AMD Unleashes The Radeon R9 Fury X Video Card

AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Video Card The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X features the brand new AMD Fiji GPU and is the first graphics card to hit the market with High-Bandwidth Memory (HBM) technology. We've been talking about this card so much in recent weeks it really feels weird to be writing the launch article as there really isn't anything new to tell you besides our own internal benchmark results that were done independently by us. We've already given you an in-depth look at High-Bandwidth Memory, given you an overview of the Fury X, completely torn down the Fury X, and even shown you the benchmarks that AMD did internally and published.  AMD had so many leaks on this card that last week they allowed all the information in the reviewers guide to be published last week! AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Specifications   Since there is a chance that you don't know what the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X is, we'll do a quick recap. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card features the brand new AMD Fiji GPU that features 4096 stream processor and has 8.9 billion transistors.  This is the first GPU that utilizes HBM Gen 1 technology from SKHynix and the card has four 1GB memory stacks located around the GPU die on an interposer. The total number of transistors on the interposer is over 10 billion! The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X is clocked at 1050MHz on the core and 500MHz on the HBM, which is good for 8.6 TFLOPS of power. The 4GB of HBM1 operates on a very wide 4096-bit memory interface and the 500MHz clock speed allows for up to 512 GB/s of memory bandwidth. Interestingly, AMD increased the number of texture units on the card to 256, but kept the number of ROPs at 64. This puts the texture fill rate at 268.8 GT/s and the pixel fill-rate at 67.2 GP/s. When it comes to pricing we have been told that the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X will be priced at $649, which just happens to be the same price as the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti. The nine new cards announced by AMD in June 2015 with announced suggested retail prices can be found below.   AMD Radeon R9 Fury X The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X measures 194mm in length or 7.64-inches in length and utilizes a closed loop water cooler that features a 120mm radiator and fan. The water cooler was designed by Cooler Master specifically for this video card. The cooler features anti-kink plastic water tubing that is 400mm in length and has been individually sleeved, so you’ll have three 400mm long connectors going between the card itself and the radiator. AMD went with a Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fan for the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X reference design. The exact model number is D1225C12B7AP-29 and it tops out at 3,000 RPM. This 120mm fan has a stabilizing ring on the fan blades to help keep noise down and to handle high resistance when used on radiators in applications such as this. fury X cooler master   AMD improved the build quality of the Radeon R9 Fury X video card and moved to a multi-piece aluminum die-case construction with soft-touch side plates that are removable. The exposed metal is all black nickel aluminum that has been polished. AMD is thinking about releasing all the data needed to 3D print your own side covers and we hope they do as that would be need to make your own side panels for the card. AMD sleeved the fan separately from the cooling tubes to allow enthusiasts to change out the fan if they desire to do so at a later time. You can better see this with the side cover removed. The radiator uses the standard 120mm mounting configuration and should fit in most any case sold on the market in recent years. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Back One other new feature on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X that has never been used on a GPU before is the addition of the GPU Tach. AMD soldered down nine LEDs on the back of the card just below the power connectors that allow you to see the GPU load level. There are two DIP switches on the backplate that allow you to enable or disable the GPU Tach and allows you to change the color of the LEDs between red and blue to go with your case theme better. Eight of the LEDs are for the GPU load level and can be red or blue. The ninth LED light is green and when it is lit up it visually lets you know that the GPU is in AMD’s ZeroCore power mode. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X HDMI 1.4 The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X features three DisplayPort 1.2a connectors and one HDMI 1.4 connector when it comes to display options. For some reason AMD did not add support for HDMI 2.0 on this graphics card, which means you won't be able to run a 4K Ultra HD panel at 60Hz over HDMI. It is for this reason that AMD recommends using DisplayPort for 4k60 content. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Power Connectors The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X is a 275W card that has two 8-pin PCIe power connectors on it. The Radeon R9 Fury X has a 6-phase power design that is capable of delivering up to 400 Amps of power to the Fiji GPU. The water cooler is rated at up to 500W, so it should be large enough to allow for some decent overclocks. Overclocking should not be limited by the power to the GPU or the reference GPU cooler! 980ti furyx Let's move along and take a look at the Radeon R9 Fury X does against other cards like the GeForce GTX 980 Ti!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. It should be noted that we average all of our test runs. There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago. Video Cards & Drivers used for testing:

