Intel Core i3-7350K Processor Review

Jump To:

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on five different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel X99 and AMD AM3+) in this article, so we’ll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings.

Core i7-7700K Test System Picture

The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.

Intel LGA1151 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Core i7-7700K

Motherboard

Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here

Memory

16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K70 RGB Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Monitor

ASUS VE278Q 27″ Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here

Intel Z97 Platform:

The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings.

Intel Z77 Platform:

The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Intel X99 Platform:

The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings.

AMD AM3+  Platform:

The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Laptops: 

Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms.

Let’s take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Print
Jump To:

  • meh

    Any reason you only compared the chip with i7s? Why not do the same benchmarks with CPUs in a similar price range? (ie i5-6400)

    • Nathan Kirsch

      Because Intel never sent us any Core i5’s for testing, we didn’t buy any and the money isn’t there to go back and buy them.

  • ireadtabloids

    Found another typo. You call the 1080 a 6GB card on page one.
    Just trying to be helpful. No doubt hours alone doing the hard work testing this thing and writing the article is going to lead to a few typos without some help.

  • vrekman64

    (add a zero to “Core i7-770K”, p11, final thoughts etc)

    • Nathan Kirsch

      fixed! TY

      • Coach

        Lack of sleep after CES 2017 coverage. 😉

  • Beardoin

    I’ve a concern with your review regarding the i3 and hypertheading. You have the belief that this is the first in the range to have it, but the i3 has always had this feature and it was and still is the i5 that does not. I had a sandybridge i3 2100 with hypertheading enabled on it.

    • iconoclast421

      That is very odd indeed. Even the very first desktop i3 had hyperthreading. It is sad when the very first sentence has such a glaring error. Fake news?

    • TheAlmightyMatt

      Dumbest thing I’ve read all week. I can’t take this article seriously now. I sincerely hope it gets fixed.

  • pretty sweet, i say, lightly threaded, should mean something, ” to me ” it means one thread, internet, second thread, my data base for financials, that is all i need, and what i am going to use, with the small form factor, easy on budget power supply, and taking advantage of the z270 platform, thanks legit, enjoyed your review. , i test my load now on task manager, and look at how my cores are handling data, and still programs are not very good at this thready thing. 🙂 cheers.

    • i have made my second read of this article, ” enjoyed much ” my take away is, the die, is half of the full die, the lowest cost 2 core, at 51 watts, looks to be the real champ, for price / performance, tossing in the other platforms helps, a keeper performance test ” imo ” i am going to build and use two of these processors 7300 for a sff case, with the m2 stick, and change out all my stuff, good bye x58, hello mini 7700 . good article, shows the power of 2 cores,