EVGA Superclocks The GeForce GTX 750 1GB Graphics Card

When NVIDIA released the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and GeForce GTX 750 we were only sampled the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and the majority of the reviews on launch day were on the GeForce GTX 750 Ti. We were impressed by the NVIDIA reference design as well as the add-in-board (AIB) designs that we took a look at in our launch article. It left us wondering how the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 would perform though as the it uses the same GM107 'Maxwell' GPU, but with one of the five Streaming Multiprocessors (SMM) disabled and is only available with 1GB of GDDR5 memory. Each SMM has 128 CUDA Cores, so with one SMM disabled there are just 512 CUDA cores available instead of the 640 CUDA Cores on fully enabled GM107 GPU.  Disabling the SMM also reduces the number of functional texture units down to 32 from 40, but the number of ROPs remains the same at 16. Will a 20% reduction in CUDA cores drastically impact performance? 

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Series Cards:

The NVIDIA suggested retail price for basic GeForce GTX 750 1GB video cards is $119, which is ~17% less than the GeForce GTX 750 Ti. It sounds like the price versus performance value of the GeForce GTX 750 1GB is basically the same as the GeForce GTX 750 Ti, but can you make up for that with some overclocking?

Reference Card Specifications GeForce GTX 750 Ti GeForce GTX 750
Chip GM107 GM107
CUDA Cores 640 512
Base Clock 1020 MHz 1020 MHz
Boost Clock 1085 MHz 1085 MHz
Memory Configuration 1 GB - 2 GB (128-bit) 1 GB (128-bit)
Memory Speed 5.4 Gbps 5.0 Gbps
Memory Bandwidth 86.4 GB/s 80 GB/s
Power Connectors None None
Outputs DL-DVI-I
DL-DVI-D
Mini-HDMI
DL-DVI-I
DL-DVI-D
Mini-HDMI
TDP 60 W 55 W
SLI Options None None
MSRP At Launch $139 for 1GB / $149 for 2GB $119

NVIDIA released both cards with the same the same core clock speeds and reduced the GDDR5 memory clock by 400MHz on the GeForce GTX 750. Since both cards have the same core clock speeds we would expect that there would be about a 20% or greater (due to the reduced memory clock) performance reduction. The GeForce GTX 750 Ti isn't the most powerful card in the world, but should do fine for mainstream gamers with a single 1920x1080 monitor that are okay without cranking up the AA and image quality settings in all of their game titles. So, what have the board partners done?

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC

EVGA has released a very interesting graphics card called the GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB. This card is factory overclocked with a 1215MHz base and 1294MHz boost clock! That would be about a 19% increase in core clock frequency and no change on the memory clock when compared to the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 reference design. Sure, you are still missing 20% of the CUDA cores on this model, but can the higher clock speeds make up for the disabled GPU tidbits and give you GeForce GTX 750 Ti performance in a GeForce GTX 750 video card? We got our hands on the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB graphics card with model number 01G-P4-2753-KR and will be figuring that out today. This card is available for $119.99 shipped after a $10 rebate.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Bundle

The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card comes with a small poster, instructions, driver disc and a DVI-to-VGA adapter. This video card is backed by a 3-year warranty should anything go wrong and needs a minimum of a 400W power supply with a +12V rating of 20 Amps. No external power is needed for this card as it has a Total Power Draw (TDP) of just 55 Watts and it can easily get that much power from the PCI Express slot.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Video Card

The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked video card is just 5.7-inches in length. It is a dual-slot card that is entirely blacked out. The PCB, heatsink, fan, fan shroud and even the backplate are all black! It should be noted that there is not an SLI interconnect on this card and that is because the GeForce GTX 750 and 750 Ti both do not support NVIDIA SLI technology. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti was also like this and it is because NVIDIA doesn’t think it is needed at the sub $150 price point. They can also upsell with SLI and use it to differentiate between their cards as you go up the product stack.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Display Outputs

When it comes to video outputs, the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB  single Dual-Link DVI connector along with HDMI and DisplayPort connections. This is one of the very few NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 series cards that has DisplayPort on it!  This is important as you need DisplayPort 1.2 to run an NVIDIA G-Sync monitor. This card is 4K monitor ready and supports a max analog resolution of 2048x1536 and a max digital resolution of 4096x2160. A 240Hz max refresh rate is also supported.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Power Connector

We thought this was an interesting shot that was worth including in the review as it shows there is no power header or SLI interconnect to be had along the top edge or end of the graphics card.  It also shows that the fan shroud is open around the heatsink.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Back

The back of the card doesn't have any key features that need to be talked about and we've all seen enough serial number and model number stickers in our lives.

