AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Overclocked Benchmark Results At 4.1GHz

Jump To:

Our CPU Test Systems

Before we look at the numbers, let’s take a brief look at the test system that was used. All testing was done on a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 64-bit and benchmarks were completed on the desktop with no other software programs running. We tested on five different desktop platforms (Intel Z77, Intel Z97, Intel Z270, Intel X99, AMD A4 and AMD AM3+) in this article, so we’ll just quickly touch on each as all shared common parts (CPU Cooler, Video Card, SSD, Power Supply) and only differed in the board, processor, memory kit and memory timings.

AMD Ryzen Test System

The AMD AM4 platform that we used to test the Ryzen 5/7 series processors was running the MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium Motherboard with UEFI 1.50 that came out on 4/19/2017. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 2933MHz with 14-14-14 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply and a Corsair Force MP500 480GB PCIe SSD. A Corsair Hydro Series H110 water cooler for this review.

Core i7-7700K Test System Picture

The Intel Z270 platform that we used to test the Intel 1151 processors was running the Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 5 with UEFI F5e that came out on 12/28/2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings as we wanted to test with one of the most popular clock frequencies sold today. We used an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition video card with GeForce 376.33 WHQL drivers for all of the systems. We also used the Corsair AX860i digital power supply, Corsair Hydro Series H105 water cooler and Crucial MX300 1050GB SSDs on all of the desktop systems.

Intel LGA1151 Test Platform

Component

Brand/Model

Live Pricing

Processor

Intel Core i7-7700K

Motherboard

Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 Click Here

Memory

16GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 Click Here

Video Card

GeForce GTX 1080 FE Click Here

Hard Drive

Crucial MX300 1050GB Click Here

Cooling

Corsair H105 Click Here

Keyboard

Corsair K70 RGB Click Here

Mouse

Corsair M65 Pro Click Here

Power Supply

Corsair AX860i Click Here

Monitor

ASUS VE278Q 27″ Click Here

Operating System

Windows 10 64-Bit Click Here

Intel Z97 Platform:

The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1150 processors was running the ASUS Z97-A motherboard with BIOS 2801 that came out on 11/15/2015. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 11-11-11-28 1T memory timings.

Intel Z77 Platform:

The Intel Z97 platform that we used to test the Intel 1155 processors was running the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (rev 1.0) motherboard with BIOS F16h that came out on 07/11/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2133 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Intel X99 Platform:

The Intel X99 platform we picked to use for the LGA2011-v3 processors was the ASUS X99-E-10G WS board with BIOS 0403 and that is the initial release UEFI as no newer version has come out since the introduction of that board in 2016. The Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 dual channel memory kit was manually set to 3000MHz with 15-15-15-36 1T memory timings.

AMD AM3+  Platform:

The AMD AM3+ platform that we used to test the AM3+ processors featured the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer  motherboard with BIOS 1.60 that came out on 01/14/2016. The Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 memory kit was set to 10-11-10-28 1T memory timings.

Laptops: 

Just for fun we also included Dell XPS 13 9350 and Dell Dell XPS 13 9360 laptop results! These are retail Dell laptops with clean installs of Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update 1607 build 14393.10 installed for comparison to the desktop platforms.

Let’s take a look at overclocking and move onto the benchmarks!

Print
Jump To:
  • Reylegh

    Did you reach 4.1GHz on 1.38V? How…
    I have to set it at 1.395 to hold 4.05GHz
    And even at 1.4125 I was not able to hold 4.1GHz…it crashed after 2-3 second from when I started the stress test…and that not due to temperature (71 degree when the system crashed).

    • Nathan Kirsch

      Every processor is slightly different when it comes to overclocking as are the actual voltages on each particular model board!

      • Reylegh

        But does this mean I need to add more voltage to try 4.1, or that my CPU can’t do 4.1 at all?

  • christopher evensen

    Yikes. So as a pure gamer, am I reading this correctly that my 6 year old 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz beats this chip? I’ve been wanting to go back to AMD but this just doesn’t so it for me.