Intel X79/LGA2011 Platform

GeForce GTX 980 Ti Test System

The Intel X79 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS P9X79-E WS motherboard with BIOS 1501 that came out on 01/15/2014. We went with the Intel Core i7-4960X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform as it is PCIe 3.0 certified, so all graphics cards are tested with PCI Express Gen 3 enabled. The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary 16GB 2400MHz quad channel memory kit was set to XMP Profile #2. This profile defaults to 2133MHz with 1.65v and 11-12-12-30 1T memory timings. The OCZ Vertex 460 240GB SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair AX860i digital power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements than the old Corsair AX1200 power supply that we used from 2012 till this year that had a loud fan that always ran. gpu-test-system-specs Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:
The Intel X79 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor Intel Core i7-4960X
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory
16GB Kingston 2133MHz
Video Card Various
Solid-State Drive OCZ Vertex 460 240GB
Cooling Intel TS13X (Asetek)
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Operating System Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Monitor Sharp PN-K321 32" 4K
AMD Radeon R9 Fury X 4GB Reference Card GPU-Z Info:  Radeon R9 Fury X GPU-Z NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Reference Video Card GPU-Z Info: GeForce GTX 980 Ti GPU-Z

AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Overclocking

How well does the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X graphics card overclock? We were wondering the same thing and fired up AMD Catalyst Control Center to find out! furyx overdrive AMD allows you to overlock the Radeon R9 Fury X video card with AMD OverDrive like normal, but you can only adjust the GPU clock settings as memory overclocking has been locked down. From what we gather AMD feels that High-Bandwidth Memory (HBM) is still too new and didn't want consumers overclocking it just yet. We have a feeling that down the road AMD will again allow memory overclocking, but it obviously won't be happening right out of the gate. AMD is aware of the desire to overclock and has issued statements like this with regards to overclocking the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card.
"We understand that enthusiast customers are always eager to squeeze the full potential out of their graphics card by overclocking. Typically electrical and thermal limitations impede the potential overclocks of a graphics card. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X has been designed with this in mind to minimize electrical and thermal limitations as barriers to enable those customers who want overclock their graphics card at their own discretion." - AMD

gpuz-furyx-stock

In case you forgot, the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X reference card comes clocked at 1050MHz on the core and 500MHz on the 4GB of SKHynix HBM1. Let's see how much higher we can get those 4096 stream processors! gaming-temp2 AMD informed us that a good overclock would be 100MHz, so hitting 1150MHz on the core clock was our goal. Unfortunately our particular card does not appear to be an overclocking friendly model for some reason and we topped out at 1130MHz with a 7.6% GPU clock setting in AMD OverDrive. We played around with the power limit setting, but it made no difference in performance by increasing it to 10% in a couple game titles we spot checked, so we just left it at zero. Every card clocks differently and overclocking performance is not guaranteed, so we will just have to work with what we got! fc4-overclocked   dx-error dx-error2 If we pushed the overclock just 0.1% more we encountered many in-game issues and all sorts of DirectX errors stating that the device had been removed from the system, which it had not. gpuz-furyx-oc This overclock meant that we were running at 1130 MHz at load and thanks to the water cooler we topped out at 55C when gaming with this overclock and the core clock stayed pegged at 1130MHz even after a several hour long gaming marathon. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Stock: 3dmark fury x AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Overclocked (+80MHz Core): furyx-oc2 By overclocking the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X 4GB reference card we were able to take the score of 7197 on 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme and raise it up to 7591. This is a 394 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 5.5 percent. The overal FPS average in Graphics Test 1 went from 38.08 to 40.34 FPS, which is a 5.9% performance gain in the graphics test. Not huge performance gains, but we'll take a free 6% performance gain any day of the week. We benchmarked the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X 4GB video card at stock speeds and then overclocked to +80MHz core for the entirety for this review so you can see how the card performs both with stock clock speeds.