 Let's take a quick look at our test system and then get to benchmarking the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB on some game titles!

Test System

Before we look at the numbers, let's take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done using a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. It should be noted that we average all of our test runs. There has been some concern of people testing a cold card versus a hot card, but we've always done out testing 'hot' since the site started back more than a decade ago.

Video Cards & Drivers used for testing:

Intel X79/LGA2011 Platform

Video Card Test System

The Intel X79 platform that we used to test the all of the video cards was running the ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard with BIOS 1501 that came out on 01/15/2014. We went with the Intel Core i7-4960X Ivy Bridge-E processor to power this platform as it is PCIe 3.0 certified, so all graphics cards are tested with PCI Express Gen 3 enabled. The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary 16GB 2400MHz quad channel memory kit was set to XMP Profile #2. This profile defaults to 2133MHz with 1.65v and 11-12-12-30 1T memory timings. The OCZ Vertex 460 240GB SSD was run with latest firmware available. A Corsair AX860i digital power supply provides clean power to the system and is also silent as the fan hardly ever spins up. This is critical to our testing as it lowers the ambient noise level of the room and gives us more accurate sound measurements than the old Corsair AX1200 power supply that we used from 2012 till this year that had a loud fan that always ran.

gpu-test-system-specs

Here are the exact hardware components that we are using on our test system:

The Intel X79 Test Platform

 

Component

 

Brand/Model

 

Live Pricing

 

Processor

 

Intel Core i7-4960X

 

Motherboard

ASUS P9X79-E WS

 

Memory

16GB Kingston 2133MHz

 

Video Card

 

Various

 

Solid-State Drive

 

OCZ Vertex 460 240GB

 

Cooling

 

Intel TS13X (Asetek)

 

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i

 

Operating System

 

Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

Monitor

 

Sharp PN-K321 32" 4K

 

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Video Card GPU-Z Information:

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 GPU-Z 

Batman: Arkham Origins

BatmanOrigins-SS

Batman: Arkham Origins is an action-adventure video game developed by Warner Bros. Games Montréal. Based on the DC Comics superhero Batman, it follows the 2011 video game Batman: Arkham City and is the third main installment in the Batman: Arkham series. It was released worldwide on October 25, 2013.

BatmanOrigins-SS

For testing we used DirectX11 Enhanced, FXAA High Anti-Aliasing and with all the bells and whistles turned on. It should be noted that V-Sync was turned off and that NVIDIA's PhysX software engine was also disabled to ensure both the AMD and NVIDIA graphics cards were rendering the same objects. We manually ran FRAPS on the single player game instead of using the built-in benchmark to be as real world as we possibly could. We ran FRAPS in the Bat Cave, which was one of the only locations that we could easily run FRAPS for a couple minutes and get it somewhat repeatable.

batman-cpu-utilization

The CPU usage for Batman: Arkham Origins was surprising low with just 10% of the Intel Core i7-4960X being used by this particular game title. You can see that the bulk of the work is being done by one CPU core.

batman

Benchmark Results: What!?!  The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB reference card just got topped by the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB graphics card.  It didn't beat it by much, but we are talking about a $119 graphics card (after rebate) taking town a card that is about $20 more. It looks like the significant overclock put on this card by EVGA did the trick and the results in Batman: Arkham Origins at 1920x1080 were clear!

batman-time

Benchmark Results: We won't be showing all the cards we have tested in the performance over time charts, but we'll include several relevant cards to give you an idea how the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card stacks up. As you can see the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card and the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB reference cards are very similar.