    • Cody T

      Yes. If you were running on a non-k like I was, however, it’d be a monumental boost. Maybe this bit is placebo but it feels like everything is running so much smoother after switching as well. 3200MHz ram is pretty good too, and for me the upgrade ‘included’ usb 3.0.

      6700k would be a better aim as a current-gen gamer looking to upgrade again in a couple years (if even then in all fairness). I’m investing in 6-core because from the looks of sales more games are going to support it at least after two years, possibly/probably before. Stock air will have you at pretty much the same frequency you’re at now, but compare the two performance-wise. Ultimately though if it ain’t breaking, don’t fix it.

  • Lubuis L

    Hey this is my local Microcenter too! I go there a lot. This is my favorite store and the people are really nice there. Good review also

  • Harshal

    :-/ I’ve a ryzen 1600x today I tried out Asus ai suit 3 and that shit
    Oc my cpu to 4.1ghz with 1.545 voltage :v it was rediculous
    Had to remove CMOS to normalize it

    • Buddydudeguy

      pro tip: software overclocking is not the correct way to do it. Big surprise it uses way to much Vcore. NOT.

      • Harshal

        Yeah learned that

      • Harshal

        Yep , figured that out

  • ronch

    It’s great to see Thief in the game benchmarks as I’m a huge Thief series fan and I’m actually playing Thief 4 these days on my FX-8350, which runs it well enough, BTW. I see that the 7700K still soundly beats the Ryzen chips, and given how I don’t expect them to optimize Thief for Ryzen anymore makes me want to consider Intel if I’m buying for gaming because it’s not like I really run those apps used in benchmarks that show Ryzen 5 really killing Intel. Then again the 1600X still soundly beats the FX also so I guess it’s still a viable choice. I hope Zen 2.0 really improves Ryzen’s gaming numbers even on games that don’t get Ryzen-specific optimizations, like Thief.

    One thing missing here is the Core i5 7600K. Isn’t that the main competitor of the 1600X? Shouldn’t it be included?

  • JTR

    I hope you guys do realize there is a 20c offset on ryzen X series processors. Take 20c off your temperatures and you’ll see it never got close to 80c. Sad to see articles misleading people even after AMD announced the offset was for the xfr boost on the x series cpu’s to keep them running with a more aggressive fan profile to stay nice and cool.

  • Daniel

    Am I missing something? Only average FPS on game benchmarks? If you want to be a “Legit” review site you need 1% and .1% lows as average does not come close to telling the whole story. And Thief, a game from 2014?

    • renegadepestisrac

      Thief is a nice cpu bencher.
      Its even better with mantle.

      • AotS is a better cpu bencher with more modern api and coding practices.

        • JTR

          AotS is broken on ryzen cpus, they can barely match intel quadcores in that game. The games developers already came out and said they are working to fix the issues it has with ryzen.

  • Jason Kane

    Well I sure as hell wouldn’t buy a Ryzen if your heavily into emulation.

    That Dolphin benchmark result sucks..big time.

    Ryzen’s inability to overclock to Intel levels really does hurt it, even at stock speeds, the 7700K is nearly TWICE as fast as a Ryzen 1700 when it comes to Dolphin!

    • Nathan Kirsch

      Thanks for the feedback and glad including that benchmark in our CPU reviews has been beneficial!

      • Coach

        Yeah, I’d buy a Ryzen or Kaby-Lake cpu so I could emulate old Nintendo games…

    • Ken Hodson

      Deceivingly you cherry pick your numbers. It is obvious from the graph that Dolphin has no advantage with a CPU with over 4 cores. Maybe even 2? The other factor is that because Intel has a obvious per/core advantage in this benchmark it does not mean that “emulation” is no good on Ryzen. That is a nice fan-boi brush stroke your trying to paint there. Dolphin runs very well on CPU’s far less then Ryzen. And if you want us to believe you “emulation” comment you will need to back that up with something.

      • Mike Lukic

        Hey, I was going to say same thing, Dolphin runs great even on my FX 6350 @4.8 GHz. and is known for lousy single core performance.