Batman: Arkham Origins

BatmanOrigins-SS Batman: Arkham Origins is an action-adventure video game developed by Warner Bros. Games Montréal. Based on the DC Comics superhero Batman, it follows the 2011 video game Batman: Arkham City and is the third main installment in the Batman: Arkham series. It was released worldwide on October 25, 2013. BatmanOrigins settings For testing we used DirectX11 Enhanced, FXAA High Anti-Aliasing and with all the bells and whistles turned on. It should be noted that V-Sync was turned off and that NVIDIA's PhysX software engine was also disabled to ensure both the AMD and NVIDIA graphics cards were rendering the same objects. We manually ran FRAPS on the single player game instead of using the built-in benchmark to be as real world as we possibly could. We ran FRAPS in the Bat Cave, which was one of the only locations that we could easily run FRAPS for a couple minutes and get it somewhat repeatable. batman-cpu-utilization The CPU usage for Batman: Arkham Origins was surprising low with just 10% of the Intel Core i7-4960X being used by this particular game title. You can see that the bulk of the work is being done by one CPU core. batman-furyx Benchmark Results: The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X in stock form and when overclocked to the max came up short of catching the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti in Batman Arkham Origins. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X came in with an average frame rate of 61.92 to the 67.12 found on the GeForce GTX 980 Ti. The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X overclocked managed to hit 64.03 FPS, but that wasn't nearly enough as the GeForce GTX 980 Ti has a ton of overclocking headroom and reached 81.37 FPS when overclocked to the max. batman-time Benchmark Results: No big performance dips or spikes that are out of the ordinary here! The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X stayed above 50 FPS for the entire benchmark run!

Battlefield 4

bf4-screenshot Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE (DICE) and published by Electronic Arts. It is a sequel to 2011's Battlefield 3 and was released on October 29, 2013 in North America. Battlefield 4's single-player Campaign takes place in 2020, six years after the events of its predecessor. Tensions between Russia and the United States have been running at a record high. On top of this, China is also on the brink of war, as Admiral Chang, the main antagonist, plans to overthrow China's current government; and, if successful, the Russians will have full support from the Chinese, bringing China into a war with the United States. bf4-settings This game title uses the Frostbite 3 game engine and looks great. We tested Battlefield 4 with the Ultra graphics quality preset as most discrete desktop graphics cards can easily play with this IQ setting at 1080P and we still want to be able to push the higher-end cards down the road. We used FRAPS to benchmark each card with these settings on the Shanghai level. bf4-cpu-utilization Battlefield 4 is more CPU intensive than any other game that we benchmark with as 25% of the CPU is used up during gameplay. You can see that six threads are being used and that the processor is running in Turbo mode at 3.96GHz more times than not. bf4-furyx Benchmark Results: In Battlefield 4 with Ultra settings at 3840x2160 we were able to average 39.44 FPS on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card versus 43.47 FPS on the GeForce GTX 980 Ti. Even with the card overclocked to the max the Fury X came up a bit short with these particular settings at a 3840x2160 Ultra HD 4K screen resolution. bf4-time   Benchmark Results: The frame rate  over time chart shows that all of the cards are very similar, but are all performing in different ranges.

Crysis 3

crysis3-SS Like the others, it is a first-person shooter developed by Crytek, using their CryEngine 3. Released in February 2013, it is well known to make even powerful system choke. It has probably the highest graphics requirements of any game available today. Unfortunately, Crytek didn’t include a standardized benchmark with Crysis 3. While the enemies will move about on their own, we will attempt to keep the same testing process for each test. crysis3-settings crysis3-settings2 Crysis 3 has a reputation for being highly resource intensive. Most graphics cards will have problems running Crysis 3 at maximum settings, so we settled on no AA with the graphics quality mostly set to Very High with 16x AF. We disabled v-sync and left the motion blur amount on medium. crysis3-cpu-utilization Crysis 3 appeared to run for the most part on just 3 CPU threads and used up about 15-18% of our Intel Core i7-4960X processor with these settings. Notice that the processor speed was at 3.53GHz and we very seldom, if ever, saw the processor go into turbo mode on Crysis 3. crysis3-furyx Benchmark Results: On Crysis 3 at 3840x2160 the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X graphics card averaged 27.39 FPS and finally we see the Fury X beating out the 26.64 FPS average seen on the GeForce GTX 980 Ti.  Overclocking the GeForce GTX 980 Ti got our performance up to 33.18 FPS, which put it ahead of even the overclocked Radeon R9 Fury X video card. crysis3-time   Benchmark Results: Crysis 3 is damn near impossible to get identical FRAPS runs, but we do our best! The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card actually has a higher average frame rate than the GeForce GTX 980 Ti and you can see how it leads in the majority of this test.