Battlefield 4

bf4-screenshot

Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE (DICE) and published by Electronic Arts. It is a sequel to 2011's Battlefield 3 and was released on October 29, 2013 in North America. Battlefield 4's single-player Campaign takes place in 2020, six years after the events of its predecessor. Tensions between Russia and the United States have beem running at a record high. On top of this, China is also on the brink of war, as Admiral Chang, the main antagonist, plans to overthrow China's current government; and, if successful, the Russians will have full support from the Chinese, bringing China into a war with the United States.

bf4-settings

This game title uses the Frostbite 3 game engine and looks great. We tested Battlefield 4 with the Ultra graphics quality preset as most discrete desktop graphics cards can easily play with this IQ setting at 1080P and we still want to be able to push the higher-end cards down the road. We used FRAPS to benchmark each card with these settings on the Shanghai level.

bf4-cpu-utilization

Battlefield 4 is more CPU intensive than any other game that we benchmark with as 25% of the CPU is used up during gameplay. You can see that six threads are being used and that the processor is running in Turbo mode at 3.96GHz more times than not.

 

bf4

Benchmark Results: In Battlefield 4 with Ultra settings the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superoverclocked 1GB video card once again averaged faster than the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and was above the 30FPS mark. It should be noted that we did not test with the Mantle API and stuck with DirectX 11 to ensure everything was tested on the same API.

 

bf4-time

Benchmark Results: The cards shadowed one another very closely in BF4 with the exception of the PowerColor Radeon R7 250X that was clearly outmatched.

Crysis 3

crysis3-SS

Like the others, it is a first-person shooter developed by Crytek, using their CryEngine 3. Released in February 2013, it is well known to make even powerful system choke. It has probably the highest graphics requirements of any game available today. Unfortunately, Crytek didn’t include a standardized benchmark with Crysis 3. While the enemies will move about on their own, we will attempt to keep the same testing process for each test.

crysis3-settings

crysis3-settings2

Crysis 3 has a reputation for being highly resource intensive. Most graphics cards will have problems running Crysis 3 at maximum settings, so we settled on 4x MSAA with the graphics quality mostly set to Very High with 16x AF. We disabled v-sync and left the motion blur amount on medium.

crysis3-cpu-utilization

Crysis 3 appeared to run for the most part on just 3 CPU threads and used up about 15-18% of our Intel Core i7-4960X processor with these settings. Notice that the processor speed was at 3.53GHz and we very seldom, if ever, saw the processor go into turbo mode on Crysis 3.

 

crysis3

Benchmark Results: The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked was marginally slower than the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti in Crysis 3 at 1920x1080.

 crysis3-time

Benchmark Results: It is tough to get identical runs in Crysis 3, but you can see that the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and GTX 750 are very similar once again across the board despite the 1GB frame buffer difference.

Far Cry 3

Farcry3 Game Screenshot

Far Cry 3 is an open world first-person shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft for Microsoft Windows, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. It is the sequel to 2008's Far Cry 2. The game was released on December 4th, 2012 for North America. Far Cry 3 is set on a tropical island found somewhere at the intersection of the Indian and Pacific Oceans. After a vacation goes awry, player character Jason Brody has to save his kidnapped friends and escape from the islands and their unhinged inhabitants.

FarCry 3 Quality Settings

FarCry 3 Video Quality

Far Cry 3 uses the Dunia Engine 2 game engine with Havok physics. The graphics are excellent and the game really pushes the limits of what one can expect from mainstream graphics cards. We set game title to 8x MSAA Anti-Aliasing and ultra quality settings.

fc3-cpu-utilization

Far Cry 3 appears to be like most of the other games we are using to test video cards and uses up about 20% of the processor and is running on multiple cores.

