of dedicated gaming PCs, or use the Fire Strike Extreme preset for high-end systems with multiple GPUs. Fire Strike uses a multi-threaded DirectX 11 engine to test DirectX 11 hardware.

3DMark Fire Strike

  Fire Strike Extreme Benchmark Results:

3dmark-extreme

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme benchmark had the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card coming in with an overall score of 5,626 and the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 scored 5,853. Those scores are pretty close scores and the 390X came in 646 points or 13% faster than the 290X that we used!

Fire Strike Ultra 4K Benchmark Results:

3dmark ultra

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra '4K' benchmark has the PowerColor Radeon R9 390X scoring 2996 points and the AMD Radeon R9 290X coming in at 2661 points, so there is a 12.5% performance gap between the R9 390X and the R9 290X on this synthetic 4K Ultra HD benchmark test.

Temperature & Noise Testing

Temperatures are important to enthusiasts and gamers, so we took a bit of time and did some temperature testing on the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB. PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Idle Temps: 390x-idle At idle we found the GPU core temperature was 53C with no fans spinning thanks to PowerColor Mute Fan Technology. GPU-Z reported that the fan speed at 20% (1060RPM), but this is actually wrong as they weren't spinning. The VRM temps in an idle state without any fans running were 48-49C for both the VRM1 and VRM2 measurements. PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Gaming Load Temps powercolor-390x-load When gaming we hit 67C in a room with a temperature of 70F (21C) with three cooling fans topping out at 2965 RPM. The fans on the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  are either not running or are running fast and loud! The VRM temperatures hit 71C on VRM1 and 64C on VRM2 when gaming for about an hour and maxing out the cards temperatures. temperatures The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  had the highest idle temperature of any high-end card that we have recently testing, but it's also the only card in the group that has a 0dB fanless idle design.  At full load the card is kept nice and cool thanks to the fans spinning at nearly 3,000 RPM and the temperature topped out at 67C. The AMD Radeon R9 290X reference card topped out at 94C, so we are very happy with 67C result!

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

noise-levels The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card had the lowest noise levels at idle since the cards fans weren't running and then the highest noise level when the fans were running. This card is either dead silent or running full out!

Power Consumption

PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X Power Connector For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 4 at 3840x2160 and recorded the average idle reading and the peak gaming reading on the power meter. power-consumption Power Consumption Results: The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X topped out at 429W in the scene that we use for benchmarking in Battlefield 4, which means it uses about ~55 Watts more power at load than the Radeon R9 290X 4GB card. This is likely due to the factory overclock, three high speed fans and the additional memory used on the frame buffer. Performance Per Watt Fury X When it comes to Performance Per Watt we can see the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X actually still does better than the Radeon R9 290X!

PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X Overclocking

How well does the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB graphics card overclock? We were wondering the same thing and fired up AMD Catalyst Control Center to find out!

3dmark-390x-gpuz

In case you forgot, the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X  is already factory overclocked up to 1060MHz on the core and the 8GB of Hynix memory is running at 1500. Let's see how much higher we can get those 2816 stream processors! 3dmark-390x-ccc   We were able to use AMD OverDrive to bump up the GPU clock by 6% and also bump up the GDDR5 memory clock by 100MHz. 3dmark-390x-gpuz-oc This overclock meant that we were running at 1124 MHz on the core and 1600MHz on the memory, which should give us a small performance boost. We were hoping to get slightly better core clocks, but our card wasn't having it and would begin to artifact if we overclocked the core beyond 6% in AMD OverDrive. PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Stock: 3dmark-firestrikex PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB Overclocked (+64MHz Core / +100MHz Memory): 3dmark-firestrikex-oc By overclocking the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X video card we were able to take the score of 5,626 on 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme and raise it up to 5,887. This is a 261 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 4.6 percent. The overal FPS average in Graphics Test 1 went from 30.25 to 31.69 FPS, which is a 4.8% performance gain in that graphics test. Not huge performance gains, but it is better than running stock! Let's wrap this review up!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X   Going into this review we were expecting the 'new' AMD Radeon R9 390X video card to perform slightly better than the 'old' AMD Radeon R9 290X and that is exactly what we discovered after completing our performance testing. This shouldn't come as a shock to anyone as the two cards share the same GPU and are basically differentiated by their clock speeds and the amount of memory they have. The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card appears to have benefited from the larger 8GB frame buffer in a couple of our game tests. While this is exciting there are AMD Radeon R9 290X 8GB models that have been on the market for months, so nothing here is too amazing. The initial group of AMD Radeon R300 series cards are updates to the older Radeon R200 series cards. Overclocking performance on the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB was decent, but we were unable to match the GPU core clock that we could reach on the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X 4GB. That was a little disappointing, but every card overclocks differently and the very next card off the assembly line could have been better!
PowerColor PCS+ R9 390X PowerColor PCS+ R9 290X
GPU  AMD Hawaii AMD Hawaii
Stream Processors  2816 2816
GPU Clock  1060 MHz 1050 MHz
Pixel Fillrate  67.8 GPixel/s  67.2 GPixel/s
Texture Fillrate  186.6 GTexel/s  184.4 GTexel/s
Memory Amount  8GB GDDR5 4GB GDDR5
Memory Bus  512-bit 512-bit
Memory Clock  1500 MHz  1350 MHz
Memory Bandwidth  384.0 GB/s  345.6 GB/s
Warranty  2-Years 2-Years
 Release Date  June 2015  January 2014
Launch Price $449.99 $649.99
Street Price $449.99 Shipped $309.99 Shipped
When it comes to pricing you are looking at $449.99 shipped for the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB. That price doesn't sound bad at first, but you can go over to Newegg and purchase last years PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X 4GB video card for $309.99 shipped after a $20 rebate. We are fully aware that the Radeon R200 series cards are no longer being produced and once inventories are depleted that they'll be gone, but we really like the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X 4GB video card that we reviewed last year for $310! AMD and PowerColor will cringe when they read that, but if you are gaming on a single 4K display on the game titles that are out now the 290X 4GB card is still a viable option while they can still be found.  Keep in mind that both the 290X and 390X both cost much less than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 that it performed somewhat closely with as that card runs $514.99 shipped after a $20 rebate. AMD Radeon Lineup 2015 Here is how pricing looks on all of the 'new' AMD Radeon R7 and R9 300 series cards that were just launched this month. Legit Bottom Line: The PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 390X 8GB video card is a solid graphics card that uses the AMD Hawaii GPU, but will be a tough sell while the PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 290X 4GB video card is available for $140 less!