Far Cry 4

FarCry4 Far Cry 4 is an action-adventure first-person shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft for the PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One video game consoles, and Microsoft Windows. It is the sequel to 2012's Far Cry 3. The game was released on November 18th, 2014 in North America and Europe. Far Cry 4 follows Ajay Ghale, a young Kyrati-American who returns to his native country Kyrat to spread his deceased mother's ashes. He finds the country in a state of civil war between Kyrat's Royal Army led by the country's eccentric and tyrant king Pagan Min and the Golden Path, a rebel movement fighting to free Kyrat from Min's oppressive rule. FarCry4 settings Far Cry 4 uses the heavily modified Dunia Engine 2 game engine with Havok physics. The graphics are excellent and the game really pushes the limits of what one can expect from mainstream graphics cards. We set game title to Ultra image quality settings and did not adjust any of the advanced settings. farcry4 CPU Usage Far Cry 4 uses about 30% of the processor and is running on multiple cores as you can see from our screen capture above. One core has more of a load on it than the others, but all logical processors are being uses to some degree when playing Far Cry 4. fc4-furyx

Benchmark Results: In Far Cry 4 the GeForce GTX 980 Ti averaged 41.96 FPS and the Radeon R9 Fury X averaged 45.87 FPS. When overclocked the GeForce GTX 980 Ti was able to beat out the Radeon R9 Fury X on FarCry 4 by nearly 3 FPS or about 6%.

fc4-time

Benchmark Results: The AMD Radeon Fury X 4GB video card was able to easily defeat the GeForce GTX 980 Ti in Far Cry 4 with Ultra image quality settings!

Metro Last Light

 

MetroLL-SS

Metro: Last Light is a first-person shooter video game developed by Ukrainian studio 4A Games and published by Deep Silver. The game is set in a post-apocalyptic world and features action-oriented gameplay with a combination of survival horror elements. It uses the 4A Game engine and was released in May 2013. metro-settings Metro: Last Light was benchmarked with very high image quality settings with the SSAA set to off and 4x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. We benchmarked this game title on the Theater level. metroll-cpu-utilization

We again found around 20% CPU usage on Metro: Last Light.

metro-furyx Benchmark Results: In Metro: Last Light the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X averaged of 52.47 FPS versus the 56.68 FPS of the GeForce GTX 980 Ti and the 40.42 FPS of the PowerColor PCS+ Radeon R9 390X 8GB video card.  metro-time Benchmark Results: No big performance dips or spikes that are out of the ordinary here! We were happy to see the Fury X stay above 40FPS for the entire benchmark run!

Thief

thief Thief is a series of stealth video games in which the player takes the role of Garrett, a master thief in a fantasy/steampunk world resembling a cross between the Late Middle Ages and the Victorian era, with more advanced technologies interspersed. Thief is the fourth title in the Thief series, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix on February 25, 2014. thief-display-settings thief-graphics-settings We ran Thief with the image quality settings set at normal with VSYNC disabled. dayz-cpu-utilization Thief appears to be running on the six physical cores of the Intel Core i7-4960X processor and averages around 17-24% CPU usage from what we were able to tell from the CPU utilization meter that is built into the Windows 8.1 task manager. thief-furyx Benchmark Results: On Thief we found the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card averaging 55.95 FPS and the GeForce GTX 980 Ti coming in with an average of 63.93 FPS. The PowerColor Radeon R9 390X scored 46.28 FPS, which was a nice bump up from the 42.01 FPS seen on the AMD Radeon R9 290X reference card. thief-time Benchmark Results: The Radeon R9 Fury X was simply out classed during pretty much the first 80% of this benchmark test, but came back at the end to run with the GeForce GTX 980 Ti.