 

farcry

Benchmark Results: The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti graphics card was slightly faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card, but when we were gaming we noticed many more stutters or hesitations when gaming on the GeForce GTX 750 1GB.

farcry-time

Benchmark Results: When you look at the FPS over time you can see the GeForce GTX 750 1TB card drop to 6-7 FPS for a split second near the beginning of the benchmark run.  This is because the cards frame buffer is full and that is causing the freezing that you see when gaming. The easy fix for this is to disable 8x MSAA as that will lower the frame buffer requirements, but we like to keep it high to show differences like this. If you are gaming at 1080P there are some instances where 2GB of frame buffer are needed with very high image quality settings enabled.

Metro Last Light

 

MetroLL-SS

Metro: Last Light is a first-person shooter video game developed by Ukrainian studio 4A Games and published by Deep Silver. The game is set in a post-apocalyptic world and features action-oriented gameplay with a combination of survival horror elements. It uses the 4A Game engine and was released in May 2013.

MetroLL-settings

Metro: Last Light was benchmarked with very high image quality settings with the SSAA set to 2x and 4x AF. These settings are tough for entry level discrete graphics cards, but are more than playable on high-end gaming graphics cards. We benchmarked this game title on the Theater level.

metroll-cpu-utilization

We again found around 20% CPU usage on Metro: Last Light.

 

metroBenchmark Results: In Metro: Last Light the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB was slightly faster than the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card at 1920x1080.

metro-time

Benchmark Results: No big performance dips or spikes that are out of the ordinary here!

3DMark 2013

3Dmark Fire Strike Benchmark Results - For high performance gaming PCs

Use Fire Strike to test the performance of dedicated gaming PCs, or use the Fire Strike Extreme preset for high-end systems with multiple GPUs. Fire Strike uses a multi-threaded DirectX 11 engine to test DirectX 11 hardware.

3DMark Fire Strike

 

Fire Strike Benchmark Results:

3dmark

Benchmark Results: The 3DMark Fire Strike benchmark has the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB scoring at 4,029 3DMarks. The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card came in at 3,991 3DMarks!  The performance between the two cards is very small with less than a 40 point difference between two.

Temperature & Noise Testing

Temperatures are important to enthusiasts and gamers, so we took a bit of time and did some temperature testing on the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1TB card.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Reference Card Temps:

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 SC Idle

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 SC Load

 The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB video card has some of the lowest thermal numbers that we have seen!  The energy efficiency with the NVIDIA Maxwell GPU is impressive and the small GPU cooler that EVGA uses was able to keep the card plenty cool. We are talking about 19C and just 42C at load when gaming. GPU-Z didn't show the fan speed increase, but the fan did spin faster at load.

temp-testing

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti and GTX 750 cards have great temperature results, but the AIB cooler plays a major role in just how good it will cool.  You also have to worry about fan noise, so let's take a look at that next.

Sound Testing

We test noise levels with an Extech sound level meter that has ±1.5dB accuracy that meets Type 2 standards. This meter ranges from 35dB to 90dB on the low measurement range, which is perfect for us as our test room usually averages around 36dB. We measure the sound level two inches above the corner of the motherboard with 'A' frequency weighting. The microphone wind cover is used to make sure no wind is blowing across the microphone, which would seriously throw off the data.

 noise-testing

The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB card landed in the middle of the back when it came to noise testing, but the noise level is nothing to be concerned about. We were hitting about 42dB and idle and when gaming. GPU-Z showed the fan speed remaining the same and it looks like there was hardly a difference. We expected no change, but GPU-Z might not fully support all the Maxwell sensors yet as there is no RPM reading yet.

Power Consumption

 

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Video CardFor testing power consumption, we took our test system and plugged it into a Kill-A-Watt power meter. For idle numbers, we allowed the system to idle on the desktop for 15 minutes and took the reading. For load numbers we ran Battlefield 4 at 1920x1080 and recorded the average idle reading and the peak gaming reading on the power meter.

power-consumption

Power Consumption Results: The entire platform with the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB video card installed installed was consuming 105 Watts at idle and hit a maximum of 226 Watts when gaming. These are stellar power consumption numbers and are lower than the AMD Radeon R7 250X video card that we benchmarked that consumes more power and had far lower performance in all of our testing!

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Overclocking

We installed the EVGA Precision X v4.2.1 overclocking utility to see how the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC video card could be overclocked! You can use whatever software utility you like for overclocking, but this is the one we used today.

evga-precisionx 

In case you forgot, the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Superclocked 1GB video card already comes factory overclocked and operated at 1215MHz core (1294MHz Boost) and 1020 MHz base and the memory is clocked at 1253MHz (5012MHz effective). Let's see how much higher we can get a this GM107 Maxwell GPU with 512 CUDA cores!

 evga-precisionx-oc

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 is very similar to the GeForce GTX 750 Ti when it comes to overclocking as both share the same GM107 Maxwell GPU. This means that things are pretty locked down when it comes to overclocking. There is no way to increase the power target beyond 100% and all the cards are currently limited to a +135MHz GPU clock offset. We weren't able to hit the GPU clock offset limit since this card already has a hefty overclock on it, so it really isn't a big deal that NVIDIA locked down the overclocking sliders on this card.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Overclock

We ended up with a GPU clock offset to +85MHz and the mem clock offset to +400MHz before we started to get encounter some stability issues due to the memory clock frequency. This overclock meant that we were running at 1456.7MHz at times thanks to NVIDIA Boost 2.0 on the core. This is pretty impressive and we were able to complete some benchmarks with stability issues with the core clock over 1500MHz. Maxwell is turning out to be a fun GPU to overclock!

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Stock:

GeForce GTX 750 1GB 3DMark

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Overclocked:

GeForce GTX 750 1GB 3DMark Overclocked

By overclocking the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB Superclocked video card we were able to take the score of 3911 and raise it up to 4257. This is a modest 266 point increase in our overall 3DMark score, which represents a performance gain of 6.7 percent. Our 85MHz core clock increase on the 1215MHz core is a 7% increase, so it makes sense that we are seeing a performance boost just shy of that in many of our game titles.

 

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

 

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB SC Bundle

NVIDIA didn't sample too many GeForce GTX 750 video cards when they released the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and it looks like we found out why really quickly.  Companies like EVGA have been able to release overclocked GeForce GTX 750 1GB cards that perform essentially the same as stock GeForce GTX 750 Ti cards and they are doing it at a lower price point! The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti 2GB video card left us with a better overall gaming experience when we really pushed the image quality, but you usually run our of horsepower before frame buffer. For example in Far Cry 3 we were able to get the card to stutter at 8x MSAA, but we wouldn't game there 24/7 as we were averaging below 20 FPS. If you lower down the MSAA or disable it you are quickly over 30FPS and no longer using over 1GB of memory and that means the stuttering is gone. That makes the GeForce GTX 750 Ti 1GB graphics card very interesting as you can play pretty much any game title out there at 1080P as long as you dial in the image quality settings or give the GeForce Experience software a try. It should be noted that EVGA sells 1GB and 2GB versions of the GeForce GTX 750. Doubling up the memory will run you another $10 on the original MSRP.

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Video Card Models:

When it comes to pricing the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB Superclocked card that we looked at today is hands down the best overall value. We wouldn't suggest spending an extra $20 to double up the GDDR5 memory and you are getting a heck of a card for $120.  EVGA also has a game bundle promotion going on right now where you get Painkiller Hell & Damnation, Deadfall Adventures and Rise of the Triad for free. Those aren't huge game titles, but the fact you get any game titles is a nice perk for a $120 video card.  The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB video card is currently $149.99 shipped, so you are getting the same general performance and saving yourself some money if you don't want to push the bleeding edge.

We are still impressed by what NVIDIA has done with the new Maxwell GPU and the EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB Superclocked video card is a card that we feel was done right. We really like the fact that EVGA included a DisplayPort 1.2 connector on the card for G-Sync and the GPU cooler was more than enough to keep this card super cool and pretty damn quiet. We also enjoyed the overclocking headroom that was still left on this card and had a blast getting 1450-1500MHz clock frequencies on the GM107 Maxwell GPU!

LR Editors' Choice

 

Legit Bottom Line: The EVGA GeForce GTX 750 1GB Superclocked card is the card to have if you are looking to spend around $100 to $130 and are planning on gaming at 1080P.