3DMark 2013

3Dmark Fire Strike Benchmark Results - For high performance gaming PCs Use Fire Strike to test the performance of dedicated gaming PCs, or use the Fire Strike Extreme preset for high-end systems with multiple GPUs. Fire Strike uses a multi-threaded DirectX 11 engine to test DirectX 11 hardware.

3DMark Fire Strike

  Fire Strike Extreme Benchmark Results:

3dmark-extreme

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme benchmark had the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card coming in with an overall score of 7,197 and the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti scored 7,489. Those scores are pretty close and an overclocked Radeon R9 Fury X was able to top a stock GeForce GTX 980 Ti.

Fire Strike Ultra 4K Benchmark Results:

3dmark ultra

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra '4K' benchmark has the PowerColor Radeon R9 390X scoring 2996 points and the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X coming in at 3941 points, so there is a pretty big performance gap between the R9 390X and the Fury X. With the Fury X card overclocked as high as we could get it with stability we hit 4,140 points, which is just higher than the stock score of 4,023 points on the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti reference card. If you overclock the GeForce GTX 980 Ti you'll see that card reaching over 4,700 points on this benchmark. 

Temperature & Noise Testing

Temperatures are important to enthusiasts and gamers, so we took a bit of time and did some temperature testing on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Idle Temps: gpuz-furyx-idle At idle we found the GPU core temperature was 24C with the fan speed at 15%. The fan speed is shown at 3854 RPM, which is a mistake in GPU-Z as that is actually the water pump speed and not the fan speed. furyx overdrive We opened up AMD OverDrive to figure out the fan speed and found it to be around 965 RPM at an idle. The Scythe Gentle Typhoon cooling fan used on the radiator is very quiet, but the water pump on the Fury X most certainly has a high pitch whine to it. gpuz-furyx-gamingload When gaming we hit 54C in a room with a temperature of 70F (21C) with the water pump running at 5,300 RPM and the cooling fan on the radiator hitting 1150 RPM. The card also had what sounds like a very small amount of coil whine, but it was hard to tell if it was that or all just noise coming from the water pump. All we know is that the water pump is hands down the noisest component on the Radeon R9 Fury X. We expressed our concerns to AMD and they told us this:
"As far as the high-pitched whine, AMD received feedback that during open bench testing some cards emit a mild “whining” noise.  This is normal for most high speed liquid cooling pumps; Usually the end user cannot hear the noise as the pumps are installed in the chassis, and the radiator fan is louder than the pump.  Since the AMD Radeon™ R9 FuryX radiator fan is near silent, this pump noise is more noticeable. The issue is limited to a very small batch of initial production samples and we have worked with the manufacturer to improve the acoustic profile of the pump.  This problem has been resolved and a fix added to production parts and is not an issue." - AMD PR
AMD called the whining noise normal, but then said that there was an issue with the initial batch of water pumps and that they've worked with the manufacturer to improve the acoustic profile of the pump. We have asked AMD to provide us with a new water cooler for our card when one becomes available as it will likely change out thermal and acoustic testing results. Usually when a company changes the acoustic profile of the water pump they do so by changing the RPMs of the pump and that changes the flow rating and therefore the cooling performance. temperatures The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X has the lowest idle and load temperatures of any high-end gaming card today! The PowerColor Radeon R9 390X numbers look strange, but that card doesn't have the fans running when at idle and it warms up pretty good as you can see. The power target on the AMD Radeon Fury X is 75C, which is something you'll never hit unless something breaks!

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

noise-levels The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card has pretty respectable idle and load noise levels, but they certainly could be better as the water pump whine is very noticeable outside of a case and we could still hear it inside a case. AMD is working with the pump manufacturer to update the pumps acoustic profile, which should help lower the noise level even more. We'd expect at least a 2dB drop at idle if the pump wasn't audible.

Power Consumption

furyx power connector For testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 4 at 3840x2160 and recorded the average idle reading and the peak gaming reading on the power meter. power-consumption Power Consumption Results: The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X topped out at 408W in the scene that we use for benchmarking in Battlefield 4, which means it uses about 50 Watts more power at load than the GeForce GTX 980 Ti. The Radeon R9 Fury X uses less power than the Radeon R9 390X 8GB video card though, which is pretty good considering it's much faster and has a water pump to boot. Performance Per Watt Fury X When it comes to Performance Per Watt we can see that AMD has made a big leap forward in this performance metric. AMD has been trying to boost the gaming performance by coming up with power-efficient designs that will enable new form factors to come to market. The move to HBM appears to have helped AMD improve the performance per watt by nearly 29% over the original Hawaii GPU used on the AMD Radeon R9 290X reference card. In order to advance performance, AMD must advance performance per watt and it appears they have done just that while keeping the power limit in an acceptable range (275W TDP) for a high-end graphics card. Let's wrap this review up!

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

980ti furyx The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X was one of the most hyped up desktop graphics cards as it is the first consumer graphics card to ship with High-Bandwidth Memory on it. AMD was the first company to ship products using GDDR5 memory back in 2007 with the introduction of the Radeon HD 4870 graphics card, so this is the first major memory technology change to happen in nearly a decade. By going with HBM Gen 1 technology on the Radeon R9 Fury X video card it limited AMD to just 4GB of memory, but it gave the gobs of memory bandwidth and the card is certainly not memory bandwidth limited! We've only had the Radeon R9 Fury X for a few days, but we didn't see any major issues with 4GB of memory while gaming on a 4K monitor. HBM is costly right now since it's so new, so don't expect to see HBM come out on sub $300 video cards anytime soon. NVIDIA will be using HBM memory as well when they release the Pascal GPU sometime in 2016. NVIDIA might be late to the HBM game, but they made the decision to wait until HBM Gen 2 memory to come out as there are a number of improvements and it allows for up to 32GB of HBM2 to be used. AMD and NVIDIA will both be moving to HBM2 memory when it becomes available. The only bad news about that is Fiji was only designed to work with HBM1 memory, so we'll have to wait until AMD's next GPU offering in 2016 to see that come to market for the red team. AMD Radeon R9 Fury X performance When it comes to performance of the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X we were expecting for a clean sweep since AMD showed us that they were able to defeat the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti in 12 different game titles at 4K Ultra HD settings. We didn't test nearly as many titles since we don't have automated testing like NVIDIA and AMD, but our manual testing testing showed that the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X was slightly slower than the GeForce GTX 980 Ti in most of the benchmarks despite performing significantly faster than the Radeon R9 390X 8GB video card in all the benchmarks. The AMD Radeon R9 390X wasn't able to keep up with the GeForce GTX 980 Ti, but luckily the Radeon R9 Fury X can keep it competitive. AMD needed a really fast flagship offering and while they weren't able to knock the GeForce GTX 980 Ti out, they certainly got NVIDIA's attention with this product launch. When it comes to overclocking, the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X was able to overclock up to 1130MHz before we started having issues. This is an overclock of 7.6%, but we only saw about a 4-5.5% increase in the game titles. We didn't expect to see 1:1 performance scaling from the overclock, but this was a little lower than expected. It makes us wonder if keeping the ROP count at 64 on the Fury X GPU is actually a performance bottleneck now. AMD has kept the ROP count at 64 since releasing the Hawaii GPU in 2013. AMD will likely be able to get more performance out of this new GPU with driver enhancements though, so they might be able to get some more performance there. clockrate The water cooler used on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X did a great job keeping the card cool as it never got over 54C on our open air test bench. As long as you don't die and need to restart the game, the GPU will be clocked at 1050MHz while playing games sine the GPU is kept cool and throttling to prevent overheating isn't needed on this card! AMD Radeon Lineup 2015   The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X runs $649, the same price as the GeForce GTX 980 Ti. If you have been waiting on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card for months the wait is finally over and we hope the card lived up to the hype. The AMD Fiji GPU used on this card will be used on the AMD Radeon R9 Fury and Radeon R9 Nano air cooled cards that are coming out later this year. There will also be a pair of them on a Dual-GPU Fiji card that is also slated to be released this year on another water cooled card. LR Recommended Award
Legit Bottom Line: The AMD Radeon R9 Fury X video card is the fastest single-GPU card from AMD and is able to battle the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti at 4K Ultra HD gaming resolutions!